We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ok for short stay, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #91 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Hong Kong for a week when everyhing else seemed to be booked. It's a good value, basic accomodation, nice enough staff and the location is great, close to markets, restuarants, and public transport. The room was tiny, with barely enough room around the bed, but if you are in Hong Kong it's to be expected. Wireless was ok, TV chanels limited and the breakfast included with the room was very basic and not great. I would come back again for the value for money and the location. Oh, if you are a light sleeper you might have trouple because you can hear everything that is said in the hallway, so either bring earplugs or stay elsewhere. I think that if you are on a budget this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: book something facing the back of the building.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel. It was great to know that the accommodation and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is always our goal.

We are looking forward to your next visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 657 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Very good location with lots of restaurants around the hotel and within 1 to 5 mins walk. You will never go hungry from 7am to midnight.
Good place to shop around for everything too !!

Hotel rooms are comfy but bathroom does not come with bathtube. Thus it is inconvenient when bathing my 2 year old boy as the shower head is mounted and not detachable.

We requested for non-smoking connecting rooms and request was granted. Thus it made the hotel stay more enjoyable as my two kids have more space to run around.

I Will defintely go back again because of the location.

Thank Littledingding
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stayed with us and thank you for your comments delivered.

With our repeated thanks for having your patronage. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the 8th floor double room just before heading to Vietnam. Our double was actually a twin but moving the beds together was not a problem. The room is quite spacious and for the rate of under 100€/night we found it really worth the money. There really isn't much to whine about the hotel... maybe the elevators were a bit too slow and you can for sure find cheaper options from Kowloon and Mongkok area but the quality probably is not that good. We also never received the "special chocolates" that according to the booking site should have been given before the check out but there were some fresh fruits available upon arrival.

The view from the 8th floor is really great but might not be suited for everybody's taste (see pictures). Also the residents from the adjacent buildings are able to YouTube you if you don't keep the curtains closed. The shower head is attached to the wall so the shower use is not as easy as it might be. The in-room safe is big enough to house your two ipads, large dslr and a couple of objectives. There is also a hairdryer available, a TV with a couple of channels (some 10) and a standard sized minibar. All in all everythings quite as it should be.

We never tried the breakfast (73HKD/pers.) as there are much more interesting options available in the immediate area. Let's just say that you won't get starwed in HK. The location is altogether great with the ladie's market (not so great in itself) just around the corner and the northern "entrance" to the Temple Street night market just a couple of blocks down the map. There are also two subway stations nearby (with the same lines) Mong Kok & Yau Ma Tei.

We took a bus A21 from (and back) the airport and it took about 40 minutes to reach the closest stops at the Nathan Road. The bus runs really frequently, just reserve the exact amount of cash (or prebuy a ticket or an Octopus) with you. The area is really crowded but there is no problem getting to your room even with larger luggages. The hotel also offers a shuttle service from the airport with a higher price and a free shuttle from the hotel to the Airport Express station for free. The details are availble from the hotel's net-site.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KissaAgentti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for having you with us and your valuable comments delivered to inspire us to upkeep our service standards.

We are looking forward to your next visit and have the honour of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Stanford Hotel and had an absolutely wonderful experience. The rooms were very clean and quite large for Hong Kong standards. We had a fantastic corner window view of the city and were welcomed with fruit and traditional jasmine and orange pekoe tea. The service was very hospitable and kind. The location is just down the street from the Ladies Market. It is a 15 minute walk from the Temple Street night market and a 25-30min walk to the harbor along the very happening Nathan Road. All in all I think it is a wonderful choice and would strongly consider returning to the Stanford Hotel the next time I visit Hong Kong! Only criticism--the breakfast was so so.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here.

We are looking forward to welcoming and servicing you. Hope we can make your visit comfortable and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First of all just like any other hotel in Hongkong, never expect larger then life room or bed, especially for those who has claustrophobic like me, i suggest to sleep on the side of the bed that face the window.

Stanford hotel is located on the shopping district of hongkong which is very convenient, too bad I only had the chance to stay for one night, but it didn't mean it's less pleasant, i have no complain for the bed, the room cleanliness, the bathroom is marvy, and the wifi connection is really good, basically anything that fulfill your expectations for a place to stay whether a holiday or business. They had a smoking and non smoking room too.
However, Stanford hotel need to work up on the quality of the breakfast, since it didn't have too many varieties and the cereal was stale.
Other than the breakfast, everything is good, i will be back someday and stay at this hotel if i had the chance!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiaPutri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stayed with us and thank you for your comments delivered. Your remark given on the shortcomings in the breakfast buffet which you experienced has been directed to our prompt attention and follow up for improvement in this area.

With our repeated thanks for having your patronage and apologized for the inconvenience which may cause you. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived afternoon to discover room not ready.On inspection the room was small,as if it was tucked away in a corner.No view of city just apartment next door.Small tv with only 3 englisg channels.Dont touch minibar-all goods very expensive.Bed was comfortable,with additional towels as required.bathroom was small compared to other hotels,with basic toiletries.Hotel located 20 minutes by cab from rail.Location of hotel in noisy crowded part of kowloon,too far from modern shopping facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for large suite.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thriftyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It was great to hear your valuable comments that enhance us to better serve our guests.

Thank you for having you with us and we look forward to be of your service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights on our layover in Hong Kong from Shanghai back to USA.

The room layout is atypical but the view from the corner window at night was pretty great of just hong kong night lights.

The hotel room was clean and had great amenities. The lobby's had new renovation because I remember looking different a couple years ago when I had dim sum in the restaurant at the bottom of the hotel.

The Front Desk required a cash deposit that we were able to get back with no problem.

Can't complain. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikuTamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseStanford, General Manager at Stanford Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel. It was great to know that your stay here was pleasant and enjoyable.

We are looking forward to your next visit and have the honour of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#65 of 721 in Hong Kong
776 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#35 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#115 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,745 reviews
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#80 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.118 Soy Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $77 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong offers comfort and convenience with our traditional gracious hospitality. Situated beside Ladies' Market, located in Kowloon in one of the most colourful and vibrant areas of this lively, cosmopolitan city. Stanford Hotel Hong Kong is well served by public transport. It is just a few minutes' walk to the MTR Station as well as the Mong Kok East MTR Station, which connects to Mainland China. The Hotel offers complimentary scheduled shuttle bus service to Hung Hom MTR Station, Airport Express Kowloon Station, China Hong Kong City Ferry Terminal and Stanford Hillview Hotel. Our 194 guestrooms are decorated stylishly, with a view overlooking the most popular Mong Kok area and its night light. Our business centre is located on lobby level, provides instant connection to every business associates and its partners. Offering 24-hour reception, staff can also assist with childcare and business needs for guests' convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Motel Hong Kong
Stanford Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing