We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for the basics.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #128 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days, it was ok. It was clean enough and safe. The hospitality of the staff was pleasant once I approached them. The location is good and bad. It's a short walk to the Central District (busy streets seen on TV) and an easy walk to every tourist attraction. I liked being away from the hustle of the busier streets but able to be a part of what makes Hong Kong fantastic. The bad part of this location is it's closeness to the bars (some seedy) , nighttime drunk loudness (3am) and traffic. I was on the 14th floor and I felt as if I was street level. If I had been on a business trip and needed to stick to a schedule, I would have changed hotels.

Breakfast was aweful. The menu needs to be reviewed as well as the freshness. The staff started to clear it up each day before the guests were finished or breakfast hours were over. There is a coffee shop across the street, Starbucks is about a 6 minute walk and there are a few small cafes/restaurants close by.

I LOVED Hong Kong but will stay at another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 904 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I did a lot research before booking this hotel. We wanted to be on the HK side during the evenings since it's known for the nightlife and so we stayed here for 2 nights. It was also affordable as we were all MBA students at the time. The subway is right down the street from the hotel for all daytime activities and the the cab ride to Central - Soho for dinner and nightlife was pretty quick too. There is also a foreign currency exchange place across the street with great rates.

The rooms were small and clean, and the staff was quite helpful. Good coffee across the street, McDonalds behind the hotel (the menu and food taste different in HK), and walking distance to some cool bars. Beers are always great for cooling down. If you want to try a typical HK style cafe, go to Tsui Wah down the street. Good for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend meetings at Pacific Place. Had a number of colleagues here who arrived earlier and warned me of "Empire Experience". So I was a little apprehensive when I arrived at the hotel. Was relieved to be greeted by a rather nice lobby but was warned again not to judge a hotel by its lobby. Service at front desk could have been improved. There was a mix up with my reservation as I was only booked for 1 night. They kept insisting they'd check me in for one night and sort out the second night later. I wasn't confident they'd get me a room on the second night so I insisted they sort it out there and then. Took them a while to even though the hotel wasn't full the next day.

When I finally got into my room, I had to use the toilet. On lifting the seat, I saw that someone had left a "gift" in the toilet bowl. The cleaning of the room was obviously not checked. Perhaps this experience coloured my overall view but I don't think the rooms are cleaned properly. I also stayed on one of the highest floors but the windows aren't insulated propertly so the sound from the road filters through including the merry making on the streets. Speaking of which, the hotel is a stone's throw away from establishments with exotic names like "wild horses club" and "coyotes bar" plus lots neon advertising "models". Not one for families I'd say.

Breakfast in one word - sucked. Diffenately one of the worst meals you could have in Hong Kong, which is famed for its great cuisine. Would not want to return unless I really had to.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank PLKV2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an ok hotel. A little warn around the edges, but it is kept clean. Buffet breakfast isn't worth the price, but there is a nice coffee shop across the street. The staff is very friendly. It is an easy walk to the expo center, and the Pacific Place Mall

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I will not say this is a hotel of 1st class, but at least you get what you paid.
The room size is reasonable compared with some other so-called 4 stars, so is the bathroom. We did not try the breakfast in the hotel, as it was not included in the package, and there are plenty of typical Hongkong restaurants nearby, serving delicious and affordable breakfast. The hotel is located above a pub street, so there were a lot of movements during the night, and we did encounter some drunk westerners, but no danger at all.
The hotel is close to the MTR Wanchai station, and there is also the direct bus link (11a, I suppose) to the airport.
I would recommend this hotel for the travelers with limited budget.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very ideally located in the activity hub of Hong Kong, this hotel provides value for money.

It is in the centre of all night life in Wan Chai and almost all places are withing walking distance.

The hotel provides free internet, buffet breakfast and maintains the rooms perfectly clean. Stayed 4 Nights and had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGMalayil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Empire on business for four days Good central location , staff really friendly and helpful and great central location Good Breakfsat with vast choice and Business lounge on 2nd floor with free-wi-fi Would recommend and stay here again

Room Tip: High up is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#77 of 723 in Hong Kong
142 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 723 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#71 of 723 in Hong Kong
994 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#192 of 723 in Hong Kong
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $111 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing