We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #127 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good place to stay. Reasonable rates, beds are comfortable though the room is small. The toilets needs refurbishment. Hotel in general looks a bit run down now.
Location wise, a great place to be. Step out and you have bars,restaurants, buses, taxi and a few minute walk to the MTR.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 903 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel had a great location and was comfortable. Rooms were small and bathroom was not in the best shape. I expected a little more for a 3 star hotel. I would stay here again with lower expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location - easy walk to Wan Chai MTR stop, the tram stop and near the bus stop too. However, it was not of the quality one expects for a 4 star hotel. The air con in the large airy lobby was very welcome and I found the young men working on the concierge desk to be very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area (best routes, bus numbers, etc) even if they weren't especially friendly.

Our room was quite small but the bed was very comfortable and the linen was changed every day. The bathroom was ridiculously small - and there was nowhere to hang towels. The 'cafe' was a bit hectic but breakfasts were adequate.

The saving grace of this hotel was the roof top pool. Just what was needed after a hot day in the city.

The hotel would be fine for a business trip, where you only needed to sleep and didn't need much space but for a family/holiday it lacked those extras that make the stay more comfortable - no hotel bar! We used the Metropole across the road for pre-dinner drinks (buy one get one free). Everything is a little tired and brown. Not a good colour in a hot country. The lifts were terrible! Took an age to arrive and everybody crammed into them.

Great wifi though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliesmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Empire hotel is very popular with the mainland chinese. Rooms are smelly because of high humidity. You will not have the usual quiet and cleaniness expected in an European hotel. The guest tends to shut across to room and push in an already crowded lift. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the floor with lots of chinese tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joemanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am well traveled in Asia and stayed in this hotel for two nights on my way to and from Thailand. I was expecting better for the price. I stayed in a different room to and from Thailand, and both left me disappointed. On both occasions it seems like the room had not been vacuumed for some time before I arrived. There were scraps of rubbish on the floor in both rooms. The air conditioning barely functioned and, in my second visit, there was a de-humidifier in the lift lobby of my floor that raised the temperature into the high 30s...so you would get out of your room and straight into the heat...before leaving the hotel. Needless to say, if you had to wait for the elevator for a while you might find you had to go and re-shower before waiting for the lift again. Breakfast was not to my liking. Few options and bland. The best point about this hotel is its location, but in my opinion there are better value-for-money options in this area of Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a lower floor. The elevators can take forever in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acousticoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family and I have just stayed here for 4 nights and it was not a pleasant stay. The rooms are adequate but nothing special and can be very noisy due to the surrounding clubs and bars. Breakfast buffet is very very ordinary and did not change at all over our stay. However the worst aspect of this hotel is the large number of Chinese tour groups who stay here. The noise at breakfast is deafening and they hsve no qualms about pushing you out of the way to get to something. Their behavior and manners completely ruined our stay. In what would have been an average hotel. I can see now why the Chinese Government is concerned about this.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here as it had a good location for a business meet I had to make and was only for two nights. Sadly, the Metro Park hotel was right across the street and have since been to twice due to its cheaper cost and better quality rooms and service (and I am in no way affiliated with either hotel).

From the second you arrive in the Empire, you are lined up and it took me 30 minutes just to get to the reception desk. From there this hotel just got worse (for price).

- The rooms are very small, and not very good quality.
- There were two restaurants, both underground and very dark/depressing. The buffet was a room with rows of tables where you literally sit right beside other guests you do not know and elbow to elbow, eat your breakfast.

You have to leave the hotel if you are like me and enjoy a beer or glass of wine to end the evening. This place really is not well setup and I would not go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#74 of 723 in Hong Kong
142 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 723 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#72 of 723 in Hong Kong
993 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#192 of 723 in Hong Kong
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $111 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing