We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sideways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #115 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 5 times over the last 4 years. We use this hotel everytime we visit HK because it is the closest hotel within walking distance to our relative's place. We usually rent 2-3 rooms at a time when we come to visit. Our most recent stay was for two rooms for 8 days. The rates are relatively resonable and all of the hotel staff are friendly and can speak english well.

They have been "renovating" the hotel rooms for 4 years. In the past, we have had rooms where the AC didn't work well and even had one room where one of the walls was sweating. For this trip, we had a "renovated" room. The furniture was the same old furniture, they didn't bother to touch up the scratches, all they did was screw the drawers shut, don't know why? They took away the little coffee table and screwed a round top to the old dresser, making it a little desk. The bathroom was renovated with a newer shower and vanity. The old TV was replaced with an LED, but it was mounted to the wall and did not rotate to be viewed in the sitting area. For our stay, we could hear the construction (like it was right above us). They were using two hammer drills and other electric tools from 9am to 5pm every day, including Sunday. They had 4 elevators for the whole hotel but one was being repaired for our entire stay, This often resulted in very long line going up and; going down from the rooms long waits and sometimes when the elevator stops, you can't get on.

The rooms are not spotless, but relatively clean. The rugs could use a good cleaning though. The buffet has improved (recommend), the staff is still very good, the front desk is still slow and has not improved, the "renovated" rooms are essenitally the same, The air condition seems to be improved (fixed), the elevator situation was horrible,

This hotel is OK, if you don't expect too much, the "renovations" are just a partial facelift. The hotel has not really changed over time, it didn't go up nor did it go down, it just went sideways.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors, they seem to be cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YankeeInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark_Hotel_KLN, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear YankeeInVA

Thank you for your continuous support to the Metropark Hotel Kowloon and your valuable comments. We believe that quality services shall not only rely on the effort of hotel itself, but also the "voices of our customers" like yours. And certainly, your comments are of great value to our improvement.

We feel sorry for the experience that you have encountered. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise. We will monitor the noisy work closely during the renovation period to eliminate the affect to our guests. The renovation is expected to be completed by the end of November. Hopefully, you will see our improvement soon.

In order to upgrade the service performance of guest elevators, we will replace them by those with eco-friendly system. Therefore, there will be one unit of elevators temporarily suspended at each time and it caused the delay of elevator services. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Pros
1. We were upgraded to 'Suite'
2. Plenty of restaurants/cafes within walking distance
3. Also a supermarket across the street
4. Bus stops nearby

Cons
1. Filled with mainland Chinese
2. Typical small rooms of HK hotels despite 'Suite'
3. Very far from MTR & tourist attractions; need to rely on bus/taxi
4. This was the first place we stayed in HK; would not make the same mistake again

Room Tip: Better to choose Metropark Hotel Mongkok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweeteners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark_Hotel_KLN, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Sweeteners

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Your valuable comments are very much appreciated and the comments enhance the achievement of our ultimate goal to make every of our guests' stay a pleasurable one.

To facilitate the easy access to city centre, we provide free circular route shuttle bus service to Timshatsui via Mongkok by every 30 minutes.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I recently visited HK with 2 friends stayed for five nights at the Metropark. I had booked a room with 3 single beds and was pleasantly surprised to see that we had been upgraded to a suite. Staff were very friendly. Very nice bar area with live music. Breakfast was enjoyable. The rooftop pool, although had a great view, did not have much atmosphere about it. Transport was very convenient with only a very short walk to either the MTR or bus stop (both literally around the corner). Only took 20 minutes to the airport by taxi (admittedly there was no traffic at the time). There were some very nice restaurants in the area. Would definitely stay on HK Island again, although next time, would consider staying at Central, only for the nightlife (having said that, Central was only four stops away on the MTR). There were some very nice restaurants in the area. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark_Hotel_KLN, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Annette S

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And, it’s a great encouragement to us that you are satisfied with our services and facilities.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the hotel to be comfortable and relatively well located. Firstly, the room was quite large (by HK standards) so we didn't feel cramped. It was clean and came with the usual conveniences like a safe, LCD TV, hair dryer, kettle, etc. The shower was hot and had good pressure. Importantly there was free wi-fi in the room.

Location wise it wasn't right in the heart of Mongkok, that was about 5-10 mins walk away. But the hotel provides a very useful shuttle bus service, which runs regularly, that can take guests to Mongkok and Tsim Sha Tsui. Waterloo Rd itself isn't very lively, there are some shops nearby and round the corner (on Argyle Rd) there is a supermarket.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark_Hotel_KLN, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear jchong

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 Adults and 2 children) and we went to HK for a family holiday for 6 nights. The 1st 2 nights, we stayed at Hollywood Disneyland resort as we thought it will be convenient for the kids and us to come back to the hotel at night especially being Halloween night and all. Although the service was very professional, but as expected, Hollywood Disneyland Hotel was a money making scam. Everything is buy, buy, buy. We were drained by the spending and lack of personal touch and we couldn't wait to check out and get to the city.

We got to Metropark Kowloon Hotel at about 9:30am. We received a very warm welcome by the Guest Service Manager himself, Mr Keith Wu. Through our email correspondences beforehand, he acknowledged my husband birthday which was on that day itself. We had booked 2 interconnecting rooms and we were pleasantly surprise that both rooms were made ready for us at that time (when normal time for check in is 12pm or 2pm?) Mr Wu proceeded to gave us some information about where to go and places of interest. Check-in process was swift and we were taken to our rooms personally. Rooms were pretty standard with complete amenities. We had a double queen size bed for ourselves and the kids had 2 single beds in their room. We were pretty impressed as the room were extremely clean.
Later that evening, another lady staff by the name of 'Mirror', came to our room to deliver a complimentary birthday cake. She and another staff even sang for us when they served it. We were very touched and needless to say, hugely impressed with the service and personal touch this hotel had offered throughout our stay for eg. prompt delivery of ice bucket everyday, the helpful concierge, the turn-down chocolate mints every night, efficiency etc. Definitely will recommend this hotel to anyone with family, single traveller, business etc.
As for the hotel itself, although they provide shuttle service to Mongkok (Ladies market), we prefer to do the 7 mins walk and take it all it. Laundry mart is just around the corner and they are supermarkets and 7-11 to stock up on tidbits and drinks.
We enjoyed our stay so much and we will absolutely stay here again!
Thanks Metropark Kowloon for making our holiday a beautiful experience!

Room Tip: We had 2 corner interconnecting rooms, so its very quiet from people walking pass or doors of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark_Hotel_KLN, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Marlinda M

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our services and facilities.

With the heartfelt thanks, we are very much appreciated your compliments to us especially Keith and Mirror from our guest service team. Your praise has been passed to them immediately. It is indeed a great encouragement to our collective efforts, and, our ultimate goal is to ensure our guests' pleasurable stay. We will maintain our professional service to ensure every of our guest stays a pleasurable one.

We heartily thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for a night and it is indeed a good location. The hotel has free shuttle bus which drops u to ladies market and one of the mtr stations, dont quiet remember the name.
The rooms are decent and good for an overnight stay.
The best part is that the airport bus stops right in front of the hotel. This was very convenient as we had an early morning flight. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChunkyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark_Hotel_KLN, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear ChunkyTraveller

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the stay with us. It is indeed a great encouragement to our collective efforts, and, our ultimate goal is to ensure our guests' pleasurable stay.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is very nice one, with a good location. 20 minutes walk to the riverbanks. The staff is helpful. The rooms are small, but I understood that they are the same almost everywhere.
The food here was great: the breakfast with all choices you can imagine and the dinner...absolutely delicious. They have a kind of "all you can eat" with predominant sea food. Take it because it is the perfect choice if you want something different. The sea food is fresh, the sushi section was also perfect, and the main attractions - the crabs and lobsters - were cook in different ways, all delicious.
Next time I will stay here for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hteo531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropark_Hotel_KLN, General Manager at Metropark Hotel Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear hteo531

Thank you very much for selecting to stay with us. With the heartfelt thanks, we are very much appreciated your compliments to us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And, it’s a great encouragement to us that you are satisfied with our services and facilities.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,324 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#96 of 726 in Hong Kong
680 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#79 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,582 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 726 in Hong Kong
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Kowloon

Address: No. 75 Waterloo Road, MongKok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $89 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Kowloon near commercial and shopping areas, the hotel provides easy access to the main transportation network including subway and railway. Facilities include Chinese & Western restaurants, a bar, a rooftop swimming pool and health club. Airport shuttle and free hotel shuttle bus services are provided. Free broadband Internet access with unlimited usage in all guest rooms and wireless broadband access in hotel lobby and all restaurant outlets are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropark Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing