We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not-to-be-missed experience for your young einstein-wannabes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Kong Science Museum

Hong Kong Science Museum
Ranked #43 of 808 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Science Museum offers more than 500 exhibits, most of which are interactive to encourage exploration. With all the hands-on and engaging activities, it's the perfect way to spend an rainy day with the kids.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not-to-be-missed experience for your young einstein-wannabes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

if you're in hong kong on a wednesday, do include this in your itinerary because entrance is free for that day. we were with our only kid when we visited the museum and our family immensely enjoyed the exhibits and the numerous hands-on activities. it was a really fun and instructive experience. my two-cents: if you're planning on a museum-themed trip on a wednesday, just visit this science museum and the nearby museum of history. you can spend the whole day on these museums alone. stay away from the art and space museums by the harbour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Montes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    243
    114
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Children would enjoy it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Basic science knowledge presented to children in interactive formats. Children would be entertained by the many games and novelties. The only oddity was the sexually transmitted diseases questionnaire booth.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshleyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For Kids / Young at Heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I had so much fun at the Science Museum. There's a variety of different activities (from brain teasers to a Hall of Mirrors). Free admission on Wednesday, and right across from the Museum of History, which is also worth a visit (and it is also free on Wednesday).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cicy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Science Museum in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I really enjoyed going to the science museum during my trip to HK. The museum has a ton of interesting exhibits spread over several levels. Everything is extremely well designed and the maintenance staff ensures all the exhbits are in immaculate condition (going so far as to advice you the frequency with which the displays are cleaned). Despite big crowds (we went on a free day), the staff ensures that people behave in an orderly fashion. The audio-tour is definitely worthwhile for a small investment (I believe it was ~ 6 USD) as it greatly enhances the experience by providing great detail about each exhibit. Highly recommended experience if you are in HK.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PunyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hong Kong science musuem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A must to include in your itinerary if you have some kids. My 6 year old son loved every moment of the exhibits. It is hands on and educational. Even good for adults too. Came on wednesday to enjoy the free admission. Worth while. A short walk from either Hung Hom or east TST MTR station.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kmforshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Science Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing