We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most indifferent, unfriendly reception ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #121 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“most indifferent, unfriendly reception ever”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

the hotel experience makes up of different things. this hotel has possibly the most unfriendly reception ever in hong kong. many hotels make up for the rude reception with efficiency, but not here. they are just plain rude. the lobby itself is quite nice, but that's about it. once u go up the elevator, that's the end of the nice decor.
one of the elevators closes so fast that a lot of people had their belonging trapped. quite hazardous. we were given the room right next to the housekeeping, and it was quite noisy. but that's understandable. what's worse and dangerous was that they kept the service trolley on the hallway. this certainly would be extremely dangerous in the event of fire or an emergency. the trolley basically block access to the hall way.
breakfast was in the basement and wasn't that bad actually. nothing else was memorable though.
for business folks, don't expect any flexibility at this hotel. check in and check out is sharp on the dot, no excuse given. if u leave the bag at the hotel overnight, it's 10HK$ per bag :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    397
    242
    70
    38
See reviews for
79
133
74
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have been staying in this hotel for over 15 years because of its proximity to HK Convention Centre .The demise of HK by the rise of China is perfectly reflected in this hotel every time I stay here ,and this was last time I would,in last couple of years .The China grioup tours has spelled doom for the guests from other areas to this hotel as the staff is happy servicing Chinese speaking no-complaining group tours guests .We checked at 11 and were told to come back at 2 p.m. despte request for early check in and being such loyal 15 year plus old staying guests .At 2 we were asked for reporting at 4 then 5 then 6 and finally had to create a ruckus caused by waiting for nearly 7 hours and were given double bed room instead of twin room requested ..on complaining were shifted to another room only to realise the in room safe not working .On complaining were told we will have to change room for this next day ...we decided we will change our hotel from next visit .

Room Tip: choose other hotels nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilgrim_gsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Empire on a recent business trip to Hong Kong. It is in a very good location for both business and exploring the island.
The staff were all very helpful and attentive. The rooms were small and the glass bathrooms a little quirky but it was comfortable.
There were occasional influxes of Chinese tourists who flooded the foyer and took over all the seating areas.

Room Tip: Take a high room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Empire Hotel during a business trip. The Hotel is ideal to stay overnight but not to enjoy the services. The Breakfast is quite limited and very small business corner.
The rooms are neat, but rather small for the standard ones.
However, its central location in Wanchai is perfect to explore the Island. I would recommend it for short stay and when you don't come there to get spiled by Hotel services, but to enjoy the area and the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric_Thiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here while attending a conference recently and found it conveniently located, if you are prepared to overlook the occasional local lady of the night or Western drunk. There were a few sports bars and pubs where Westerners (mainly men) frequented, and so I wouldn't really recommend it for families based on its location - try the Causeway Bay version of the Empire a few kms up the road. But for open-minded adults it was fine, with good room service and complementary, good quality buffet breakfast.
But what gives with the bathroom door? They need to replace the inward opening doors with sliders, as it made manoeuvring in the small bathroom impossible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

great location and nice hotel which great staff. stayed there a few times so would recommend. very close to MTR and fairy service. the rooms are small and the bathroom very small but not uncommon in HK but was good value found the staff ok. close to main shopping area on hon kong island

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location having previously stayed in Kowloon on our way to mainland China. Near the MTR station and the Express Airport Bus and Mainland China stop even closer. As other have said its a nice hotel with small rooms but pretty much standard size for HK, could do with a makeover, particulary the bathrooms. Shops, Restaurants and nightlife all on your doorstep and the good old Tram service rattles up and down the street nearby to take you to either end of Hong Kong Island.
We had a couple of little hiccup's, we returned to our room in the late afternoon one day to find our security swipe card ouldn't open the door, we pushed the door and found it was open and looks like it had been open all day after cleaning. We had a laptop inside so were a bit concerned, they first sent tha housemaid, then the maintanence man who tried recycled lock after lock to no avail until the reception guy came up and managed to fix.
The other issue was our checkin, we arrived before 2pm to a very full lobby of Chinese tourists, they all seemed to get their rooms without a problem, the girl told use our room wasn't ready and we need to wait as the machine cannot do the key until after 2pm. Despite watched two Chinese couples standing next to us have their keys issued without a problem. My wife is Chinese so protested and the guy who just served them issued ours, incidentally the same guy who later fixed our door.
Buffet breakfast in the basement was OK, not a great selection and no egg station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#101 of 718 in Hong Kong
115 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#72 of 718 in Hong Kong
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#133 of 718 in Hong Kong
374 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#114 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Property: The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing