We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge
Ranked #4 of 247 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Staff is friendly and helpful and room is simple but large, clean, and comfortable. Relatively (this is Hong Kong!) inxpensive. Conviently, Booth Lodge is very close to a skytrain station and within walking distance to Temple St market and Kowloon Park. If your OK to walk 20-30 min you can get to the Cultural Centre, Star Ferry terminus, and East Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade (recommended site to see the evening light show).
Recommended as a budget concious, comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: We were in 411; super quiet because it is at the end of the hall and the only room on teh far side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
20
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Accommodation in Hong Kong can get pretty expensive. Hostels also charge quite a bit and so ... taking int account all of that I think This Hotel is just perfect. Decent sized rooms and bathrooms as well. The Staff is polite and helpful. Location is Yau ma Tei ... walking distance to all the key markets in HKG and just 1 stop by the MTR to the TST. The MTR is just 5 minutes by walk so all in all I'd recommend this place to people especially if you wish to conserve on your budget and yet not stay at a hostel

Room Tip: Hostels and Hotels in HKG are to be booked well in advance... It will otherwise be very expensive if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivekeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Aug 1991, my pregnant wife and I stayed at Boothe Lodge for a 5 days to a week on our way to study Chinese in Taiwan. Where we still are. (Nov 2012). In Feb 2012, went back there with my now 20 year old daughter. The place has been kept in really good nic. The staff are very helpful. The breakfast rather rudimentary, but sufficient. They gave a discount on the price quoted on the website. The situation of the Lodge is a big plus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank need2divetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Checking was swift and friendly. We arrived at 10am expecting to just store our bags but the very helpful reception staff gave us a room straight away. The room was a good size with two double beds, aircon, plenty of storage space. Rooms are tired but clean and everything you need is provided- from complimentary toothbrushes to a jug of boiled water brought to your room.
Couldn't fault the staff- the next day we were heading to Macau overnight and only wanted to take a small bag with us, so the Lodge let us store our bags for two days for only $10 HK (£1)

This is a great budget option hostel/hotel in a good position for all the attractions in Kowloon. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czechmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I gave the kind female receptionist chocolates for giving me the room I liked 4 years running. It's now rather run down and unkept. It's noisy as hell during any Chinese holiday. What's the point in tongs beside the breakfast bread if a staff member takes the bread out of the packet by hand? One of the employees borrowed a relatives taxi and took me to the airport for half price. Newish supermarket 70 meters away with everything. Laundry across the road. Good cheap eats nearby in Nathan Road. I think Hong Kong is soon to introduce the mandatory food outlets with grades as per Singapore. I'll be in HKG in September 2012 but I'll try somewhere else. Pity. Nice staff though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8002reverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Was spending $200Can. Cut that in half plus added free wifi and breakfast. Great for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

After wasting half a day trudging around Kowloon looking at various disreputable dives and becoming discouraged at lodging costs and poor values, I visited Booth and signed up for a one week stay at a slightly reduced rate compared to a shorter stay. This is the sort of place I usually frequent....a rather simple, clean guest house atmosphere with a very pleasant dining room, friendly staff, and a good breakfast (included). The only disappointment was the price, which exceeded my previous all-time record (Singapore January 2011) by a factor of two. However, this isn't Singapore or Bombay, which renders the comparison irrelevant. Rooms are on the upper floors (7-9). Near MTR Yau Ma Tei station. Plenty of buses to Star Ferry at Nathan Road. Very close to Temple Street night market. For HKG Booth is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadOrderBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#195 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#122 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge

Property: The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge
Address: No.11 Wing Sing Lane, Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Booth Hotel Hong Kong
The Salvation Army - Booth Lodge Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing