We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service. Room needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Ranked #120 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good service. Room needs updating”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Stayed 1 night. Was upgraded to a 3rd floor suite upon check in. Old room. Old carpet, old ceiling (80s tiling). Old bathroom. Comfortable bed. You can hear the traffic downstairs.

No wired internet. No free wifi. Had to rent a USB 3G modem for abt HKD100 per day. No usage limit. Coverage is citywide.

Dim sum in restaurant downstairs was good.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plus2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    397
    243
    70
    38
See reviews for
79
135
74
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Outside of hotel and lobby definitely gave me high hopes that I made a great choice, but definitely older rooms and quite small once I arrived in my room. I've stayed in several hotels in HK and Empire had the smallest rooms of all. But it's HK, I suppose.

Hallways are somewhat dingy, definitely need an update. Rooms do too, though the bed is comfortable, TV is nice, and the location is fantastic in Wan Chai. If you're not in the room too often, this is a great value.

Downfall for me was internet access. Several hours after checking in I decided to get online. However - no wireless, only a LAN connection. Which is fine - however, I had to call the front desk and ask for a username and password, which they had delivered to my room (quickly, I may add). I didn't end up using it right away, and the log in expired. Slight hassle if you need frequent online access and are used to wireless everywhere else.

Didn't have time to check out the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenhoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I stayed at the Empire Hotel, in September 2010. The hotel was undergoing renovation and made for a very bad experience. The lobby was not functional and there was no place to sit. So on the last day, after checkout, I had to walk the streets in the rain for the two hours between checkout and my shuttle bus to the airport. Definitely a BAD experience. The location itself is close to the shopping areas (a couple of MTR stations to get anywhere). However, the immediate area surrounding the hotel is very unimpressive - tall grey buildings and narrow streets.
The room was ok. Nothing memorable but no specific issues.
Overall, this was definitely not value for money. I don't know if things have/ will change post-renovation. However, in a city like Hong Kong, I am sure you can do much better than this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_0098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

For the price we paid the hotel and it's location is a really good deal. Only thing they could offer to top it up is a free wifi. Few minutes walk to Wan Chai station, minute to trams and 10 minutes to Kowloon ferries. Only thing that could bother is the night life going on, just on these few blocks and bit down.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanneJSalovaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night - good location - however it is right in the middle of the " red light" district in Hong Kong but very close to MTR.

The lobby is finished and looks good - but perhaps over promises against the rest of the hotel.

I was upgraded to an " executive room" - it was small - around 12 inches between each side of the bed and the wall , the bathroom was tiny - however it is Hong Kong so I didn't expect much more than this! I wouldn't want to see the size of a standard room!

I was awoken at 7am on the Sat morning with the sound of drilling / banging in the room next door which was being refurbished!

Overall - a safe bet for a budget hotel on HK island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Stayed for 10 days with family at this Wan Chai hotel. Basic rooms booked, very small, in need of refurbishment. If you like to walk around your room then dont book here or go for upgarded roomes ta more cost. They may be bigger ?. Rooms were clean and tidy. Fridge was very very small, no iron of ironing board in room, liklely available on request however. Street noise was extreme at night up until around 11.00 pm. Rooms could do with double glazing on the windows to minimise street noise. Staff were ok ,but nothing out of the box and seemed to have a limited knowledge of all local amenities that may be requested. But on average they were very capable. Breakfast was ok with the typical asian/western mix of food available. If you want clean cheap and central in Hong Kong with nothing really special about it and away from the tourist centres then this hotel should be ok for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUSTLOOKINMATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

An elegant, comfortable and classy place with courteous staff to welcome you. Whilst the rooms are understandably not as big as you would like them to be, what takes the cake is the business center which was free of charge. There was high speed internet, basic refreshments served free of cost to the hotel guests. And of course, being in Wan Chai, it was very convenient to commute as well.

Price wise, it was very economical, but prices fluctuate a lot, so book in advance if possible.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulrathi456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#104 of 718 in Hong Kong
123 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 718 in Hong Kong
375 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel Wan Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel Wan Chai

Property: The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
Address: No.33 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Hotel Wan Chai 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong Island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel Wan Chai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hong Kong
Hong Kong Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel Hong Kong
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing