We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but not too impressive.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #123 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
223 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great location, but not too impressive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights mostly because of the price and the location. Both were agreeable.

The hotel is located within walking distance to Wan Chai station on the MTR, but we came in via the HK airport express, which you can use the free shuttle bus from Central station to the hotel. This was quick and convenient, but it does stop at other hotels in the area if there are other people.

The room is adequate, and we had a city view room. The bathroom was a little too small, but there is a tub and some pretty good amenities. Hallways are dark and a little strange smelling but again no complaints.

If the weather is good, have a look at the pool on the top floor. It is small, but nice and quiet. There was even a lifeguard watching us the whole time who also provided us with towels.

Can't speak for any of the restaurants on site (there are two in the B level floors) but there are plenty of restaurants in the area within walking distance, and Wan Chai is really active at night, so there are heaps of bars nearby.

No complaints, but again nothing too impressive either. Fine for a quick stay in the Wan Chai area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manh_attan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    382
    235
    70
    38
See reviews for
73
131
72
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Was there for the Rugby 7's and this was a very convenient hotel for the lot of us as the bars are just down stairs along Lockhart Road. I have requested a new room on high floor as there are older rooms that have not refurbished.

The stay was generally ok, however there was some construction going on on the roof area which i was not pleased with. The breakfast was not up to my liking and it was limited. Lucky there was plenty of restaurants just outside the hotel from European to Asian.

The bed was comfortable and the house keeping was efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms on the Higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donaldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

First of all I booked a club room so you would expect more.

1 Room very small, didn't even have a wardrobe
2 AirCon blows warm air so does not cool the room - very hot at night (we put the aircon at 10c!)
3 Internet - only allows 200 connections on at once which may seem a lo, but remember 1 smart phone is 1 user - so we could very rarely get on in he mornign and at night
4 The club room is anyiquated at best (the old whie elather has holes in it)
5 Breaksfast had a pretty small choice as well

All in all, I will never be going back, the staff may have been nice, and the reception area may look grat on he web - but this place is not for me!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FootyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have just stayed the second time. Staff helpful, lobby large, good clear english spoken. I like mostly the central position allowing me to walk most places. a free shuttle to catch the fast train is a bonus though the driver is no help with luggage! Rooms are clean, modern, though the bathroom is small.good towels etc and great selection of amenities. free swimming pool. My plane was late and if I had of had a swim after checking out no where to have a shower. took a group of 6 others to the evening buffer a great selection

Room Tip: I think most rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clinton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xXx
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have stayed several times for work.
Good location for Wan Chai, Causeway Bay and central.
MTR, Trams, taxis, bus and ferry all very easy walking distance.
Nice rooms, clean and modern.
Friendly staff.
Expensive, but so are all the other decent hotels in HK now.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0X0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed previously at the Metropark Hotel across the street, so I like the area and am familiar with it. I was supposed to have lunch at Bo Innovation and dinner at Sang Kee Seafood Restaurant with some HK friends, so these were only a short walk away.

Plus, I got a decent room rate of HK$720 a night (~ US$93). I was on the 15th floor and it was quiet. Three sides of the hotel face the streets (Hennessy, Lockhart, and Fenwick) but my room faced the dirty sides of the adjacent buildings.


Pros
-Location: close to Wan Chai MTR station and more restaurants than you could possibly need
-Airport Express stop right in front of hotel
-Nice lobby

Cons
-Modern hotel but really dark hallways and the bathrooms need remodeling
-Small bathrooms, but expected in Hong Kong

Overall, the place served its purpose despite the lack of luxury. I suppose I like the location more than the hotel itself, but at the rate I got, I cannot complain too much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baron45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Positives-
Location wanchai is good for a short term traveller
Nice entrance and reception space
Well connected- Easy to get city cabs just from outside, metro station nearby
Restaurants nearby

Neutral-
Tons of night clubs around

Negatives-
Small rooms
Wait time at the reception
Some crazy process at the concierge for storing luggage

Overall, its a decent stay at a reasonable price in HK.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#127 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#118 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#78 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#108 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Property: The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing