We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't like it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The South China Hotel
Ranked #201 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My room was small and smelt of stale smoke (yuk), and did have a view of the harbour but the window was so filthy that it was hard to see out of. And for some reason there was only free wifi in the lobby. The good points: The bed was comfy and the location is handy for the MTR and the old trams. I was quite glad to only be staying for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for The South China Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

what can i say about this place... Location wise its a few steps to mrt, airport bus A11, North Point Tram station, Ferry to Kowloon from North Point Harbour, virtually you get all form of transportation at your door step, trust me with me and wife plus two under 5 years old it is really a convenient place to be. Surrounding wise, as it is more to a neighbourhood feel, things are very much cheaper from dining to shopping and of course the morning market is just across one street fronting the hotel. I was surprise to be able to buy a few pieces of local buns for just HKD13. (5 pieces) Than there is this wonderful 'tai pai tong' on the 1st floor of the market on the left side of the hotel (take the elevator). It consist of more than 10 proprietors, so go in and walk around and get to the one with plenty of people waiting for their table.

Room wise, just sufficient for two person and as we got two kids with us, its a bit cramp but yet manageable... unlike those hotel in tst or mongkok which is just a bed and a tv. Toilet is well kept and i did my bath on the tub for two nights early winter. Breakfast, wow.... thou we miss the 1st breakfast as we arrive 9.45am which is closing time for breakfast but were very amazed when we went there on the 2nd day. A spread of noodles, baked beans, scramble egg, ham, fat sausages, wide type of breads, instant noodles, two type of juices, coffee and tea and some fruits as well.

Overall, very happy with our stay and the only back side is the huge number of chinese tourist in this hotel but yet again if you know the right time to avoid them...you'll have a great time here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Take the bus from airport, will drop you directly at hotel doorstep (second last stop). The room is small, well compared to other HK hotel for this price is okay. There are 5 of us in this trip so is rather waste to rent another room all by myself, we added a bed which cost 200 per night but when the time we check out (3 day later) it only charge me for one night....haha

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geekonweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: オーシャンビューの方がよいかも。
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 月見の銀二
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank Y7177JImarkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
Thank 杜* E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 6 Stub App Smartphone
1  Thank wmikami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
North Point
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
#408 of 721 in Hong Kong
129 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#104 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,407 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#116 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#109 of 721 in Hong Kong
647 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#454 of 721 in Hong Kong
127 reviews
iclub Ma Tau Wai Hotel
#180 of 721 in Hong Kong
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The South China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The South China Hotel

Address: No.67-75 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $54 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The South China Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The South China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The South China Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing