We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$75
View deal
Expedia.com
$86
View deal
Agoda.com
$68
View deal
Priceline$92
Hotels.com$86
The Harbourview$115
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,648)
Filter reviews
1,649 results
Traveler rating
290
783
420
92
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
783
420
92
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wan chai harbour view exhibition centre harbourview room room rate convention mtr hkcec kowloon station concierge renaissance convenience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
909 - 914 of 1,649 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the hotel during a two day business trip to Hong Kong. Overall, my experience with the hotel was quite good and that includes the room, the service, the location and the breakfast; especially given the price.
The hotel is situated near the convention center, but it is easy to get from there to most places of interest, both in Hong Kong and Kowloon. Some can be reached by foot, but subway stations are also nearby and so is a ferry terminal for crossing over to Kowloon.
The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny, but then again, this is in Hong Kong. The room was quite adequate overall, but a larger desk and a larger bathroom would have made it nicer. More importantly, it was clean and everything worked.
The service was very good and delivered quickly with a friendly attitude. Any requests for help and recommendations were met with a positive attitude.
The breakfast was good; plenty of reasonable food of various kinds, including made-to-order omelets, Chinese food, Western food and actually more.
Going to Hong Kong, I would definitely consider this hotel again.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EagleFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are glad to know that you appreciate our hotel's convenient location, facilities and cleanliness in the guestroom as well as the friendly services rendered by our professional team. Your positive comment on our breakfast buffet is also a facilitator for us to perform even better.

It is always encouraging to receive positive feedback from our guests and this makes us strive for better service continuously. Once again, thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed five nights in this hotel and was very happy about it. It is a standard type of hotel that you can find anywhere in the world; excellent for business trips or sight seeing/ shopping in Hong Kong, but not a place you want to spend time in other than that (but hey, it is Hong Kong, why would you want to spend a day in the hotel?). The location is great, close to Central, Kowloon, by the water and reasonably close to a metro station. The room I had was spotlessly clean every day and surprisingly spacious (the rooms are designed so you have extra windows, day light and space).
The staff at the reception were all very correct, but in general there was a distinctive lack of charm or genuine friendliness. The doormen and restaurant staff faired much better in my opinion.
Conclusion is: I would consider using it next time in Hong Kong (location, cleanliness and rooms), but because it was very impersonal I would also look for other options. Basically, if you stay there you won't regret but soon you'll forget it.

Room tip: Rooms on the back may not have a harbour view, but they are very quiet (apart from A/C unit noise)
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your time for writing us such a positive review. We are happy to learn that you appreciate our hotel’s convenient location and nearby attractions. It is also very encouraging to have your compliments on our room cleanliness. For your comment regarding the staff service standard, we have taken your advice and will look into the matters in depth to strive for improvement.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in your next trip to Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment although it was not too disruptive. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable (excepting the beds were extremely HARD) and the bathroom was adequate, it was somewhere to stay while we explored Hong Kong and Kowloon.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelliatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvsior.com. It is good to know that you are satisfied with our friendly service and cleanliness of our guestrooms.

Your comment made on the bed is well noted. Please be informed that we can provide a topper on the mattress for travelers who prefer sleeping on softer mattress. Please kindly drop us an e-mail at marketing@theharbourview.com.hk and let us know your name and period of your previous stay, so that we can make proper arrangement during your next stay with us.

Thank you again for your comment and look forward to serving you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We recently spent 5 days at this Hotel knowing that the rooms would be small but not knowing that their renovations had not been completed. It was advertised to be finished by August. When we arrived there was no front entrance, no lobby, nowhere to sit, no bar. We felt confined to our room at night as there was nowhere else to go and as we were travelling with family we had nowhere to meet up with them to have a drink etc other than our tiny room. Our room faced directly onto a sheer concrete wall of another building which was covered in moss and obscured much of the light in our room. The meal rooms were unattractive and the service was poor. We arrived fairly late on our first night and there was no one in the restaurant which we thought a bit odd. It took forever to get a meal and five of us had finished our meals when the sixth meal finally arrived. The lift to the dining room closed prematurely and on one occasion hit me on the elbow quite hard. Very unpleasant. The buffet breakfast was limited and catered more to the Asian guests. No such thing as a good coffee and all milk was UHT from packets! Yuk! I think the management could and should have done more to make up for the disgraceful disruption caused by the renovations. Very disappointing and we would never go back!

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Sir,

We are sorry to learn that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectation.

The Harbourview has been making every possible effort to improve the service standard and provide a better environment for the guests. However, we have to admit that the renovation works had caused to you inconvenience during your stay.

We would like to take this chance to apologize for the service and food variety you had experienced in the restaurant, please be assured that your comment would be taken seriously and be communicated to our Food and Beverage team for improvement.

The management would spend more effort to ensure timely and intensive trainings are provided to the frontline staff so that they could handle these matters more professionally.

Once again, thank you very much for taking your time writing us the feedbacks. We will take your words seriously and improvement would be made definitely. We sincerely wish that you could give us a second chance during your next visit to Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Please don't mistake this hotel for the Renaissance Harbourview, they are two very different hotels. This one has very small rooms (nowhere to store your luggage!), limited views, tiny bathrooms. We had to change rooms upon check in as there was a terrible, stuffy, smell in the first room. It is not a very well thought out design and I am sure they get many customs that mistake it from the Renaissance Harbourview around the corner. I will post some photos to show the room, which had a tv screen smaller than my computer screen!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billysiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHarbourview, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Sir, thank you very much for sharing comment on your stay with The Harbourview.

Thank you for raising the issue of similar names between our brand and the Renaissance Harbour View Hotel on the same street. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused but please understand that we are unable to alter the name of either our hotel or another.

Comparing with other hotels, our guestroom and bathroom are both not big in size, however, we are trying our best to offset this weakness with our prime location and courteous service. Regarding the smell and the ventilation in the guestroom, we have briefed the housekeeping and engineering team to improve the overall standard.

In fact, we are replacing the small in-room televisions with new ones with larger screen in all our guestrooms in different phases and this process is expected to be completed by March 2013.

We sincerely wish that you would offer us another opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews