We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay waiting for flight”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shamrock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shamrock Hotel
Ranked #92 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One night stay waiting for flight”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed for 1 night waiting for my flight out the next evening. Rooms are small but adequate for this purpose. They do charge for the internet cable in the room although they have free wifi in their fairly small lobby. The AC works well in the room and the shower had been redone. Breakfast was good for the small dining area and had plenty of selection. Pricing is cheap for the area but still more than many travelers want to pay. There were many Chinese staying in the hotel when I was there visiting. In all this is a serviceable stopping point for transferring in and out of Hong Kong but I wouldn't want to base my operations here for a lengthy stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    315
    101
    18
    9
See reviews for
211
151
54
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Shamrock is in a great location on Nathan Rd and is great value for money. This was a return visit to the Shamrock and we were not disappointed. Travelling as a family with 2 children we booked a double double room which was great space for us (Hong Kong rooms are traditionally on the small size). Our room had a sittlng area with TV and desk area too. The bathroom was a great size and had a bath which was an added bonus. We received a complimentary food basket on arrival along with tea/coffee etc. The staff on reception are most helpful and eager to assist. The ordered a taxi for our return to the airport which arrived right on time. Buffet breakfast was included in our room rate for 3 people with the 4th person receiving a $20 discount voucher for each day. Western and Chinese foods available with a chef available to cook eggs just how you like.. The breakfast staff were most kind and helpful.

The Jordan subway is just outside the door and will have you racing either down to TST or out to the airport in a blink. There is a supermarket nearby just on Nathan Rd (downstairs near the bakery) and many restaurants just off Nathan road which provide great food options. The temple street markets are located very close with the ladies markets just a station away or a quick 15 minute walk away. For those with a need, there is free WIFI in the lobby. We were able to keep our room until 6pm for half the night rate which worked out perfect timing for our departure to the airport. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bossladymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is wondeful but the rooms are very small. The hotel does not have a gym or a swimming pool and the breakfast is also not great. It is located right next to the metro station so you can go anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yash_Agarwal188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davao city philippines
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is way back an old hotel for hongkong travellers but a friend of ours recommended this so we booked our stay for 3 nights. Fortunately and unexpectedly, our room was upgraded from standard to superior room with no additional charges. Obviously, no standard room available coz we were booked ahead thru agoda agency. Lucky for us! Very lucky for us coz we had a cozy spacy room. The location of the hotel was great and accessible to all walks of life. We were dropped by the airport bus just in front of our hotel. Mtr station is very near the hotel. Definitely, i will be back to this hotel if ever we will plan for another trip to hk.

JMSJ1019
Davao City, Philippines

Room Tip: Google map this hotel and you can see the actual location of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Location is the only plus factor of this hotel. Although I can say the lobby staff are professional & helpful, I can't say the same for the breakfast crew. They won't even agree to have our set meal eggs changed from scrambled to sunny side! And even an additional refill of coffee is denied! The room is super tiny and the twin single beds are half the size of other hotels' single beds. And although the toiletries are sufficient & towels are of good quality, the bathroom is really tiny, you can hardly move!
As for wifi, since I have been forewarned that this hotel have wifi only at the lobby, I have nothing to complain.
As for transportation accessibility, it is very convenient as Jordan station is right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Conveniently located at the exit C1 of Jordan station along Nathan Road. There's a 7/11 nearby and most of HK's shopping malls are just a walking distance away. Temple street market is about a block away and Victoria Harbor about a couple of blocks away as well at the opposite direction. The reviews at booking.com never disappointed me. I'll be glad to stay at this hotel again should I get an opportunity to travel back to Hong Kong! I highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarySalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Situated just beside the Jordan MTR station exit along Nathan Road. Public bus stops outside the hotel and taxi stand to the left. Very convenient!

However as hotel is along the busy Nathan Road and there are public bus stops outside the hotel, airport transfer buses and taxis have to stop at the side roads beside and behind the hotel.

Service is average and rooms are small. Bathrooms have been renovated and rooms are clean.

Overall, a very good location for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahber79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Prudential Hotel
Prudential Hotel
#130 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,047 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,091 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#100 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#27 of 716 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#121 of 716 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Hotel

Property: Shamrock Hotel
Address: 223 Nathan Road, Kowloon | Exit C1, Jordan Mtr Station, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Kowloon on Nathan Road, which consider as the backbone of Hong Kong that is always brimming over with the glamour of urban life and fabulous shopping selections, just a step away from the Jordan Station (Mass Transit Railway),giving easy access to most parts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hong Kong
Shamrock Hotel Hongkong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing