We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most under-rated Best Bargain Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #102 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
SG
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Most under-rated Best Bargain Hotel”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I have been to Hongkong for several times...I managed to book week stay of this hotel during my 2nd visit to HK with their sales staff Ms Mah. We upgraded to premium with small amount and tried their dim sum restaurant too.

In terms of location, it is about 5-10min to Mongkok MTR, Exit E, lots of food, Yoshinoya, Xu Liu Xiang dessert, hot pot offer after 9pm, 24hr convenience store, bubble tea, try the cheese hot dog next 24hr convenience store - very nice! next to school, shoe street (fa yuen st) and temple street (bazaar stalls) stone throw away. Frankly, it is the best priced hotel that I have stayed out of so many hotels, in terms pricing and location.

Hence here I am - I will be coming to Stanford hotel again for the next few days! As the weekend rates are double the promo weekday price, I will be changing hotel during the weekend. Other than that, it is perfect hotel and can take A21 bus to/back to airport! No regrets for this hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    327
    105
    22
    7
See reviews for
144
174
74
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I agree with others that the hotel rooms are small but this is one of the mostly densely populated places on earth isn't it, and we found the rooms big enough. The facilities were clean and comfortable however it would have been nice to have some free computer use - not everyone travels with their own. The location was excellent. Excellent shopping. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Make sure you ask for a non smoking floor unless you don't mind rooms that absolutely reek of cigarettes.

You can get your washing done over the road much more cheaply than at the hotel. I would also recommend the massage people virtually over the road - they are great.

PS - Trip Advisor - the main photo you have purportedly showing this hotel is definitely not this hotel so you may wish to correct that.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahinetoaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Yes its quite nice, nothing extrodinary but quite comfortable. I read one review before I left on my trip , saying the rooms are very small. Well this is very true , not alot of room at all. Also there was a door conecting too rooms , (locked, but) which meant you could hear the people next door a bit more than you would if it was just a plain wall.

The greatest thing about this hotel is the location. It is at the somewhat quite end of a busy road in a very busy area. The sports stores and the electronic stores are a few minutes walk and are very very busy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captiongeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stayed here with family just before Christmas. First time we've been to Hong Kong. Hotel is very close to Ladies Market and Nathan Road. Both within 10 minutes walk. Room we got was tiny. But being tourists we were out and about most of the time. So tiny room was not an issue. With three persons(each with medium size luggage) to the room two of us had to sit on the bed inorder for the other person to walk about in the room. However, hotel staff are very prompt when we requested for extra towels, soap etc. There are many eating places in the area. Within a stone throw away. Literally!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This hotels biggest perk is the location. We stayed here at the end of our hong kong trip where we wanted to spend the last 3 days shopping our hearts out. This hotel helped us do this as it is in a lively area and is walking distance from the ladies market and langham place mall! The rooms are small yes, but it's Hong Kong and this should be expected. However, it was clean and there was still enough room for our very large bags. The bed is so comfortable but there was only the one blanket on the bed, no spare. Most of the staff at the hotel are very helpfull particularly the concierge who booked us a taxi to the airport the next day. At check in, I did not like the guy's attitude and found him so unhelpfull. I'd definately stay here again though, so worth your money if you're on a bit of a budget... :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsMazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This is our 1st trip to Hong Kong, friend has recommended the hotel to us.
Though, the hotel lobby is slightly small and not so impressive, but the fronliner, the porter and the housekeeping lady were friendly and helpful. The hotel room was a little bit small but clean and tidy. The hotel is strategically located in the heart of Mongkok, within the walking distance from the the eateries, shopping area and MTR station.
I will certainly come back to the hotel again on my next visit to Hong Kong. I would recommend the hotel to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel660694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Stayed 3 nights in mid Nov. Super convenient location for us as we were near alot of shopping (Ladies' Market / Nathan Rd / Langham Place Mall) and GOOD local places to eat. Also, just a few minutes walk from Mong Kok MTR station. Word to the wise, Mong Kok has one of the highest population densities in the world and you can definitely see that, but I loved the energy of that neighborhood. The hotel is on the quiet end of Soy Street though, so noise was not a problem. We went away for 9 days to visit other parts of Asia and the staff was very helpful in keeping our luggage while away (5 HKD/per piece/per day). Staff also helped us book a large minivan to the airport for what I would consider only a little more (about $10) than a regular taxi (we still had lots of luggage!). We stayed on the 19th floor and while the rooms are rather small, they were well kept. The beds are very firm, but we like that. The complimentary wireless internet service in the room was a somewhat slow. Would definitely stay there again for the location and professional / friendly service that we received.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisQuicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#86 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#109 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.118 Soy Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong offers comfort and convenience with our traditional gracious hospitality. Situated beside Ladies' Market, located in Kowloon in one of the most colourful and vibrant areas of this lively, cosmopolitan city. Stanford Hotel Hong Kong is well served by public transport. It is just a few minutes' walk to the MTR Station as well as the Mong Kok East MTR Station, which connects to Mainland China. The Hotel offers complimentary scheduled shuttle bus service to Hung Hom MTR Station, Airport Express Kowloon Station, China Hong Kong City Ferry Terminal and Stanford Hillview Hotel. Our 194 guestrooms are decorated stylishly, with a view overlooking the most popular Mong Kok area and its night light. Our business centre is located on lobby level, provides instant connection to every business associates and its partners. Offering 24-hour reception, staff can also assist with childcare and business needs for guests' convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stanford Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Motel Hong Kong
Stanford Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing