We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
Ranked #102 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for a vacation and observe the following:
The hotel is situated a bid far from all the major attractions thus causing us to spend a lot of money on taxis. This is the down side of this review.
The positives
Although the hotel is far from the city, 5 minutes walk away from the hotel is a shopping center where you can get everything you need.
Rooms are spacious, and well kept clean. I asked for a non smoking room and for the 1st time in many such requests, I really got a clean room NOT smelling of any smoke.
The staff is very helpful and although the language barrier is a tough one, they always helped with a smile.
The breakfast and dinners are to die for with as much as 30 dishes to choose from.
Internet and Wi/Fi are included in the price and really fast.
The swimming pools have 2(two) permanent live savers on duty until very late at night and the water is sparkling clean.
The Play room situated outside the hotel can accommodate children from 1year to 70 year old
The beaches are beautiful and clean and only a minute's walk from the hotel

Room Tip: None They Are All Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STORMERTOPPIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is located away from the city centre and that was exactly what we were looking for. There is a regular shuttle bus so getting into the city is not a big deal. A brilliant place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. There is a piazza 5 minutes walk away with a wide variety of restaurants to eat from, as well as a supermarket and pharmacy. It was very cosy and the perfect place for us. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back for a quiet visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SM2011Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent location, very beautiful. Great beach and the hotel itself has a magnificent pool. A perfect getaway. Although the staff try very hard to be 5 star and only mean well, they are very clearly in need of training. Its ignorance as to how to handle certain situations rather than a matter of an attitude problem. I found the room cleaners to be excellent as well as the concierge staff but the rest of the staff were operating at a 3 star level at best. I am a south african and have had some trouble getting my credit card to work in Hong Kong, when checking my credit card would not work when swiped. I offered my debit card but it wouldnt work either. Rather than offering the nearest ATM machine the staff immediately became suspicious and sniggered amongst themselves. I made my way to the ATM and withdrew cash and paid upfront but from there on out i was treated like a criminal. I was not permitted to charge anything to the room and when i went to breakfast before i could sit down the manager said he would bring me the bill and i would need to pay cash. I paid before i ate. The breakfast bill is 217hk dollars, i paid 220hkd and the lady who took it just never returned with my change, i dont mind, i mean its 3 dollars but thats service ettiquette 101. What a beautiful hotel but training, training, training are needed. The reception staff need to be more friendly and helpful and gracious than any other staff as thats a hotels first impression on patrons. Most of the staff came across as money grabbing and rather cold. Interesting it was the low end staff, cleaners, doormen etc that were excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sonskyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Gold Coast is an excellent hotel up to the highest standards. Start with the hall, imposing, a huge central area with extremely high ceiling up to the third or fourth floor and with glass-coated elevators so that you admir it when going up or getting down. Amazing!

The room is spacious, confortable, excellent sleep quality and great view on the sea and the dolphins peer!

Great service in a great location. You can safely go out and walk by the peer or the beach. There is a small commercial area by the peer itself with several restaurants and fast foods.

The only negative aspect is that this is in Kowloon, actually even out west of Kowloon. You will need a shuttle bus to reach Kowloon and then Hong Kong. Do expect a 1h drive.

I stayed there already twice on business occasions and I look forward to my next visit, if any.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is very elegant, the grand entrance is welcoming. The staff was very nice and attentive the restaurant and breakfast were Awesome to say in a word. The hotel has many things to do in the hotel. However, it is very far from the Center of Hong Kong for walking and shopping. There wasn't much to do other than relax if you are looking for a romantic get away then go here but if you want night life and restaurants to explore I suggest staying in Hong Kong, It is more like a family housing area then a tourist area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the bay and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codered202001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is far away from Central Hong Kong. Great price, Sea View, Beach and local Shopping Mall nearby. Beautiful sea view and close to the beach. Hotel room was spacious with good conditions. Beautiful view of mountains surrounding the South China Sea. Lovely and peaceful in the room with nice mini-bar. Cleaning crew was courteous and transfers to and from Central Hong Kong was excellent. Lovely outdoor swimming pools with tennis courts. Hotel did provide a shuttle bus from airport to hotel. Restaurant on weekends has a buffet that is fairly expensive. Service was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnold890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Yes the hotel is far away from Central, Hong Kong. The transportation system is so good it I not a problem. You are not going to get anything like this in Central Hng Kong with the price they charged . Sea view, beach and a shop/restaurant plaza a few minutes walk from the hotel. There are many shopping malls in Tuen Mun town you don't have to go to Central Hong Kong or Kwooloon. There are ferries from Tuen Mun to Macow. How convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hugtub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#424 of 725 in Hong Kong
424 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 725 in Hong Kong
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#52 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,119 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#93 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Address: No. 1 Castle Peak Road, Castle Peak Bay, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban landscape of downtown Hong Kong and retreat to a family-friendly beach resort. Only 30 minutes from Central, our hotel is a welcoming seaside oasis with lush tropical gardens that sets the stage for a relaxing holiday, an idyllic wedding or a lively conference. Our 453 rooms and suites feature tranquil views of the sea or neighbouring Gold Coast Yacht and Country Club, allowing guests to be comforted by the cool sea breeze as they enjoy the genuine warmth of our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Hong Kong
Hotel Gold Coast
Gold Coast Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing