We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Harbourview Hong Kong
Ranked #149 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is well located in a quiet are near a lot of restaurants and bars.

We decided last minute to have breakfast at the hotel and I must say it was a great deal, including some dimsum (which is the traditional breakfast dish in Hong Kong).

Internet access was free of charge and very fast.

The room was small, decoration a little outdated and it smelt like smoke even though we requested a non-smokers room. The views, on the other side, were nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are very glad that you are satisfied with our convenient location, price, breakfast buffet, wireless internet service and the stunning harbour view.

We admit that our guestroom is not big while comparing with other hotels in Hong Kong, please understand that we have been trying our very best to offset this weakness with our price and prime location.

Please accept our apology on the smell issue in your room. We have passed your comment to our Housekeeping Team and the staff members have been briefed to pay extra attention to any unusual smell when making up the guestrooms. Please be advised that should you need any assistance during your stay, you are welcomed to contact our Front Desk staff at any time, they are more than happy to offer you help and room change could be arranged if the situation allows.

Last but not least, thank you for your opinion on the décor of our guestroom, your message has been passed to our management for review. Thanks again for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Pros:
1- Good price in hk. 2- 10 min walk to metro station and you can get anywhere. 3- Room was of good size for 2 people. 4- Nice view of the harbour from your room window. 5- breakfast is complete, a bit expensive though.

Cons:
1- singles beds are a bit small and matresses are hard. 2- it seems that the walls are a bit thin and not sound insulated. 3- bathroom and toilette are small. But it did not bother us. 4- Heating system was not in service in january and it was 6 degrees at night!! I had a cold for one week.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the water and it was a very nice view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for posting us a review and we are delighted to know that you appreciated our convenient location, reasonable price, guestroom size and the stunning harbour view from the guestroom.

Your comment on the breakfast price is well taken and has been passed to our Food and Beverage Department for review. Please understand that our breakfast buffet offers a reasonable range of food and the price is still very competitive while comparing with other hotels in the nearby area.

Please be informed that the width of our beds matches with the industry average in Hong Kong. Our single beds are 3 feet in width, while double beds are either 5 feet or 6 feet in width. For the length of the beds, we can arrange bed extension of 12 inches upon guest request. Regarding the mattress, we can provide a soft topper on the mattress for guests who prefer sleeping on softer mattress. You are welcomed to drop us an e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk and let us know your name and period of stay, so that we could arrange for you upon your next stay with us.

Constrained by the room size, the bathroom of each guestroom is designed in the appropriate size. We have been trying our best to offset this weakness with our prime location, price and harbour view.

We would like to take this chance to apologize for the sound insulation and heating system issue you have encountered during your stay. In fact, if you need any assistance during your stay, you are welcomed to contact our Front desk staff at any time. They will offer you help and room change could be arranged if the situation allows.

Thank you again for your opinions which allow us to continue to seek rooms for improvement. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Harbourview is not on scale with the Hyatt or Renaissance which are nearer to the Hong Kong Convention Center. It is also tricky to find if making your way on the airport bus. Yet once you have checked in you will be quite happy. The hotel has minimal English signage which can go unnoticed if you are looking the wrong way. Even with Google maps the position is correct, but at night you must ask locals for directions.

We spent 7 nights in room 1412 which really had an amazing view of the harbor and nightly light show on buildings across the water. Beds are comfortable, and there is sufficient furniture in what otherwise is a very small hotel room. There is a frig, small flat screen TV with very few channels I wanted to watch---no CNN or FOX News, no English movies. The lighting is generally fine except if two people occupy the room and one wishes to read , each bedside light is far too bright!

Wifi rates are a bit tight but $40 for 7 days was not a bad price. Signal and bandwidth are quite acceptable. The bathroom has a great shower and decent amenities. The room has very little clothes storage space but does have enough hangers in the closet. They give you one free water bottle daily which you will need if doing any walking.

The room has a phone, desk, tea maker, two chair as and small table. One negative is the wall switch controls. There are two sets. One is next to the room door all of which are unlabeled. A second set is one the nightstand and all are labeled. If getting up to use the bathroom at night and on the side of the bed where no switches exist you have to use the ones next to the door and fumble in the dark until you figure out which one is right.

The hotel staff is excellent and very responsive. Some have better English skills than others so our have to find the right person especially if you have a rather detailed question.

There is no swimming pool but there is a fitness center. You can walk to a variety of restaurants but only HK dollars are accepted and credit cards in the larger establishments. Cash is generally used. No real noise heard in the room from other guests or construction.

Due to construction one of 3 elevators is down leaving 1 that works properly and a second that works sometimes but never let's you see which floor it is on as you stand in front of it. As a result there is really just one working elevator at peak usage it takes forever to get from the lobby to a high floor and vice versa. All in all, I enjoyed the hotel and saved quite a lot of money in the process. The A12 airport bus stops a mere one block from the hotel. If you use it carry detailed maps with you and follow the signs in the direction of the convention center. Do not cross the overpass!

Room Tip: Highest floor, end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing a detailed feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you found your stay with us value-for-money and you are satisfied with the hotel’s location, comfort of the bed, in-room and bathroom amenities as well as the service quality of our staff members. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the stunning harbour view from the guestroom.

Regarding the wireless internet rate, the hotel is currently offering free wireless broadband internet access during the whole staying period for guests who make reservation via the hotel’s official website. For details, you are welcomed to visit our official website or contact our Reservation Department via e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk

While for the television issue, kindly be informed that we are replacing the small in-room televisions with larger screen TVs in all our guestrooms in different phases and the process will be completed soon. Your comments on TV channels and paid-movies are also acknowledged. We will pass your opinion to the top management for consideration of introducing more TV channels or launching a channel for paid-movies.

We would like to take this chance to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the upgrade work of our guest lifts. Please understand that the work merely aims at providing better and safer facilities to our guests and we have tried our best to encourage guests visiting M/F to 4/F to use the lift beside the hotel entrance so as to reduce the traffic of guest floor lifts.

Thank you for your compliment on the service delivered by our frontline staff. On the other hand, please be assured that continuous English training course will be offered to our staff so that all of our team members could communicate with our guests fluently.

Last but not least, your comments on the closet and light switches in the room are well taken and have been passed to our top management for review. Please understand that limited by the room size, we could only place a closet in an appropriate size in the room and we would pay more attention on the design and position of the light switches upon our next renovation.

Thank you again for your feedback which is not only helpful but also a great encouragement to us. We will continue improving our facilities and service standard and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We started in a low cost room which had a view of a wall which made us claustrophobic so got moved to a harbour view room which was great at an additional cost of HK$110 a night. it was worth it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com.

Limited by the location of the hotel, some of our guestrooms face the wall of the next building unavoidably. It is our pleasure that you have upgraded to a harbour view room and you appreciated the view from the room. Please be advised that you could make a reservation for “Premier Harbour Room” or “Premier Plus Harbour Room” upon your next stay with us to ensure that you could enjoy the stunning view from the room. For details, please visit our official website or contact our Reservation department via email: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk .

We look forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for a convention at the convention centre opposite so the location for me was great. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. However there was always a lot of noise from people coming and going in the corridor, both late at night and early morning and the doors slammed quite loudly. Lying in bed I could hear the people in the next room pressing the light switches next to the bed in their room.
The housekeeping service was good but they unnecessarily came to check and recheck the room had been cleaned, and once woke me up from a jet-lagged nap at 3pm by just coming straight into the room. I understand they have a job to do but surely the guests privacy is more important. And don't they keep a record of which rooms they have cleaned that day?
Whilst I was staying there, only 2 of the 3 elevators were in service so it meant a 5-10 minute wait in the mornings for the elevator and often it arrived and was already full.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loving_living_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and share your comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to learn that you appreciated our hotel’s location, room cleanliness and the comfort of the bed.

The Harbourview is making every possible effort to provide a better environment and facilities for our guests. Since one of our guest lifts is blocked for the upgrading work, only 2 lifts are in service currently. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by the upgrading work. Please understand that the work aims at providing better and safer facilities to our guests and we have tried our best to encourage guests visiting M/F to 4/F to use the lift beside the hotel entrance so as to reduce the traffic of guest floor lifts.

We are regretful that our Housekeeping team has caused to you disturbance during your stay. Your comment has been passed to our Housekeeping Department for review. Consequently, Room Attendants and Supervisors have been briefed again to keep a clear record of guestroom makeup. Please be assured that improvement and corrective action would be made definitely. Kindly be advised that there is a “Do not disturb” sign available in each guestroom, you could hang it on the door lock to indicate that you do not require room cleaning service, and our staff would not come straight into the room if they see this sign.

Regarding the noise caused by other guests, please accept our sincere apology on this issue. If you need any assistance during your stay, you are welcomed to contact our Front Desk staff at any time. They will offer you help and room change could be arranged if the situation allows.

Thank you again for your comment. Please be assured that we will continue improving our facilities and service standard and we look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

i stayed here middle of may for 3 nights as my girlfriend came to choose the hotel. we made the booking via booking.com but it was unfortunately below our (already) low expectations. we arrived after a short trip (we are living in Shanghai) and had an average check-in. no papers have been prepared and we had to fill in all papers instead they prepare it and just let the customer double confirm the information. we entered our tiny room, and our view from the window was at a concrete wall. very disappointing.

we didn't use any facilites like breakfast in the hotel. Internet is only for free in the lobby, which is a not up-to-date and very annoying.

the whole time we stayed there we had a feeling that the room is some kind of over-humid. you could feel it on the paper and even clothes inside the room.
Yes, HK is a humid place, but this was awkward experiencing that in the room with running AC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

We are sorry to learn that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectation. Please be assured that the hotel is making every possible effort to improve the service standard and provide a better environment for guests.

Limited by the location of the hotel, nearly half of our guestrooms do face a concrete wall. However, we have been trying to offset this weakness with our reasonable price and convenient location. We admit that the size of our guestroom is not big in general while comparing with other hotels in Hong Kong. Please be informed that our hotel has two other room categories, namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Rooms which are larger than regular rooms and face the Victoria Harbour that you may consider for your next visit.

Please note that other than the 2 computers offering free internet access at the hotel lobby, free Wi-Fi internet access is also available for patrons of Mezz Floor on M/F of the hotel, no password is required for this Wi-Fi system. In addition, the hotel is currently offering free internet access during the whole stay to guests who make reservation via the hotel’s official website. For more details, please contact our Reservation Department via e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk.

One of the reasons contributing to the humidity in the room was the humid weather in Hong Kong during spring and early summer. You could turn the air-conditioner to medium or high level, the humidity in the room would be significantly lower. Alternatively, you are welcomed to contact our Front Desk staff for assistance. Our staff members would do their best endeavor to offer you help.

Last but not least, your comment on the check-in experience is well taken. The issue has been raised to the management for review. Once again, thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we sincerely wish that you could offer us a second chance to do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have stayed here before as it is convenient for the night life we wanted. But cannot believe how cold it is. Imagine coming from very hot temperatures into a freezer room and you may get the idea. Not very good if you have been caught in one of HK's heavy downpours. It is so cold in the restaurant for breakfast that your food is cold by the time you have collected it and returned to your table. The buffet breakfast is a good mix of European and Asian food. Be sure to take a warm jacket with you if you go to reception or the restaurant. However the rooms are satisfactory, clean with comfortable beds, but tiny bathroom. Will probably try elsewhere in future so as not to get cold and flu.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at our hotel again and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the hotel’s location, guestroom cleanliness, comfort of the bed as well as the food variety of our breakfast buffet.

Regarding the indoor temperature issue, we apologized for the experience you have encountered in Harbour Restaurant and hotel lobby. We have passed this issue to our staff in Engineering for improvement. Besides, our Food and Beverage Department will pay more attention to heat reservation of the food served on the buffet table to enhance the dining experience of our guests.

Your comment on the bathroom size is well noted. Comparing with other hotels in Hong Kong, the size of our bathrooms might be smaller, however we have been trying our best to offset this weakness with our prime location and quality of service.

We do take your comments seriously, please be assured that improvement would be made accordingly. We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#70 of 725 in Hong Kong
156 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#132 of 725 in Hong Kong
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#116 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,099 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#114 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourview Hong Kong

Address: No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $86 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbourview Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Harbourview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour View International House Hong Kong
Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing