We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware a top floor room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #117 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“beware a top floor room”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

the rooms on the top floor of this otherwise acceptable hotel are incredibly noisy with clanging from the lift shaft a major problem throughout the night. It is situated a long way from the harbour area but thereis a free bus every half hour which mitigates this

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunterYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    889
    355
    61
    31
See reviews for
408
593
142
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southwest
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I 'm afraid this hotel could do with a serious revamp. Rooms seem tired, furniture scuffed, corners in the bathroom showing signs of wear and tear etc. I think you'll understand that whilst there is little to seriously moan about, this hotel "experience" lacked polish. Two years ago we stayed at the Royal Plaza in Mongkok for similar money and found there a level of excellence and attention to detail that is clearly lacking at Metropark. However, the staff were obliging and attentive and could have done very little more to please.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treecutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very Good Value for money..We booked bed only so had to buy breakfast which was excellent and not expensive..A bit far out but well worth a visit. Near markets. Tours from the hotel were also excellent..Staff very helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aileen194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel - will shop around next time as it is quite expensive but nevertheless covers most things we need when visiting HK. Hotel is situated on busy Waterloo Road with frequent buses to many locations - the hotel also has a regular mini bus to the Ladies Market and parks alongside the Peninsula Hotel near the ferry terminal - as it's free it's quite a plus. Breakfast is expensive but thankfully there are a few very cheap alternatives locally - the restaurant is good for an occasional evening meal and comparable with some local restaurants cost wise. The rooms themselves are surprisingly spacious considering how space is such a premium in HK. There is limited cupboard/drawer space but sufficient hanging space for most people - the rooms are a little dated but very clean - they tried to get me to upgrade to a recently refurbished room - but at 20GBP per night couldn't see the point as we were not spending much time in the room any way. Staff are very polite, efficient and very helpful too - if you need to print off your boarding pass just ask at reception! Hotel is within walking distance of Mongkok and the MTR and would suggest if you are there for a few nights purchase an Octop[us card that is good on most forms of transport and if you are over 65 get an Elder Card - wish I could get one in the UK! The hotel also has a roof terrace with swimming pool which unsurprisingly is closed January/February.

Room Tip: The higher the room the less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel is well located for local night markets which are a mere 10 minutes walk away, Nathan Road the main road is only 15 minutes walk away, however the hotel also runs a frequent shuttle bus which is useful although we never took advantage of this service. Rooms are small but well equipped and extremely clean with really comfortable beds, we had some of the best nights sleep here. Breakfast is a little pricey however it is buffet style and you can eat as much as you like, the food quality and choice is excellent which overall outweighed the cost. The hotel has a small but reasonably equipped gym which we took advantage of, great location on the rooftop along with the swimming pool, free wifi which was a must for us and a travel agent based in the lobby which we found to be really convenient for us to book local tours.
Shocked to read recent reviews where there have been reports of stale cigarette smoke, as non smokers we are quite susceptible to the smell and we certainly did not encounter this at all.
We had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel and would recommend to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wifeyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'd actually rate it half a star more than 3. My wife and I preferred being out of the frenetic centre of Hong Kong, where the narrow pavements are so crowded it's difficult to walk. And the hotel is only a short walk from the MRT, so everywhere is easily accessible. (Taxis are cheap and plentiful too - and there's a hotel shuttle bus.to downtown.) In our view the other advantage of its location is the number of good local restaurants; the noodle bars either side of the hotel are both excellent, and there are plenty more within a few minutes.
The decor is a wee bit tired, but our room was spaciuos, comfortable and clean, although the bathroom was on the small side. The rooftop pool area is very pleasant - but closed in Jan/Feb.
We stayed on one of the Executive floors, where it was very nice and quiet, and the bar/breakfast room was pleasant. Breakfast itself was good (apart from not-very-good coffee), with plenty of choice of both Eastern and European food. We didn't lunch or dine.in the hotel so can't comment on the food.
Every member of staff we encountered was extremely pleasant, courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: The higher Executive floors are well worth the small premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is not exactly located at the heart of bustling HK however there is a free shuttle to nearby prime locations(no shuttle back though). Room was clean and comfortable albeit a little too small for 3 people. Staff were quick and were able to converse in basic English. Hotel is also nearby a 7-eleven and some local bakeries.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachmeow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,346 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#83 of 718 in Hong Kong
445 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,900 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Kowloon

Property: Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Address: No. 75 Waterloo Road, MongKok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Kowloon near commercial and shopping areas, the hotel provides easy access to the main transportation network including subway and railway. Facilities include Chinese & Western restaurants, a bar, a rooftop swimming pool and health club. Airport shuttle and free hotel shuttle bus services are provided. Free broadband Internet access with unlimited usage in all guest rooms and wireless broadband access in hotel lobby and all restaurant outlets are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropark Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing