We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of scene!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
Ranked #98 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for a change of scene during a recent visit to Hong Kong. The hotel is really nice and well appointed. Our room was at the top of the tower and had a balcony.
The beach looked a bit dirty for swmming or paddling I have to say, but its really nice for a stroll.The nearby marina has a few shops and a McD's of course!
The hotel has a large pool with some waterslides and a childrens play area, so we spent most of our time there.
The evening buffet is fantastic and is a must-do! You must reserve though.
There are plenty of buses passing the front of the hotel, so its easy to get out and about but it probably is too far out from the city for as short stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor to get a great view of passing ships!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hofficoffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 977 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel.

Was for one night only, but it was still great !!

Stayed here on my way back from Guangzhou, China. Enroute back to London.

Yes it is a little far from the city, however they run a shuttle to and from the city for HK$30.

The rooms are nice, the view of the harbour is amazing.

The atmosphere is very tranquil.

There is a food court at a 5 minute walking distance, which is very handy.

Well worth staying at the hotel!

Price is amazing, would easily say it is value for money.

Room Tip: Booked through booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dungeonmaster42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a very pleasant hotel to stay in. It is however far out from the city but the hotel runs a shuttle bus every hour to its sister hotel in Kowloon right through to 11p.m. It had a good pool and is sited next to a Marina and a beach so we found the place very peaceful. Staff moved us to a room with a balcony for no extra charge and were very helpful. Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEMONS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a bit of a mission to get to, but we were aware of this and therefore were prepared for the long trip from the airport. Reception was fantastic and they requested that our room be available early - we were able to check in at 1pm even though check-in only starts at 3pm.
Our room was large, the bed was big & comfortable, it had a beautiful view of the bay & was refreshingly air conditioned; it was a pleasure to return there after sightseeing in the heat & humidity outside. The room also had a massive balcony with 2 chairs, which we didn't use.
We were pleasantly surprised to find they even supplied a shaving kit consisting of shaving cream and a razor.
There is a shopping centre situated behind the hotel grounds which was very convenient - it has a supermarket & a pharmacy as well as a handful of places to choose from for breakfast & dinner (including Subway and McDonald's). The bus stop for buses into town is conveniently located near the entrance of the hotel.
I'm rating this 3 due to the distant location, the lack of soundproofing (we could hear all our neighbours' business - very distracting) and because breakfast was not included in the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quazilogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the only 4 or 5 star hotel in Gold Coast N.T. The location is in the less busy area of Hongkong, where the mountain is close by and the beach is right in front of the Hotel. Restaurants and convenience stores are located in the mini mall, a 3 minute walk.For relaxation, this is the best location since the air is fresher and the pace of life, slower. There is also a shopping mall, a 15 minute ride by taxi, where you can find a lot of restaurants and shops, but this is a far cry from the busy shopping commercial districts of Kowloon or TST. MTR is near the shopping mall in Tuen Mun so a taxi or bus ride is a must in order to get to the hotel. However, they have regualr service bus from the hotel to the MTR Station in Tsingyi and in TST, which is not free. If you are in a hurry to catch your flight, a taxi is the preferred mode of transport but if you are going to guangzhou by train via the Hung hom station, the line at Tuen Mun will take you directly to the Hung Hom Station. Using the MTR at Tuen Mun to connect to the airport express line will require you to transfer at least 2 times. The hotel is quite good with clean and comfortable rooms, and a huge swimming pool. Night time activities within a close proximity to the hotel is limited, unless walking in the beach is your thing. Going to Central or any parts of HK without breaking your budget requires a mastery of the bus system and MTR. Taxis are quite expensive especially at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albert808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Love the hotel and its value for money . Great location away from the city but not close to any MTR which makes public transportation not very easy . The closest MTR is 15min away by a taxi and if you take the MTR to the city Kowloon or Hong Kong island you would have to switch 3 stations which is not what you require on a holiday . By cab its faster about 25 mins to the city and that helps . Hotel is great if you just want to unwind and relax .

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I decided to try this place based on the TA score. It was the biggest disappointment of my entire trip to Asia.

Starting off with a terrible shuttle ride from the Macau/HK Ferry Terminal through check-out, I will never stay here again.

The room was old. The bed was rock hard. The website shows a tennis court but it was in disrepair. You have to walk through a restaurant after working out in the gym. The staff wasn't that friendly. And the breakfast buffet was unremarkable.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vegaskev72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#386 of 723 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 723 in Hong Kong
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#56 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,073 reviews
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#369 of 723 in Hong Kong
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Address: No. 1 Castle Peak Road, Castle Peak Bay, Gold Coast, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $115 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the urban landscape of downtown Hong Kong and retreat to a family-friendly beach resort. Only 30 minutes from Central, our hotel is a welcoming seaside oasis with lush tropical gardens that sets the stage for a relaxing holiday, an idyllic wedding or a lively conference. Our 453 rooms and suites feature tranquil views of the sea or neighbouring Gold Coast Yacht and Country Club, allowing guests to be comforted by the cool sea breeze as they enjoy the genuine warmth of our service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Hong Kong
Hotel Gold Coast
Gold Coast Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing