We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Harbourview Hong Kong
Ranked #149 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Handy hotels to shops and ferry , pleasant efficient staff , Leo on the front desk was friendly and helpful , we had a backroom so no view but the room was quite nice . easy to get a cab to local tourist spots

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for writing us this valuable piece of compliment. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated our hotel’s location and transportation network.

We are grateful that you are satisfied with our guestroom. Please kindly be informed that over half of our guestrooms face the Victoria Harbour, you may consider staying at one of our harbour view rooms for your next visit to have an even better accommodation experience.

Your appreciation on the service quality delivered by our staff, Leo, is well noted too. Your words would also be communicated to our Front Desk team members accordingly. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    578
    298
    53
    31
See reviews for
118
284
121
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is just OK, the hotel room is not too big,but it is useful,breakfast is very delicous,we saw many traveler or business man,the location is good,you can go anywhere easily. few minutes walk to the IFC mall on the left and on right to the Victoria park,but you naybe loose your way in the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yzhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you appreciated our hotel’s location and nearby attractions and found our breakfast delicious.

Regarding the room size, please be informed that our hotel has two room categories, namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Room, which are larger than the regular rooms and face the Victoria Harbour that you may consider for your next visit for a better accommodation experience. For more details, please visit our hotel’s website or contact our reservation department via e-mail: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk.

Thank you again for your comment. We will strive for higher service standard and look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family. Very low cost rooms but you do pay for what you get! The rooms are very very small and the beds are also small. The bathroom was perfectly formed but it would be hard to swing a cat in there!!! I thought the extra £30+ we had to pay for an extra roll out bed was extortionate for what we got! The room was clean and well maintained. The staff on reception were very attentive and friendly. The location is the best thing about the hotel. It is in a great location. I would not stay at the hotel again as I was disappointed with the room and its size. Stay here if you want a budget stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anafonitria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comment.

Our guestrooms and bathrooms are not big in size if compared with other hotels in Hong Kong, however, we have been trying our best to compensate these weaknesses with our reasonable prices, attentive service and prime location. For your information, we do have 2 other room categories, namely, Executive Room and Executive Deluxe Room, both are significantly larger in size and face the renowned Victoria Harbour. If you would like to know more, please visit our website or contact our Reservation Department via e-mail: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk.

Regarding the bed size, please be informed that our single beds are 3 feet in width, while double beds are 5 feet or 6 feet in width, these are the industry average in Hong Kong. Kindly be advised that it is a normal practice for hotels in Hong Kong to charge on the roll out bed. We feel sorry that the quality of extra bed was not up to your expectation.

On the other hand, thank you so much for your positive comments on the cleanliness and maintenance of our guestroom, service delivered by our receptionists and the hotel’s location. We sincerely wish that you could give us one more chance when you are visiting Hong Kong again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well the hotel is functional.. I gather it is owned by the YMCA but dont let that put you off. Ask for a harbour view- if you get the rooms on the other side there is a forbidding grey wall about four feet away. The view is good from the front. Breakfast is average.. the orange juice tastes like orange squash. The staff while they don't smile alot are helpful. Ideally located about five minutes walk from the convention center... I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Phone them before you go and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesHS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.com.

Yes you are correct. The Harbourview is an affiliate of Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. We provide excellent service and facilities for our guests and the earning generated from the hotel is used to support the social services of Chinese YMCA.

We are happy that you appreciated the location of the hotel and thank you for recommending our harbour view rooms. Please note that over half of our rooms possess a stunning view over the Victoria Harbour. Constrained by the hotel’s location, unavoidably, some of our rooms do face a grey wall of the next building. We have been trying our best to offset this weakness with our strengths like our prime location and well-maintained guestrooms.

Your comment on the helpful service delivered by our staff is appreciated. Please be informed that continuous trainings are offered to ensure friendly and efficient services are provided by our frontline staff.

Thank you again for your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February for a week. The location is very ideal. It is located in Wan Chi District right by the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition centre. A few minutes walk to the IFC mall on the left and on right to the Victoria park. From the hotel front door you can take the walk bridge to the small park then to the expo drive and you will have an amazing view of the HK skyline and it is a great place to view the symphony of lights which comes on at 8pm every night. If you have a chance take the ferry from the convention and exhibition center across the water to Tsim Sha Tsui promenade ( about 10 minutes ride ) you will have a magnificent view of the whole skyline of HK at the symphony of lights show.
The hotel lobby and restaurant's decor is modern and slick with a bit of chines decor. The rooms are though very ordinarily. Rooms are very small sort of expected being HK but it still needs improvement. Bed is hard, bed headboard is stained, Carpet is satined, bath tub is very small, closet space is very minimal, furniture is old and not very appealing. But the view from our 18th floor room facing the Harbor compensated our mediocre room.
Breakfast was fair. There were a few choices of Chinese and Continental breakfast.
Service was excellent at the front desk as well as the concierge. Restaurant service was not so great.
They have 2 computers by the lobby for free internet use . You can also use pay WIFI through out the hotel. I used the 7 days wifi and i believe it was 300 HKD.
Transportation is very convenient. you can walk literally to everywhere ( walk bridge makes it even more convenient and fun) If you need taxi there is a taxi stand right by the front door of the hotel and there are a few taxis readily available almost always. If you are heading back to the hotel in a taxi, make sure your driver knows the location of this hotel. We were dropped off at Radisson Harbourview hotel a few times. Tell the driver The Harbourview hotel at Wan Chi district.
From the airport you can take the train to the IFC which is very convenient and very fast. From IFC you can take a taxi ( about 10 minutes ride ). If you need to take a shuttle bus to the airport form the hotel the hotel can arrange it for you and you just have to book it a day before. I recommend it only because the ride was fun and we were able to see the outskirts of HK we would have not been able to see on our own. Have a great time.

Room Tip: Take the higher floor rooms facing the harbor for breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for writing a detailed comment on TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and satisfied with our convenient location, nearby attractions, transportation network, the stunning harbour view and the service delivered by our Front Desk staff and Concierge team members. Besides, we are happy that you appreciated the design of the hotel lobby and restaurant, and that you enjoyed the airport shuttle bus trip.

Our guestrooms and bathrooms are not big in size if compared with other hotels in Hong Kong, however, as you have mentioned, these weaknesses are compensated by our prime location and stunning harbour view.

Your comment on the hard bed is well noted. Please be informed that we can provide mattress topper for guests who prefer sleeping on softer mattress. Please drop us an e-mail at reservation@theharbourview.com.hk and let us know your name and period of stay, so that we can have a better arrangement for your next visit.

Regarding the Internet issue, please note that the hotel offers free internet access to guests who make reservation with us directly. For details, please contact our Reservation Department via e-mail: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk.

We would like to take this chance to apologize for the cleanliness and the service you have encountered in the guestroom and restaurant respectively. We have raised these issues to our Housekeeping and Food and Beverage department, they will look into this matter in depth to strive for improvement.

Thank you again for sharing your comment. We will keep up the good work definitely and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you are looking for a bed for the night on Hong Kong Island and don't want to pay much more than USD100 then the Harbour View may be a good option. The rooms are well maintained and clean. The walls are a little thin but at at this price point that is not really grounds for complaint. About ten minutes walk from Pacific Place and Admiralty MTR station, Wanchai Restaurants and bars are a short walk away. HKD25 cab ride to Central.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.com and we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the location, price and cleanliness of The Harbourview.

Thanks again for your positive words and we look forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here in June 2012, as my boyfriend stays here when he visits for work. As it's not a 5* hotel, it's very reasonably priced. The room was lovely, well-kept and clean. We did pay a little more for a harbour-view room as it was my first time in Hong Kong and we wanted to make the most of it. Staff were helpful, I never ate there so can't comment on the food. It's a short walk to restaurants, shops and metro station. Easy enough to catch a cab outside on the street. would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a nice enough hotel in Hong Kong. Only thing missing for me as I wasn't working while there is a pool, but as it wasn't sunny I didn't miss it that much!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a harbourview room, view is AMAZING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychopathbabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking your time writing us a valuable piece of compliment. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our reasonable price, convenient location, cleanliness of guestrooms, helpful staff and the stunning harbour view.

We will keep up the good work definitely and we wish that we could have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#126 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#127 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#122 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourview Hong Kong

Property: The Harbourview Hong Kong
Address: No.4 Harbour Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbourview Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Harbourview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour View International House Hong Kong
Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing