We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hong Kong Museum of History
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hong Kong
from $33.20
More Info
from $135.80
More Info
from $143.07
More Info
from $52.51
More Info
Reviews (3,447)
Filter reviews
2,564 results
Traveler rating
1,697
762
88
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,697
762
88
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opium wars japanese occupation prehistoric times on wednesdays folk culture million years modern times permanent exhibition special exhibit free admission natural environment life size rainy day audio guide few hours couple of hours worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,564 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Good exhibitions covering prehistoric all the way to reunification. Spacious with descriptions in Chinese and English. Recommended.

Thank alexE9287LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

This museum is worth a visit. If you are really interested in history, the visit will take you at least half a day. Two floors cover everything from millions of years ago when the area of today's Hong Kong was created by nature till the hand-over of the British colony to China. Just go and explore.

Thank 935vladimirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Truely authentic and a feast for the eyes. Try not to get lost finding your own way there!. Restaurant not great.

Thank howlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Love this place. even though little has changed since we last visited 18 months ago. We still spent a couple of hours wandering though the exhibits looking and learning

1  Thank Matt_W_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I learnt a lot about the history of HK and would certainly recommend a visit to anyone curious as to the broad history of HK. The area is steeped in so much interesting history.

Thank bugsyt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Free. Worthwhile for a somewhat superficial look at HK history from prehistory to handback to China (but not since). Very good on the lifestyles of traditional peoples and colonial eras - completely silent about anything since handback to China. Don’t expect the regime to allow talk about democracy movements or exploitation of people like Filipina maids which goes on unchecked. Nothing controversial, but impressively mounted.

Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The museum was exceptionally well laid out and traced the history of Hong Kong from the formation of the earth to the handover to China. Slightly biased against the British, but some of it was justified. I certainly got a nice overview of HK history and learned a lot I never knew.

Thank Dream59685518201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

we squeezed in a trip to the HK Museum of History on our last day in HK and we were glad that we did. although it is located in Tsim Sha Tsui East, it is still quite a walk from any of the metro stations in TST. we took a taxi there after visiting the wholesale fruit market and the taxi driver asked why we are going there. we told him that we are interested in the history of HK and from his reaction, we guessed that he never went.
the museum is located next to the HK Science Museum and you can visit both places in the same day. we expected to spend only an hour there but ended up spending more than 3 hours since there are exhibits on 3 floors and all of them are interesting. there is no entrance fee but expect many children on school trips. we were lucky and only encountered 2 groups on a Wednesday around noon time.
there are well-maintained exhibits and small theaters that showed history, lives of HK people, Japanese occupation stories and many reproductions of historical places such as banks, shops, etc. there is a two-story main hall showing Cheung Chau annual celebration activities, Cantonese opera and lion dance. exhibits' descriptions are in both Chinese and English.
rather than taking an AC break or being out of the rain as an excuse to see this place, this is one museum that we recommend exploring. the detour and time is a most welcomed break from eating and shopping in HK. additionally, we learned many interesting things of old HK.
travel pointer--if Star Ferry is the destination before or after the museum visit, you can take bus 5 or 5A to and from Star Ferry and save a bit of walking.

Thank mabel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A really good Museum, well worth a visit. Takes one through the various stages of Hong Kong's history. Both educational and very interesting.

Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great place to visit, needs some time and energy but well worth a visit. Did it on our last day and needed more time. Lots of history

Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews