We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was really pleased with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden View Hong Kong
Ranked #161 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Situated on Hong Kong island, this is a well placed hotel for seeing the city. Very close to the peak tram terminus although it is an uphill walk on the way back. My room had views overlooking central and the botanical gardens. The room was spacious, very clean, quiet and had everything I needed. The staff were very helpful and pleasant whenever I came in. The pool was closed for renovation but this was clearly stated on the website. I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizhambling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 676 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

NB! Also known as YWCA Garden View - Do Not get put off by the 'YWCA' reference, it is a proper hotel!!
Put the stay into context - two guys in twin room for HK 7's.
Good points:
- It is on mid levels, so a fairly easy (15/20 mins) walk to clubs, Centre etc
- rooms were clean and tidy. Fresh towels.
- aircon worked (sounds basic, but you miss it when it doesn't or is noisy)
- great value for money - we only needed somewhere to kip for 4 hours a nights, and this fitted the bill
- staff are really friendly and helpful (apart from the manager who came to reset the safe when it failed - he really was a miserable so-and-so)
- Taxi from International Station is only a couple of quid, and only £5-£6 to get to Stadium
- Only internet cable in room (no good for the iPad) but Wifi in restaurant if you spend some dosh on food.
- Beds are comfy - quite hard, which suited me
- Nice little supermarket (really hidden away) 2 mins walk round the corner
- By Hong Kong standards it is a good size room (NB! By HK standards - it is still 'cosy')

Bad bits:
- the pool was out of service, only fancied a swim once - so never mind

Would I book it again - absolutely.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dave-Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Several of us stayed in twin share standard rooms during mid March. Check in was made pretty straight forward with friendly polite staff. Most of our rooms were on the same floor however a couple of rooms were on other floors but this wasn't really an issue. Rooms were clean but as with many hotels of a similar calibre in HK expect only what space is required. Water pressure for shower good. Did not get room service or eat at the restaurant or any other facilities so cannot comment. Restaurant has free WiFi, rooms have WiFi for purchase every 24 hours forgot the price though.

Location was decent for our own activities.

Overall was satisfied you get what you pay for and it was a pleasant stay. If I was on the same budget I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms are clean, quiet and an ok size. The bathroom was good. I didn't use the gym or pool so can't comment. Location is good (although be prepared for the hill walk) and the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finnishbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed here last year with a friend for 5 nights. The location was great if you're planning on going out at night: 15/20 min walk from Soho and all the bars! :)
Swimming pool was ok, but not deep enough if you ask me (only up to my chest). Haven't tried the gym, but passed it and it looked ok.
We had a room with view on the Hong Kong botanical garden across the road, which was nice.
Breakfast was a bit pricy for the quality, but ok.
Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I wasn't expecting such a large room and great facilities (internet in room, wifi in lobby, swimming pool and gym) for the price I paid. Service was excellent. We did not try the breakfast so can't comment on that. There is a small supermarket around the corner (5 min walk) and a 10 min walk brings you to Central area. Convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NTan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is alright for a three star place. The rooms are large enough for a city hotel and the bathroom is clean. Be warned; the hotel is on mid-level Hong Kong and that means a lot of steep climbing from the center of the town. But taxi's are cheap and bus 12A from Hong Kong Central stops in front of the hotel. I would have rated this hotel higher, if the staff had any knowledge of what they are doing. Upon arrival I tried to check in into my prepaid room. They asked for my American Express Card with witch I had booked the hotel. Then they told me there was a problem because the credit card number didn't correspond with the number in their administration. I told them that credit card customers regularly send their customers a new credit card to replace the old one and that numbers change. My same name was still on the new card and I had the confirmation that the room had been paid for. But that did't convince them. The member of staff still wanted to see the old credit card even though I told here that this one no longer existed. In the end she just charged my new credit card again, so I ended up paying twice for the same room. I was promised a full refund for the first payment with the old card. Together with a swimming poll that was closed due to maintenance, a poor standard into restocking the mini-bar and an overpriced breakfast, I will not be using this hotel again. A lot of hassle to stay in this hotel. When you visit a city, you want to explore and not waste valuable time on poor administration and discussions with staff members of the hotel you are staying in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Two MacDonnell Road
#148 of 727 in Hong Kong
176 reviews
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#108 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,804 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hong Kong

Address: No.1 MacDonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#120 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $101 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden View Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View Hong Kong has 141 spacious hotel rooms and suites overlooking the city with panoramic garden view, offering optimal comfort with full service yet reasonably priced accommodation ideally for business or leisure visits and extended stays.Hotel is in walking distance to Hong Kong business, financial center and shopping malls. Peak Tram Station and the trendy nightspot "Lan Kwai Fong" are all at your doorstep. It is easily access to all public transportations and nearby MTR Central subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View International House Hotel Hong Kong
Garden View International Hotel
Garden View International Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing