We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a nice escape from the city!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shek O

Shek O
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.58*
and up
The Dragon's Back Hiking Tour
Ranked #74 of 808 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
273 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Just a nice escape from the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's not like european beaches, but you can rent a deck chair and umbrella - and a barbeque! I love Ben's Back Beach Bar (if you can find it!) The Black Sheep and just wandering around getting lost in a sleepy place. Nightmare on public hols trying to get taxis though!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HongKongCallisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    102
    15
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Green side of Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you are sick of all the high rise, bad air and need some fresh air and blue sky. You must check out Shek O. One of the oldest fish villages in hong kong. You can get local seafood lunch or dinning there. There is a nice beach, people particse dragon boat on the weekend. YOu can also do hiking there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hyattdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
316 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had a chance ot head up to Shek O with a friend of mine who lives in HK. I had been to Stanley and Repulse Bay a number of times but never Shek O. It was an unbelievable transormation from the hustle and bustle of HK. Beach towns don'e seem to change much they just speak different langauges. Shek O was largely locals with the standard mix of Expat's that you'll find in exclusive spots. Some of the homes were simply stunning to look at. A great place for a late lunch and coffee or an early coctail and a walk along the beach. Don't forget to head south and take a walk to the point where the southern tip of HK island ends.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grantman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beach surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

On a day off during a business trip a homgkong based coworker invited me here. Had no idea that such a cool beach was so easily accessable from the city. The water temperature was perfect. Comfortable chairs and umbrella's for rent, shower and toilets, and a float to swim to. Drinks i bought from a family living asidethe beach area, a funny experience as i practically walked into their kitchen looking for beers. Keep in mind that ot many taxis come here after 17/18 hrs i was told.. Leave on time. Or get stuck on beautiful little beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MIRJAMSAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in hk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Amazing scenary, great beach! Its a great place to spend some family time. Parking may be a problem on weekends.

While there you can also visit Big Wave Bay and Stanley which has many bars and options for meals.

Helpful?
Thank roangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shek O also viewed

 

Been to Shek O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing