We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise, cold and sigarette smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #113 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days during Christmas and New Year period. Hotel is well positioned with eazy access to restaurants, MRT and Kowloon markets. Shuttle bus to TST is a good idea. Housekeeping stuff were very friendly. However, this is where the positives end. Sigarette smoke coming through the airconditioning system was a real issue. Sound insulation between rooms was really poor and we were constantly woken up by noise from other rooms. We also had to ring reception a number of times to get them to turn off the music playing through the speakers in the hallway. On top of it all, the hotel did not honour the rate which was booked via Booking.com. We'll be back to Hong Kong shortly, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtphk, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Michael K

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valuable comments. We believe that quality services shall not only rely on the effort of hotel itself, but also the "voices of our customers" like yours. And certainly, your comments are of great value to our improvement.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the smell of cigarette in the room. It was probably caused by other guests staying at your floor. Our housekeeping staff will look into the matter and monitor closely to ensure a fresh environment. Moreover, we have planned to renovate our guest rooms from floor to floor, taken into account enhancing the sound proof.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We chose this hotel as we could use Avios to book it. We had no problems with check-in or the restaurant or our room. Breakfast was fine with a choice of cereals, pastries, hot items (including Chinese dumplings and rice), toast, fruit, yoghurt, juice, etc, as well as an egg chef who would make fried eggs or omelettes on demand. The heated rooftop swimming pool was fine. We were the first guests to arrive there on Christmas morning and had the pool to ourselves. Lovely!

However, we did have two complaints. The lifts were very slow and despite being four of them we always had to wait as they were often too full to take more guests. Several times we walked down the emergency staircase. Luckily we were only on the 4th floor! A couple of times our room had a smoky smell. Once we actually looked out into the corridor to check there wasn't a fire and the alarm was about to go off because the smell was that strong! But we think it was just filtering through a vent from a room either below, above or adjacent to us. Not good when we were staying in a no smoking room.

It was 10-15 minutes walk to Mong Kok metro station depending on time of day. Mornings were OK but afternoons/evenings the pavements were packed with people too busy playing with their electronic gadgets to look where they were going! We found our own way to/from the airport as when we enquired about the free shuttle we were told by the concierge there was a charge of 110 per person and it had to be booked 24 hours in advance.

There is a Wellcome supermarket opposite the hotel and a mini-market on the corner.

The hotel was OK but glad we didn't pay the going rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtphk, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Maruba

Thank you very much for staying with us recently. Your valuable comments are very much appreciated and the comments enhance the achievement of our ultimate goal to make every of our guests' stay a pleasurable one.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the smell of smoke in the room. It was probably caused by other guests staying at your floor. Our housekeeping staff will look into the matter and monitor closely to ensure a fresh environment.

In order to upgrade the service performance of guest elevators, we will replace them by those with eco-friendly system. Therefore, there will be one unit of elevators temporarily suspended at each time and it caused the delay of elevator services. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, the location was really off. The closest station was Yau Ma Tei MTR which took a good 10 minutes walk and if you know the way well. Other than that, the popular Ladies Market is within good walking distance from the hotel. Secondly, despite what some other reviewers said, there is no free wifi in the room and we had to either use it in the lobby or assess it if we are lucky enough to tap on somebody's computer. Lastly, the hotel is really old with dated furniture and a faded feel.

Nevertheless, I have to give a thumbs up to the hotel staff! The concierge, front desk staff and even all the room service ladies are always happy to help and extremely polite and friendly. The staff of this hotel really made the experience more worthwhile

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NeemandMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtphk, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear amethystam

Thank you for staying with us recently. To make our hotel your best choice in terms of both facilities and services, renovation work on certain guest floors has just been complete.. Hopefully, you will see our improvement soon.

We are sorry that the free WIFI service is temporarily available in most of the guest rooms, restaurant outlets, and lobby only. In fact, we target to implement the high-speed line for WIFI service to all guests room. In the meantime, we have routers lending to guest upon request. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

With the heartfelt thanks, we are very much appreciated your compliments to our staff. We will maintain our professional service to ensure every of our guest stays a pleasurable one.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed there in early December 2013.

The room facing the rear was reasonable and very clean. The service was excellent. The shuttle bus was easy both to and from the ferry port and is effectively a free taxi which was nice.

Only dissatisfaction was that our room was near the lift which was very noisy throughout the night.

Room Tip: Room in the rear away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtphk, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear nick h

Thank you very much for selecting to stay with us. We are very much appreciated your compliments to us. We will maintain our professional service to ensure every of our guest stays a pleasurable one.

Please accept our sincere apology for the noise of lift. Our engineering staff will look into the matter and monitor closely to ensure a comfortable environment. And, we have planned to renovate our guest rooms from floor to floor, taken into account enhancing the sound proof.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent free wifi in room that never failed. Very impressed. Great assistance by reception whenever I asked. Top housekeeping and my room was always properly cleaned and serviced. Stayed for 11 nights in a room on level 5 after refusing the upgrade offer to a higher floor (for more dollars). Was very happy where I was and can strongly recommend.

Room Tip: All the surrounding residential buildings are as high as the hotel or higher, so whatever level you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crocodillus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtphk, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear crocodillus

With the heartfelt thanks, we are very much appreciated your compliments to us. It is indeed a great encouragement to us. We will uphold our service standard to ensure our guests’ pleasurable stay.

Look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at metropark Kowloon for 4 nights - found the service good and rooms clean. Hotel staff were also pleasant and helpful. It was nice of the hotel to send an email before our arrival to inform us of the weather in HK. There is a direct shuttle bus from the Airport to the hotel which is convenient but travelling was a bit long as the bus dropped off passengers at other hotels along the way. The hotel itself provides frequent and regular (punctual too) shuttle bus service to the popular mongkok and tsim sha tsui locations which is very convenient as to walk to the MTR station takes about 15mins, the location around the hotel is nice and quiet but the down side is the lack of good eateries nearby. A final nice touch is the daily placement of choc mints to wish you good night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AikOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtphk, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear AikOng

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And, it’s a great encouragement to us that you are satisfied with our services and facilities.

We heartily thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

FREE wifi inside the room, i dont know why others still saying no wifi. The breakfast buffet ihas so many food choices, my daughter loved it . Free shuttle which is very convenient for us since we are a party of 6 and if we will take cab to TST it will really cost us a lot. There is a middle aged man at the lobby who appears to me as friendly and accomodating, i would really love to commend him. All in all our stay in HK is great since we have chosen to stay with this great place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princessrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtphk, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear princessrosh

Thank you very much for staying with us recently. With the heartfelt thanks, we are very much appreciated your compliments to us. It is indeed a great encouragement to us. We will do our best to ensure our guests’ stay a pleasure one.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#33 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,232 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#78 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,463 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#92 of 723 in Hong Kong
663 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,019 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Kowloon

Address: No. 75 Waterloo Road, MongKok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $78 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Kowloon near commercial and shopping areas, the hotel provides easy access to the main transportation network including subway and railway. Facilities include Chinese & Western restaurants, a bar, a rooftop swimming pool and health club. Airport shuttle and free hotel shuttle bus services are provided. Free broadband Internet access with unlimited usage in all guest rooms and wireless broadband access in hotel lobby and all restaurant outlets are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropark Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing