We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$59
View deal
Expedia.com
$52
View deal
Priceline
$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/28/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$52
Tripadvisor$52
travelup.com$84
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,649)
Filter reviews
1,649 results
Traveler rating
290
783
420
92
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
783
420
92
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wan chai harbour view exhibition centre harbourview room room rate convention mtr hkcec kowloon station concierge renaissance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,649 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

THE GOOD

- LOCATION - Excellent if visiting the Exhibition Centre, literally across the road.
- STAFF - Friendly front desk and helpful Concierge.
- VIEW - Great if staying in a harbour view room on higher floors.

THE BAD

- VIEW (OR LACK OF) AT BACK OF HOTEL - Do NOT take a room at the back of hotel, totally agree with other members that the view of mouldy concrete walls is very depressing. Rooms are also overlooked by offices so unless you like being watched, it's curtains closed come day or night. Definitely pay for a harbour view room or go elsewhere.
- ROOM SIZE - Small but expected as it's Hong Kong!
- BATH - If you request a room with a bath, don't expect it to be anywhere near full size, it's more like a deep shower tray.
- RESTAURANT - Rather small food portions and menu is limited. Staff in the restaurant not as friendly and less accommodating than front of house.

Overall, it was fit for purpose on a business trip but as a holiday hotel and/or if you were spending quite a bit of time in the hotel, personally I would go elsewhere.

Room tip: Pay for a harbour view!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globeman235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Sir /Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.com and we are delighted to know that you are satisfied with our convenient location, stunning harbour view and friendly service delivered by our front desk staff and concierge team members. Besides, we are happy that you would recommend our hotel to business travelers.

Regarding the drawbacks of The Harbourview, our guestrooms and bathrooms are both not big in size if compared with other hotels, however we have been trying our best to offset these weaknesses with our reasonable price and location.

For the moldy concrete wall of the next building, we can do nothing about it as the building is not our property. However, please note that over half of our guestrooms face another side with a view over the Victoria Harbour, and you might consider staying in one of these rooms during your next visit.

We would like to take this chance to apologize for the service and food quality you have experienced in the restaurant, please be assured that your words would be taken seriously and would be communicated to our Food and Beverage team for improvement.

Thank you again for your comment and we sincerely wish that you could give us a second chance when you come to Hong Kong again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

everything was perfect with my stay at harbourview. it's situated in a perfect location.the metro is close ( 5 min ) walk the staff was really helpfull. rooms are really clean and perfect sized ( for 2 persons ). the breakfast is wonderful, you have a wide selection of food, asian as well western. it's just the perfect place to stay if your in hk for a couple of days.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank platonalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for writing us a valuable piece of positive comment. We are happy to learn that you are satisfied with our guestroom, location, service and breakfast buffet. We will keep up the good work and strive for higher service standard definitely.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband & I spent 4 nights here and no complaints. Room was fine and location was great. More the business district than tourist but very handy to harbour, Star ferry and Metro. Plenty of good eateries, arcades etc close by. Everything within couple minutes walking distance. Breakfast was good value - my husband gave it a big thumbs up. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dennmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for writing us a valuable piece of positive comment. We are glad that you are satisfied with our guestroom, location, transportation network and breakfast buffet. We will keep up the good work and strive for higher service standard definitely.

Thank you again for your positive words and we look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way back to Japan via Hong Kong. The room was quite large for Hong Kong standards and the service at the hotel was excellent. Everyone who worked there seemed to have a smile on their face. The concierge was incredibly helpful and recommended a good Dim Sum restaurant close to the hotel to us.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theovanightsensation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for writing us a valuable piece of positive comment. We are glad that you are satisfied with the room size and service standard of the hotel. Kindly note that your compliment on the Concierge team will be communicated to the team and we will keep up the good work definitely.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Seriously, if like me your employer won't pay the few $ extra for the claimed harbour view then stay elsewhere whatever it takes. 50% of the rooms are at the back and have just a view of a very mouldy concrete wall a few feet away, along with interminal and all-night noise from the adjacent buildings' air conditioning. You can't turn the noise off, because it's another building's noise. While the Star Ferry is still running, about 15 minutes' walk away the hotel is well located, but after 10.50pm when the ferry stops, the hotel is an absolute nightmare to get back to, being a business/conference hotel miles away from anywhere civilised. Breakfast would be good, if they ever managed to keep things like the hash browns topped up and available. Security is poor, with anyone able to just walk in off the street and take the lift to whichever floor they like, as I just did unchallenged at 4am. Incidentally 4am is probably the only time of day that the lift service is reasonable, at the moment they have one lift fixed permanently out of use for the month while it gets fitted with eco light bulbs or something, leading to 10 minute waits each morning. Internet service is frustrating relative to the rest of Hong Kong, with frequent unavailability despite the high cost, and the need to put different passwords in each day, and the inability to use more than once device at a time - years behind the times. But worst of all is that view. of the concrete wall, for this and the remote location I'm going to have to recommend to my employer that they find somewhere else to put their visiting staff. Oh I almost forgot - the TV in the room. Not joking but it is the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel, ever. Management seriously need to take a few steps up the road to Wan Chai and they can probably buy a truck load of sensible/modern sized TVs and sort out each room for the cost of just a few guests' single nights stay. Ludicrous to still find such a tiny TV in a serious business hotel's rooms, this side of 2000.

Room tip: Probably stay somewhere else, like the Rennaisance Harbour View two minutes down the road.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonLeMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing us a detailed comment on TripAdvsior.com. It is always important to get the feedback from our guests so that we could make improvement accordingly.

The Harbourview has been making every possible effort to improve the service standard and provide a better environment for the guests. Lift suspension for installing energy saving device and LCD TV is one of the evidence that we are trying to improve our facilities. Please feel free to contact our frontline staff for assistance at anytime during your stay and our staff members are more than happy to offer you help.

We understand that the neighboring area is a business area and it is really quiet in the nighttime, therefore you might consider catching a taxi or taking MTR back to the hotel to ensure your safety after the ferry service ended at 10:50pm. Your comment on our hotel security is well noted. To ensure our guest’s safety, our security team members are well trained and they would alert if there is any suspected strangers in the hotel. Besides, there are CCTV cameras all around the hotel and the cameras are closely monitored by our Security Department 24 hours a day. Concerned department has been reminded again to pay attention on this aspect.

Regarding the internet service, installation of new broadband cables on guest floors is in progress, the speed and stability of network connectivity will both be enhanced after the installation. In addition, we offers free internet access for guest who makes reservation with our hotel directly. For details, please contact our Reservation Department (E-mail: reservation@theharbourview.com.hk).

Kindly also be informed that we are replacing the small in-room televisions with larger screen TVs in our guestrooms in different phases and this process will be completed by March 2013.

Regarding the view, please note that over half of our guestrooms face the Victoria Harbour and please understand that it is very rare for a hotel in Hong Kong to have harbour view in every of its guestrooms. For the moldy concrete wall and noise from air-conditioning of the next building, you are correct that we can do nothing about these problems, however, we have been trying to offset these weaknesses with our reasonable price and location.

Your comment about the slow refilling of food items during breakfast is well noted too. We have raised this issue to our Food and Beverage team for improvement.

Please be assured that your suggestions and comments would be taken seriously and the management will look into the matters in depth to strive for improvement and higher service standard. Thank you very much for taking your time writing us the feedbacks and improvement would be made definitely. We sincerely wish that you could give us a chance during your next visit to Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews