We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a oasis so peaceful”
Review of Hong Kong Park

Hong Kong Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Hong Kong
Ranked #17 of 828 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a oasis so peaceful”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It was amazing how peaceful it was considering the hustle and bustle and skyscrapers around it. Well worth a visit !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,367
    998
    182
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnside, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of Kowloon”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

With a range of garden settings, this is a great park to recover from the shops nearby. The aviary is impressive, although always sad to see caged birds, while the Chinese Garden had an abundance of tortoises in the lakes! Tai Chi is very popular throughout the park.. As a bird watcher, I was glad to have my binoculars, seeing many birds wild, including the resident goshawk.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDMLMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice, tree shaded walks and a small zoo & botanical collection”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The best thing about this attraction is it's free.

You can duck in here after a visit to the Peak, or gawking at Central's famous buildings (Bank of China & HSBC). There are many benches to rest, and they've got a modest aviary, primate, reptile and plant collection. There's only one refreshment stand however, and it's nestled someways into the park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurikabe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A welcome break from the noise of the city”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

When I visited, Flagstaff House was closed and as a result I could not see the Museum of Teaware but this was not a great problem as I wandered through the park enjoying the break from the city noise. Indeed it reminded me of Central Park in New York in this respect.

I had not researched this previously in great detail but my eyes lit up when I found the Edward Youde Aviary which was completed in 1992 and named after the Governor from 1982-86. This is a walk through aviary with shallow pools and waterfalls. It is not small comprising 3000 square metres and 30 metres high containing about 600 birds. The birds have become so accustomed to humans that it is possible to get quite close to them.

As always in Hong Kong, the park is immaculately maintained.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank binonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An oasis amid the skyscrapers”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely park, very clean and well maintained. The open aviary and the tea museum are must see. And the artificial lakes are a surprise with the live terrapins, yes they are alive, look long enough and they will move on the rocks. Look hard enough and they are swimming all around, best nature park I've been too, definitely recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 150BarbaraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Park also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing