We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #108 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The standard room was much smaller then I expected and our view was terrible. It was beside residential areas and we had to keep the windows closed the whole time because of the peering neighbours next door. The staff are very friendly and quick to check us in and out. It's a short walk away to the MTR but there are a lot of things to see and do before you get there. Ladies market is just around the corner and it's awesome just be prepared to say no.
We arrived 45minutes before breakfast was going to finish and it looked good but I think we arrived to late so the food wasn't replenished and we were ignored. We didn't have an unpleasant stay it was just average.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusTravellers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    332
    107
    22
    8
See reviews for
146
182
75
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you're ok with being a bit further north from Tsim Sha Tsui, this hotel is good for shopping for trainees and the ladies market. The area is buzzing morning, noon and night. The dinner buffet's not bad but the breakfast isn't worth it. The room was ok, bit on the small side (like many in HK) but the service was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyeatsbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in a two part trip to HK. Although slightly further afield from where we would normally stay (in TST), Mongkok proved to be a good base - especially if you enjoy shopping for trainers! Check-in was quick, the staff polite and efficient. Our room was very pleasant - small, as expected, but with a good sized bathroom and all very clean with modern decor. I would definitely recommend staying here if you don't mind a good walk/metro ride to the 'main' attractions. It's also right by the Ladies Market and the most number of trainer shops I have ever seen. The dinner buffet is pretty good as is the breakfast buffet, although I felt this was a little overpriced when you can just pop round the corner and get breakfast for a fraction if the price. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights in October. Location wise is a distance away from Mong Kok MTR station but there are lots of shops and stalls to pass by so you can hardly feel the distance. Beside, you will pass by the famous Ladies markets so shopping can be done on the way.
Staffs are generally friendly. Hotel price in Hongkong isnt cheap thus the rate we paid is consider good for the hotel quality although it doesnt come with breakfast. There are lots of eateries ard. We tried the steamboat restaurant beside the hotel as recommended by the staffs, its unforgetable!
But can forgo abt the Free WIFI, there isnt any connections at all. We paid for an hour usage at HKD20 nevertheless, connection is still slow and laggy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeve23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed in this hotel last week. The trip is an adventurous one as I did not bring my wallet. I told the counter staff that I did not have my credit cards for check-in, but I was waiting for my friend to bring me cash. To my surprise, the staff allowed me to check in the hotel without any mode of guarantee.

The hotel has good location. From airport, you may take bus A21 which should cost you HKD32 to the bus stop near to the hotel. Alight at bus stop no. 8. The hotel is very near (just steps away) to ladies market. Finding a place to eat is never an issue. You can easily find place for drinks (eg. bubble tea), dessert (eg. guiling gao, mango dessert), clay pot rice even late in night. Not only that, the popular dim-sum restaurant (添好运) is just behind the hotel. But mind you, you may need to queue for at least 1 hour to get into the restaurant. Alternatively, you may ask for take-away which still needs to take about 30 mins. The hotel is near to Mongkok MTR station (exit E2), probably about 5-10 mins walk.

The room is spacious (for HK standard), clean and new. Hotel staff service is adequate and appropriate. just that the hotel does not provide free wifi.

I will still go back to this hotel for my future trips to hong kong. find another friend to share the room to help save hotel cost.

Room Tip: I requested for high floor and not corner rooms. The higher floors are for non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanwyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago. Good location with plenty shops and restaurants within walking distance. Hotel staff are friendly and willing to help, except a couple of middle age men wispering about guests' relationship in their dialect in front of the guests. This is unacceptable behaviour in tourism industry. One of the cleaner knock on the door when it is only 10:30 in the morning because she wanted to do the house cleaning. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and clients. I am a travel agent.

Room Tip: 16th floor can be noisy. You can hear people talking in the corridor or next room. Rooms on 18th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Been staying in this hotel for twice, it is still my no. 1 choice! Hospitality is top notch - receptionists are extremely nice folks who directed me to cheap/gd dim sum restaurant, assisted troubleshooting free wifi! Size of twin room is bigger than dorsett seaview! Comfortable size! Best is the temple street night market, shoe street and xu liu shan dessert are all within 5 min walking distance! Hotel is witin mongkok mtr! So what are you waiting for?

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
708 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#117 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,730 reviews
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#84 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.118 Soy Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong offers comfort and convenience with our traditional gracious hospitality. Situated beside Ladies' Market, located in Kowloon in one of the most colourful and vibrant areas of this lively, cosmopolitan city. Stanford Hotel Hong Kong is well served by public transport. It is just a few minutes' walk to the MTR Station as well as the Mong Kok East MTR Station, which connects to Mainland China. The Hotel offers complimentary scheduled shuttle bus service to Hung Hom MTR Station, Airport Express Kowloon Station, China Hong Kong City Ferry Terminal and Stanford Hillview Hotel. Our 194 guestrooms are decorated stylishly, with a view overlooking the most popular Mong Kok area and its night light. Our business centre is located on lobby level, provides instant connection to every business associates and its partners. Offering 24-hour reception, staff can also assist with childcare and business needs for guests' convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Motel Hong Kong
Stanford Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing