We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent value for HK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #118 of 708 Hotels in Hong Kong
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Decent value for HK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Positives-
Location wanchai is good for a short term traveller
Nice entrance and reception space
Well connected- Easy to get city cabs just from outside, metro station nearby
Restaurants nearby

Neutral-
Tons of night clubs around

Negatives-
Small rooms
Wait time at the reception
Some crazy process at the concierge for storing luggage

Overall, its a decent stay at a reasonable price in HK.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    369
    228
    69
    38
See reviews for
67
125
69
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good location near Wan Chai MTR and reasonable sized rooms for the money. The club lounge is small but comfortable. Good bed and pleasant staff. I will try the Kowloon side hotel in this hotel group next HK visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice Kowloon hotel, walking distance to shopping, Habour and nightlife with a stunning, unique interior pool/spa area. Helpful staff. Cramped but well appointed rooms typical for Hong Kong. I never ate in the resteraunt as it was very expensive and better, more authentic food could be had in dozens of places with in a few minutes walk. A 24 hour grocery store is across the street.

Room Tip: The higher the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days, it was ok. It was clean enough and safe. The hospitality of the staff was pleasant once I approached them. The location is good and bad. It's a short walk to the Central District (busy streets seen on TV) and an easy walk to every tourist attraction. I liked being away from the hustle of the busier streets but able to be a part of what makes Hong Kong fantastic. The bad part of this location is it's closeness to the bars (some seedy) , nighttime drunk loudness (3am) and traffic. I was on the 14th floor and I felt as if I was street level. If I had been on a business trip and needed to stick to a schedule, I would have changed hotels.

Breakfast was aweful. The menu needs to be reviewed as well as the freshness. The staff started to clear it up each day before the guests were finished or breakfast hours were over. There is a coffee shop across the street, Starbucks is about a 6 minute walk and there are a few small cafes/restaurants close by.

I LOVED Hong Kong but will stay at another hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I did a lot research before booking this hotel. We wanted to be on the HK side during the evenings since it's known for the nightlife and so we stayed here for 2 nights. It was also affordable as we were all MBA students at the time. The subway is right down the street from the hotel for all daytime activities and the the cab ride to Central - Soho for dinner and nightlife was pretty quick too. There is also a foreign currency exchange place across the street with great rates.

The rooms were small and clean, and the staff was quite helpful. Good coffee across the street, McDonalds behind the hotel (the menu and food taste different in HK), and walking distance to some cool bars. Beers are always great for cooling down. If you want to try a typical HK style cafe, go to Tsui Wah down the street. Good for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend meetings at Pacific Place. Had a number of colleagues here who arrived earlier and warned me of "Empire Experience". So I was a little apprehensive when I arrived at the hotel. Was relieved to be greeted by a rather nice lobby but was warned again not to judge a hotel by its lobby. Service at front desk could have been improved. There was a mix up with my reservation as I was only booked for 1 night. They kept insisting they'd check me in for one night and sort out the second night later. I wasn't confident they'd get me a room on the second night so I insisted they sort it out there and then. Took them a while to even though the hotel wasn't full the next day.

When I finally got into my room, I had to use the toilet. On lifting the seat, I saw that someone had left a "gift" in the toilet bowl. The cleaning of the room was obviously not checked. Perhaps this experience coloured my overall view but I don't think the rooms are cleaned properly. I also stayed on one of the highest floors but the windows aren't insulated propertly so the sound from the road filters through including the merry making on the streets. Speaking of which, the hotel is a stone's throw away from establishments with exotic names like "wild horses club" and "coyotes bar" plus lots neon advertising "models". Not one for families I'd say.

Breakfast in one word - sucked. Diffenately one of the worst meals you could have in Hong Kong, which is famed for its great cuisine. Would not want to return unless I really had to.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PLKV2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an ok hotel. A little warn around the edges, but it is kept clean. Buffet breakfast isn't worth the price, but there is a nice coffee shop across the street. The staff is very friendly. It is an easy walk to the expo center, and the Pacific Place Mall

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#76 of 708 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#127 of 708 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#179 of 708 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Property: The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing