We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids!”

Hong Kong Science Museum
Ranked #44 of 811 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Science Museum offers more than 500 exhibits, most of which are interactive to encourage exploration. With all the hands-on and engaging activities, it's the perfect way to spend an rainy day with the kids.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hong Kong's Science Museum, while maybe not the greatest science museum I have seen, is an excellent place to take your kids, especially on those rainy days when you have to get out of the house and want to avoid HK's shopping malls! Lots of interactive exhibits, and the temporary exhibits are usually quite good (most recent one, on Julius Caesar and Roman technology was especially good. Teaches them basic facts about electricity, nature, sound and light, the environment, etc. Only downside is that because of overuse, at times a number of the exhibits will be out of commission. Avoid on holiday afternoons, its a mob scene (like most places in HK...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    251
    117
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

When you come to Hong Kong, you have children, Science Museum is the best place for you to come and visit. There have so many games and fun things to try for children. The energy machine is very interesting. Everyone stop and watch it every time. Inside you can take pictures to and it is not too expensive to visit. I think you can stay here 2-4 hours to have best time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HK_Traveller_for_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ok, so this isn't the best science museum in the world, but it's perfect for our daughter. It has a little bit of everything and has, obviously, been recently renovated. It's a great place to spend an afternoon with kids and I would highly recommend it. One thing, though, is that there is no cafeteria or restaurant making it really hard to stay all day with little kids.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taitailife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for the family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A great, interactive museum for kids of all ages. The only thing lacking is a cafeteria. (There are drink vending machines once you exit, but you need to get a bracelet to re-enter). I would suggest eating before you come, or bringing snacks and eating them in the "snack" area by the vending machines if the kids are hungry.
Will keep you entertained for hours, and the kids won't want to leave!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovemotherearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
310 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“If I was 8 years old this place would get "5" stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the place to take your kids in Hong Kong....fantastic museum for kids (5-11 years old); however, I am visiting alone without kids. Since it appears to have been planned for an 8 year old, I did not enjoy it as much as someone with children would have enjoyed it. They have a mirror maze and dozens of exhibits that are child friendly and interactive. A kid can spend a whole day here....easily.

When I visited, there was an exhibit on Julius Ceasar...good exhibit. Also, the gift shop is very good.

Pricing: bought the one-week museum pass (30 HKD) for all of the local museums...very cheap ($4 USD)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bbb57aolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Science Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing