We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #123 of 702 Hotels in Hong Kong
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is an ok hotel. A little warn around the edges, but it is kept clean. Buffet breakfast isn't worth the price, but there is a nice coffee shop across the street. The staff is very friendly. It is an easy walk to the expo center, and the Pacific Place Mall

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    358
    224
    67
    38
See reviews for
63
117
68
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I will not say this is a hotel of 1st class, but at least you get what you paid.
The room size is reasonable compared with some other so-called 4 stars, so is the bathroom. We did not try the breakfast in the hotel, as it was not included in the package, and there are plenty of typical Hongkong restaurants nearby, serving delicious and affordable breakfast. The hotel is located above a pub street, so there were a lot of movements during the night, and we did encounter some drunk westerners, but no danger at all.
The hotel is close to the MTR Wanchai station, and there is also the direct bus link (11a, I suppose) to the airport.
I would recommend this hotel for the travelers with limited budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francesca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very ideally located in the activity hub of Hong Kong, this hotel provides value for money.

It is in the centre of all night life in Wan Chai and almost all places are withing walking distance.

The hotel provides free internet, buffet breakfast and maintains the rooms perfectly clean. Stayed 4 Nights and had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGMalayil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Empire on business for four days Good central location , staff really friendly and helpful and great central location Good Breakfsat with vast choice and Business lounge on 2nd floor with free-wi-fi Would recommend and stay here again

Room Tip: High up is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's not my 1st time to Hong Kong. I found that this hotel location might be good enough for those who have a business trip where can easily travel to the central and airport. However, if for those who have a business trip and wanted to shop around after working hours, it might not be a convenient area as most of the shops there were closed at 10pm or the latest 11pm(except Club, Pub and 24 hours convenient store). The hotel is comfortable but only that the lift lobbies & common corridors for all the rooms are too dark, it doesn't matter at night or morning.
The internet access in the room which need to be pay. However, there got a free wi-fi service at the 2nd floor, a cafe where we are free to seat there and the environment there is not bad too.
On the way from hotel to MTR station, i noticed that there was a row of pubs and clubs where it got a lot of sexy foreign girls(eg. thai, vietnam etc) standing outside the front door of the pubs & clubs and tried to attract the guys on the road. The customer service is not efficient enough as i need to called them for three times to have an iron. During the time we check in, the rooms were not ready on time and we have waited for 30 mins for the rooms. I might stay again for my business trip as it is really convenient for the way to central and airport. However, if for my personal trip, i will never choose it as the surrounding there is not good enough for a single ladies.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mk t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the Empire Hotel for a business tip and it was ideal - close to the harbour and also not too far from the airport. It was nicely decorated and comfortable. They kindly upgraded me to a suite which was very spacious. I did't use any of the facilities so can't comment on those.

A couple of minor points - there is internet in the room but a) you have to pay for it (common, I know, but still annoys me) and b) it's via cable. Also, the hotel is in a bit of a party district (with lots of ladies, if you know what I mean..), which didn't bother me but might put some people off and it was a bit noisy at night. Oh and now I'm thinking about it, they could do with putting a plug near a mirror / mirror near a plug as I had to blow dry my hair without seeing it. Fortunately it turned out ok, but could have been a disaster!

All in all a perfectly good hotel for a business trip. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I was in 518 which was spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The location is very nice , just 2 mins walk to the harbor . Very nice place to stay if you have business in convention centre , The rooms are very small and beds also .

Location is te only reason I stay there as it is in the heart of Wanchai .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doogie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#129 of 702 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#80 of 702 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong
#133 of 702 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Property: The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing