We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #127 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Like many of the reviews, this hotel is in a great location. The staff are very unreceptive to guest needs or requests. I called for an iron to be brought to my room 3 times not to mention a trip to the front desk which also did not work. It took me grabbing a lady from housekeeping to get it for me. My room was always cleaned and the bedding was changed daily. The building/rooms themselves are becoming worn and could use a renovation. The breakfast buffet was decent just ran a bit late for my schedule. The Empire Hotel my get my business again in the future if they can get their customer service under control.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baka_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 903 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

the hotel experience makes up of different things. this hotel has possibly the most unfriendly reception ever in hong kong. many hotels make up for the rude reception with efficiency, but not here. they are just plain rude. the lobby itself is quite nice, but that's about it. once u go up the elevator, that's the end of the nice decor.
one of the elevators closes so fast that a lot of people had their belonging trapped. quite hazardous. we were given the room right next to the housekeeping, and it was quite noisy. but that's understandable. what's worse and dangerous was that they kept the service trolley on the hallway. this certainly would be extremely dangerous in the event of fire or an emergency. the trolley basically block access to the hall way.
breakfast was in the basement and wasn't that bad actually. nothing else was memorable though.
for business folks, don't expect any flexibility at this hotel. check in and check out is sharp on the dot, no excuse given. if u leave the bag at the hotel overnight, it's 10HK$ per bag :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have been staying in this hotel for over 15 years because of its proximity to HK Convention Centre .The demise of HK by the rise of China is perfectly reflected in this hotel every time I stay here ,and this was last time I would,in last couple of years .The China grioup tours has spelled doom for the guests from other areas to this hotel as the staff is happy servicing Chinese speaking no-complaining group tours guests .We checked at 11 and were told to come back at 2 p.m. despte request for early check in and being such loyal 15 year plus old staying guests .At 2 we were asked for reporting at 4 then 5 then 6 and finally had to create a ruckus caused by waiting for nearly 7 hours and were given double bed room instead of twin room requested ..on complaining were shifted to another room only to realise the in room safe not working .On complaining were told we will have to change room for this next day ...we decided we will change our hotel from next visit .

Room Tip: choose other hotels nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilgrim_gsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Empire on a recent business trip to Hong Kong. It is in a very good location for both business and exploring the island.
The staff were all very helpful and attentive. The rooms were small and the glass bathrooms a little quirky but it was comfortable.
There were occasional influxes of Chinese tourists who flooded the foyer and took over all the seating areas.

Room Tip: Take a high room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Empire Hotel during a business trip. The Hotel is ideal to stay overnight but not to enjoy the services. The Breakfast is quite limited and very small business corner.
The rooms are neat, but rather small for the standard ones.
However, its central location in Wanchai is perfect to explore the Island. I would recommend it for short stay and when you don't come there to get spiled by Hotel services, but to enjoy the area and the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric_Thiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here while attending a conference recently and found it conveniently located, if you are prepared to overlook the occasional local lady of the night or Western drunk. There were a few sports bars and pubs where Westerners (mainly men) frequented, and so I wouldn't really recommend it for families based on its location - try the Causeway Bay version of the Empire a few kms up the road. But for open-minded adults it was fine, with good room service and complementary, good quality buffet breakfast.
But what gives with the bathroom door? They need to replace the inward opening doors with sliders, as it made manoeuvring in the small bathroom impossible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

great location and nice hotel which great staff. stayed there a few times so would recommend. very close to MTR and fairy service. the rooms are small and the bathroom very small but not uncommon in HK but was good value found the staff ok. close to main shopping area on hon kong island

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roscoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#74 of 723 in Hong Kong
142 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 723 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#72 of 723 in Hong Kong
994 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#192 of 723 in Hong Kong
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $111 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing