We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and clean room but no free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
Ranked #99 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It was a great getaway for us. The room was clean, big with an extra outdoor space and the baby cot was a proper wooden and movable one, not the travel type one. However, we were shocked when we wanted to collect our car. There is no free parking as a hotel guest. We had to pay $300HKD for an overnight parking and the concierge failed to mention this when we gave them the car key. Not impressed!

Room Tip: No tips for hotel rooms but better get your breakfast later when it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRSmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear almosthereni,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

We are grateful to both your compliments and comments. It is motivation for us to strive for betterment and through constructive comments, we are able to review our operations closely and make improvement wherever appropriate. The areas that you kindly highlighted have been taken into consideration diligently by the management.

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your kind feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We recently visited the Gold Coast Hotel. Its a lovely hotel in terms of its location, atrium, facilities and decent sized rooms and we took our very young children who slept in the next room with an adjoining door. One major word of warning about this hotel to everyone who has a concern about passive smoking is that the management are very weak and do not seem to be able to control or manage smokers or be prepared to fine or ask smoking guests to leave who decide to smoke in their bathrooms on designated non-smoking floors as we see elsewhere in top hotels. Because the hotel is quite old now, smoke in one bathroom flows back through the ducting into other bathrooms on the same floor. On two occassions, we opened the door to our children's bedroom in the morning to find the room filled with the stench of cigarette smoke that had soaked into the childrens sheets. Sure enough on both occassions the hotel cleaned the sheets and clothing and ventilated the room for free (although at final checkout they had mysteriously added a laundry charge onto the bill) but they refused to refund us the cost of the rooms for those nights even though they were in clear breach of contract and had also put our childrens health at risk (two of whom were under the age of one). Hotel revenue at the expense of customer redress. On a number of other nights our own bathroom had a stale smell of cigarettes. we wanted to post this up to let people know that whilst the hotel was very good in other respects, this was a serious issue that did spoil our stay there and we were very disappointed that the management were so weak in addressing the issue for non-smoking guests and actually admitted it was a problem they were unable to control, but if you don't confront issues like this, it will continue. So a warning to all future guests for whom passive smoking and the stink of tar heavy cigarettes in non smoking rooms may be an issue.

Room Tip: Call the management the minute you have the issue of cigarette fumes and demand they come up to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa4ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear lisa4ian,

Thank you for your valuable comment.

Upon receipt of your post, we have reviewed with related departments for follow up actions. We care for our guests’ well-being and feelings, and we will strive for improvement in every aspect of our facilities and service.

We apologize for your unpleasant experience. Our policy is steadfast that it is not allowed for anyone to smoke on non-smoking floors. All our staff will do our best to uphold our principle and policy.

Thanks again for being our guest and if there are any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had a great experience at the Gold Coast Hotel. I have been to Hong Kong multiple times, and really wanted a "different" experience. The nearby beach, quaint seaside restaurants, and convenient walking paths really made me feel like I was on a tropical vacation. If you are looking for a nice getaway from the city this is your place. The rooms wasn't particularly outstanding (a little worm), but the views were lovely. Also the price was very affordable for the size of the room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aborek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Aborek,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

We are grateful to both your compliments and comments. It is motivation for us to strive for betterment and through constructive comments, we are able to review our operations closely and make improvement wherever appropriate. The areas that you kindly highlighted have been taken into consideration diligently by the management.

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your kind feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

When a trip into China had to get cancelled due to illness, we wanted somewhere quiet to recuperate for a few days. The Gold Coast Hotel proved the best medicine possible. Having a balcony with beautiful views was very welcome, as was the opportunity to take a leisurely stroll along the beach. The Piazza had sufficient choice of restaurants to choose from so there was no need to leave the area if you didn't want to. The staff were very accommodating and every request was quickly and efficiently dealt with. I will definitely be back and bringing more of the family with me next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateCKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear KateCKC,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for your kind words and we will continue to deliver quality service to our guests to meet their expectations.

We sincerely thank you for being our guest and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards,

Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

When I booked this hotel, I thought the location was closed to the airport, but to my surprise it took me about 40 minutes from this hotel to the airport at 4 am in the morning, so I was wrong. It would be great if hotel could provided a free shuttle service from/to the airport-hotel. The hotel only provides a shuttle to Tsim Tsa Shui in Kowloon for HKD 30/ person and one way trip, I dont have any idea why is not free? But overall, was good stay as I got a very great view to the beach. And within walking distance we could walk to the nearest small shopping center near the hotel where there are several convenience stores and local restaurant. The hotel provided amenities like soap, toothbrush, sandals and even there were extra pillow and blanket. Nice and big room and big bathroom as well. All staff were attentive and helpful and are able to speak English well which was very helpful

Room Tip: Choose high floor room with great view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mykarimun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Mykarimum,

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.

We are grateful to both your compliments and comments. It is motivation for us to strive for betterment and through constructive comments, we are able to review our operations closely and make improvement wherever appropriate. The areas that you kindly highlighted have been taken into consideration diligently by the management.

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your kind feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

it was my wife birthday and they help me to arrange something nice to her " cake, bottle of wine and fantastic thing is upgrade my room type "
trick to use room number : 602 & 601 fantastic view marina and beach with big balcony
push to upgrade to this two room located in 6th floor because all upper floor with no balcony :
( only 6 floor is the highest floor with balcony
furniture inside the room look a little bit old but it is ok
nice hotel to relax

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for your kind words and we will continue to deliver quality service to our guests to meet their expectations.

We sincerely thank you for being our guest and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards,

Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at the Gold Coast Hotel on the 3rd day of our trip to Hong Kong.
The check in was excellent as was the first impressions of the hotel.
We had a large corner room which was very clean. The bathroom was very large and the shower was excellent.
The free WiFi was brilliant and very fast and allowed you to log multiple devices on to it.
Gardens of the hotel are truly beautiful and there are 2 very good play-parks for children.
It was too cold to use the pool, but it does look very good. The beach is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and is very clean.
They also decorated the hotel up for Christmas with some very tasteful ideas.
Staff were helpful and courteous.
Also within 5 minutes walking distance are a number of shops and restaurants in the Gold Coast complex.
Overall one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and not that dear either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robsaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peary L, Manager at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your post and sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We are grateful to you for your kind words and we will continue to deliver quality service to our guests to meet their expectations.

We sincerely thank you for being our guest and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the near future.

Best regards,

Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 727 in Hong Kong
968 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#421 of 727 in Hong Kong
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#50 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,158 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Address: No. 1 Castle Peak Road, Castle Peak Bay, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $117 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban landscape of downtown Hong Kong and retreat to a family-friendly beach resort. Only 30 minutes from Central, our hotel is a welcoming seaside oasis with lush tropical gardens that sets the stage for a relaxing holiday, an idyllic wedding or a lively conference. Our 453 rooms and suites feature tranquil views of the sea or neighbouring Gold Coast Yacht and Country Club, allowing guests to be comforted by the cool sea breeze as they enjoy the genuine warmth of our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Hong Kong
Hotel Gold Coast
Gold Coast Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing