We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
Ranked #99 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was at the hotel on business for a few days, away from the H-K buzz, and found the place suprinsingly good. I say "surprinsingly" because it may appear first as a bit of a summer resort for Chinese mass-tourists, ie very different to a classical 4-star international business hotel, but the hotel won on a few points : good value, interesting beach location and views, nice pool, simple and confortable rooms or meeting rooms, and excellent dinner buffet, very different from anything I tried before in H-K or South-East Asia. Few people speak very good english so arm yourself with patience. I would recommend it for an off site for 1 day or 2.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great value hotel that caters well for families. We stayed only for 24 hours on a homeward bound stop over but were very impressed by the hotel facilities, quality rooms, pleasant staff and beautiful views from the rooms looking towards the beach. Shuttle busses to various shopping spots are available as are taxis for a reasonable fee. If we were to stay longer in Hong Kong we would not hesitate to choose this hotel as it provides a real oasis in a bustling city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GentlemanTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Gold Coast Hotel and Resort offers all the comforts of home-away and more -- more space, more light, more sea view, more amenities and services befitting of a resort for leisure and recreation. Only steps away is the long Gold Coast beach and nearby Dolphin Walk, plus the Gold Coast Piazza of eateries, cafes and bistros, groceries and convenience stores. Within easy commute, downtown Tsim Sha Tsui is only 30 minutes away by shuttle bus from/to the hotel. There is another shuttle to Tsing Yi MTR and Airport Express. Gold Coast Hotel is well worth an unhurried stress-free stay.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKGEWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We've stayed in Gold Coast Hotel & Resort for numerous times. As a local, for geographical proximity reasons, we see it as the oasis for an escape from the skyscrapers in the city during school holidays or long weekend. The hotel offers quite a lot of promotion to the locals every now and then. Free transportation by hotel shuttle bus from airport or Royal Pacific Hotel in Tsim Sha Tsui is the easiest means for hotel clients (others need to pay $30 per trip). If by public transportation, there are quite a lot of buses from Hong Kong, Kowloon or New Territories which passes by the Gold Coast Shopping Mall. Check out the latest information from the website of the franchised bus companies.

Accommodation was on the whole simple and basic, with amenities such as toiletries, towels, fridge and cable TV available. However, plumbing and sewage in need of better maintenance. We had water seepage problem in the bathroom during our latest stay in April 2013. Hotel facilities such as spa, tennis court, outdoor swimming pool, restaurants and kids' room were available. My children were frenzy with the electronic games at the kids' room. During peak season or public holidays, the restaurant was very crowded. Supply of food during breakfast time seems quite satisfactory. Cost of meals in the restaurants are on the high side. Service on the whole satisfactory. During festive season they have many family activities for hotel clients such as baking of moon cake during Mid-Autumn Festival and easter eggs during Easter holidays.

Next to the hotel premises are the shopping mall (managed by the Hotel developer) and the beach (managed by the Government). Quite a few nice eateries at the shopping centre - if you do not want to spend a few hundred bucks per person on the hotel buffet, you can try the international cuisines here. The supermarket in the centre of the shopping mall offers a wide range of beverages and snacks. During Saturday and Sunday, the promenade outside the mall are filled with small stalls, selling accessories and DIY ornaments etc, and you will find the air of an outdoor bazzar. The beach is on the whole clean and suitable for swimming.

Should you have time to further explore traditional Chinese architecture or religion, why not take a taxi to Tsing Chung Koon (Address - Tsing Chung Path, Tsing Chung Koon Road. ask the hotel staff to provide you with the chinese name if you cannot speak cantonese), a famous Taoist Temple in Hong Kong, in honour of the Taoist immortal, Lu Dongbin. Lanterns bestowed by the Forbidden City are hanging in the Palace of Pure Brightness. Dotted around are pagodas, pavilions and oriental style of architecture. You may even order vegetarian meal from the restaurant to highlight the visit.

Room Tip: the tour groups tend to be very noisy, especially when they passed by the corridor. request for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnysnaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have stayed at the Gold Coast Hotel, Hong Kong several times in the past. I would say the overall standard has improved a lot over the last few years.Room prices are reasonable. Food is excellent, even if a bit pricey. The swimming pool is well divided into zones for children and adults, with a jacuzzi in one part. Free hourly shuttle bus to tsim sha tsui from 8.00 to 23.00 each way for guests who have booked on the hotel website. Otherwise HKD€30 each way. If you fancy playing tennis, check if they have repainted the courts. The recreation is also very good with plenty for adults or children.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. I personally do not think a balcony is a must, as the gardens are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 38Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and I must say, it was such a disappointment that it sparked me to write this review. I cannot say much about the amenities because they were closed due to the unfortunate black rainstorm that occurred for the duration of my stay. The only positive part of this resort is the view but although it is nice, it is definitely not worth the price or terrible service. For the "grand villa" type theme the hotel is trying to pull off, the structure is inviting but the staff are under-trained workers who know nothing about hospitality. Aside from having to pay $60HKD for a round trip to and from the hotel to the city in their shuttle (while other hotels provide a free shuttle), it is the lack of service that is unsettling. Comparing the service I received here with that from the modest Cosmo Hotel in Mong Kok, I am reassured that this hotel does not deserve all the positive reviews it gets. Little things such as, no one opening the door for you or there never being anyone at the concierge table because the staff is busy chatting in the corner create a negative experience. The numerous times I was bombarded with a raid of doorbell rings and phone calls, saying they need to exterminate my room, or waking me up after falling asleep waiting hours for someone to help reset my locked safe, made my stay here truly unacceptable.

I definitely wish I prolonged my stay at the Cosmo and didn't get lured in by the positive reviews I read about this hotel.

It's a shame that the beautiful view of this "golden beach" is barricaded by the real faces representing this hotel - their staff. Unless you're determined to not step outside the resort quarters, please save your money and troubles by staying in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, it is a bit far out from the main tourist areas os TST and Hong Kong island, but has a shuttle service which only takes 30 minutes to get you to the centre of TST. So it is closer than you think. The hotel is very nice, you won't find a better selection for breakfast anywhere. I had room service meals on a couple of occasions which were very nice but very expensive.
Bus no 962 runs from Hong Kong Island and Kowloon every 15 min or so, is very cheap and runs all through the night.
There is a small mall next to the marina, 5 minutes walk, several restaurants and small supermarkets there

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view, floors 6 and above. rooms at the rear of the hotel have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 727 in Hong Kong
968 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#421 of 727 in Hong Kong
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#50 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,158 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Address: No. 1 Castle Peak Road, Castle Peak Bay, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $117 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban landscape of downtown Hong Kong and retreat to a family-friendly beach resort. Only 30 minutes from Central, our hotel is a welcoming seaside oasis with lush tropical gardens that sets the stage for a relaxing holiday, an idyllic wedding or a lively conference. Our 453 rooms and suites feature tranquil views of the sea or neighbouring Gold Coast Yacht and Country Club, allowing guests to be comforted by the cool sea breeze as they enjoy the genuine warmth of our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Hong Kong
Hotel Gold Coast
Gold Coast Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing