We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy American guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden View Hong Kong
Ranked #167 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Nice room overlooking the gardens, well appointed for two. The bed was comfortable with two mattresses one softer than the other so you could have hard or softer. Very helpful room staff. Good position and easy taxi availability. Great pity about the other guests on floor 9. If staying for a short time then a superior room will be ok as all the rooms are the same only the de luxe has a view of the gardens.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bradSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 679 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Loved the big window in our room, overlooking the botanical gardens. The hotel is in a great location and we were very comfortable here for 4 nights. Only complaint is that WiFi is not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desconocido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have stayed few times in their Deluxe room. And found the price value rather good. I have paid way below 1000 HKD per night, around 700-800 including taxes. Not bad for HK.

The pros
-Rooms I have stayed have had simple and working layout
-Rooms are in good condition (Deluxe rooms I have stayed)
-Hotel is quiet
-Location is ok in Mid Levels (living area), and it is not too long walk to Central / Admiralty MTR.

The cons
-This is no frills hotel, so do not expect superb service or big restaurant selection
-Attitude at front desk is not really helpful
-At check-out it took longer than normal for them to check, if I had consumed anything out of mini bar

Under hotel there is a good supermarket (Fusion by Parkn Shop). Whatever you need, you will find over there. I think this is very decent 2 star, almost 3 star kind of hotel. Excellent choice for budget traveler or business traveler who is looking for good price value. Select Deluxe room.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

An excellent hotel in an ecen better location.
The Garden View is only a short walk from the Hong Kong Gardens where you can see a host of birdlife in the Botanical gardens.
The hotel it's self is very comfortable, the rooms are spacious enough for 2 people & the bathroom facilities where excellent.
You have a slight view of the Peak from your room through myriad of high rises that surround this hotel.
The Garden View has a bar & resturant both of which where good.
The hotel is also only a 5 minute walk to the Peak Tramway stop on Kennedy road

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TampaBayTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Had an opportunity to stay here for one night and it was a great location and good rate. Coming into the airport and taking the train to central Hong Kong and a brief taxi ride gets you there. Can walk across the over the street walkway to the botanical gardens and a short walk to go to the Peak. Good accommodations, decent pricing and pleasant stay. Only negative was no free wi-fi in the room. Available for a fee but it was available in the restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hobbymandoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Hotel is well located, cheap Taxi from Airport express station and most major sights.

The rooms were quite good, great shower and well priced.

Of the 5 Hotels we stayed at during our China-Hong Kong trip the staff here were the least helpful for finding things like food and local tips. They were able to point in the right direction but never gave any specific recommendations.

Lastly, Wifi.... I can understand not offering it free in rooms, but not even having it available in the lobby? They charge 100HKD for 24 hours access. At this point, not offering free Wifi is inexcusable, especially for international travelers who rely on the web to plan their event and set up their days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in September 2011. The staff were friendly enough but didnt give much advice on getting around. held our bags in secure spot behind reception after check out so we could come and collect them later in the day before our evening flight. Is on a very steep hill but the taxis are so incredibly cheap that we just took taxi's everywhere. The rooms were immaculately clean, and had all that we required, modern decor, nothing to complain about includes safe and tv. Great shower with big shower head and clean bathroom, cleaners did a great job. Got a view over the park as requested which was nice. Good hotel, nothing really to complain about. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bardrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Two MacDonnell Road
#136 of 730 in Hong Kong
192 reviews
Sheung Wan
Travelodge Central Hollywood Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#59 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,262 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,829 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#106 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hong Kong

Address: No.1 MacDonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#124 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $87 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden View Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View Hong Kong has 141 spacious hotel rooms and suites overlooking the city with panoramic garden view, offering optimal comfort with full service yet reasonably priced accommodation ideally for business or leisure visits and extended stays.Hotel is in walking distance to Hong Kong business, financial center and shopping malls. Peak Tram Station and the trendy nightspot "Lan Kwai Fong" are all at your doorstep. It is easily access to all public transportations and nearby MTR Central subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View International House Hotel Hong Kong
Garden View International Hotel
Garden View International Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing