We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well past it - avoid!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropark Hotel Kowloon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #107 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well past it - avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

OK, the positives - there is a free shuttle service to the city (when they can be bothered to stop and pick you up on your return) and the food selection in the restaurant is good.

Now the negatives - the hotel is simply stuck in the 1970s. Poor decor, tired, ancient furniture, stale cigarette smoke even in a non-smoking room, awful music playing in the corridors, small rooms and beds, a closed swimming pool, and a staff attitude also stuck in the 1970s.

Avoid this hotel, spend a little more and get a hotel closer to town. Trust me, it will be worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    855
    340
    57
    31
See reviews for
393
570
137
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Needs a bit of updating but it proved fine for five nights mixed business and vacation. I was on 18th floor and I think the higher the better as the rooms are lighter and quieter. Pool was shut for maintenance!

It did not smell of cigarette smoke! I thought some of the other reviewers were rather harsh, and of course commenting on `raving screaming` tourists from mainline China as by another commentator is inappropriate. It makes me question the judgment of the writer if they can write such offensive comments.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was my accommodation with my Mum for 4 days. It certainly is a downside of any other hotel I have stayed in in other parts of Asia. You get what you pay for and were were doing it on the cheap. My home bedroom is larger than our whole room. It was very small, dated and old. In dire need of a renovate. Having said that, we were comfy enough.
We didn't use the hotel for anything other than sleep, just a few doors down was a fabulous restaurant called Teresas that did for us. Breakfasts were egg & bacon for about HK$30 and dinner a little more. The hotel buffet for one, which was very ordinary was HK$130 ea.
Shuttle bus was a bonus but that was all.
If there was a next time, I would stay closer to the main action and spend a little more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseyj1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel to be a good value, I booked through STA travel. The check in process was a bit long because there were so many ppl checking in but despite our complex arrangements things went smoothly. We got a voucher for one free breakfast at the hotel and we used it for kicks: its not necessary! Unless you travel for the hotel just venture up and down the block, there's a dim sum place, a bakery, a supermarket, and a bbq pork place. We walked to the train most days or took the bus down Nathan road to the ferry or promenade.
Its a great location in my opinion, i've never experienced hk before this and was happy to be somewhat away from the tourist hot spots. As a nyer I laugh at those who stay in times square so why would I have done the equivalent in hk?! I would stay there again, as soon as I get funds for a plane ticket.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilbdaycakesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked standard rooms for a 6 night family trip in January 2013; on arrival we were allocated twins when doubles had been requested and the rooms were so disappointing (more 2 star than 4 star) that we upgraded to superior rooms at extra cost. These were an improvement, with good showers, but still not worth more than HK$1200 a night. Some rooms stank of stale cigarette smoke. The sound insulation between floors and rooms is poor, and the hotel is located on a very busy road, so not recommended for light sleepers.

The reception staff were terminally slow, but restaurant and housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast buffet was quite varied and good quality, but only good value if you ate a lot. We did not eat in the restaurant as there were many very good value small places to eat nearby, especially on Victoria Road.

The location of the hotel was good for us, with access to the New Territories via Mongkok East MTR (10mins) and downtown Kowloon via Mongkok MTR (15mins). The hotel shuttle bus to Tsim Sha Tsui was also useful.

Overal the standard of the rooms and noise levels meant that we would not choose to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here choose rooms at the back of the hotel, which are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salmo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed in the Metropark Kowloon for 6 nights in January 2013.
If you don't have a sense of smell - if your idea of a great hotel is that it has a chandelier and a waterfall in the reception, and you don't mind what the rooms are like - then this may be the perfect hotel for you. I would not stay here again.

* First impressions: not great.

Check-in took a very long time: there was no queue, staff just seemed to be extremely slow.
There was no hot water in the hotel for the first day/night due to "routine maintenance" - may be a minor issue but not what I wanted to hear after a 12-hour flight.

* Rooms STINK, are noisy, standard rooms in need of refurbishment.

The immediate impression of my standard room on the 18th floor was the overwhelming smell of musty, stale cigarette smoke. The room was tired, it looked like it had seen better days and overlooked a very busy road.
I was upgraded to a deluxe room on the (non-smoking) 5th floor - at a cost of $HK 200+ extra per night. This room was a lot better furnished and located at the back of the hotel - away from the road and traffic noise, however unfortunately it was very badly soundproofed as I could hear every noise made in the corridor outside - people talking, doors closing etc.
The worst bit however was the smell. In the evening, cigarette smoke would slowly seep into my room until I'd wake up in the middle of the night gagging from the smell of smoke. As a result I had to keep my bathroom light/fan on constantly throughout the night, every night. Even so, there was an ever-present stench of stale smoke in the (non-smoking) room and corridors - the exception was when room service had been around - I'm guessing they may spray some kind of odour-freshener that wears off after a while.

* The star facility - the rooftop pool - shut for 2 months.

I went up to the 19th floor a few times to try the rooftop pool, but it appeared to be closed. After enquiring I was told that it was shut for 2 months. I was not told this on check in - this is very poor as this was one of the reasons I wanted to stay in this hotel.

* Location: not fantastic.

As mentioned, the hotel is located on a very, very busy road (Waterloo Road). It's 10 mins walk to Mong Kok East and 15 mins+ walk to Mong Kok station. The shuttle bus is handy, but goes a long winding route that stops at 2 stops only: all passengers for Tim Sha Tsui are driven to Mong Kok first and then round in a circle back past the hotel before going to Tim Sha Tsui. The free shuttle bus is not a unique feature of this hotel, as you will see at Tim Sha Tsui many, many hotels in HK offer this service.

* Breakfast: overpriced.

Breakfast buffet seems about average, with both Chinese and western options: there is a good selection of pastries, and a guy who cooks eggs on demand which is a bit of a novelty. However unless you eat lots of food the charge for breakfast is quite extortionate. There are many good value bakeries in the area where you can get some nice pastries at a fraction of the price. If you want to sit-in somewhere for a coffee, there's a Starbucks on Victory Road. I didn't eat other meals in the hotel - they appeared to be expensive and there is no lack of places to eat nearby.

* Internet connection is flaky.

The internet connection in the room was very flaky and kept disconnecting every couple of minutes. Wifi is provided for free in reception so everyone gathers here in the mornings with their phones and tablets giving the place an air of a youth hostel rather than a star rated hotel which is not a great impression.

* Negative aspects of the hotel far outweigh the few good points.

There are a few good points: I found room service staff very friendly, they always said Hi. A free newspaper is delivered each morning to your room (except on the day you check out!), and on turn-down you get a card with the next day's weather report, with a couple of mint chocolates, which is a nice touch. Bottles of complimentary water are provided in the room - these are needed as tap water in the hotel is not drinkable. Deluxe rooms are quite well furnished (standard rooms aren't), shower was good and water warm (once the hot water had been turned back on after the first day...). As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is in a good location for visiting the Ladies Market.

However, these few good points do NOT outweigh the many bad points by any means.

Although it's cheaper than other hotels, I don't think it's good value for money. I'd avoid this hotel and would choose to stay elsewhere next time I visit HK.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are away from the busy road (although asking for one doesn't guar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very basic hotel room, not very welcoming. Situated on a busy street in Kowloon (that said, where isn’t it busy in Hong Kong…), 30 min. walk to harbour area. Breakfast: continental, with a lot of local options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank R0bbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#25 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#93 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#120 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#106 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Hotel Kowloon

Property: Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Address: No. 75 Waterloo Road, MongKok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#88 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Kowloon near commercial and shopping areas, the hotel provides easy access to the main transportation network including subway and railway. Facilities include Chinese & Western restaurants, a bar, a rooftop swimming pool and health club. Airport shuttle and free hotel shuttle bus services are provided. Free broadband Internet access with unlimited usage in all guest rooms and wireless broadband access in hotel lobby and all restaurant outlets are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Metropark Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Hong Kong
Metropark Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing