We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but one very bad experience with one rude staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel
Ranked #203 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel but one very bad experience with one rude staff.”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were here last January 23-27, 2012. We haven't had a lot of time to stay and evaluate the hotel basically because we were all around hong kong during the days and too tired to do anything in the hotel when we get back but sleep. So here goes my review:

PROS. 1. Staff were very helpful, initially we had problem with our payment because our credit card was expired and we can only withdraw a certain maximum amount of HKD per day on the ATM. ( I think it was only 3,000+ HKD/day and we need cash to shop, eat and do sight seeing!) and there's no bank open cos it was the holidays! They agreed that we will pay on a per day basis until banks were open. 2. Location is very accessible, however if you were to ride a taxi and you don't speak chinese, make sure to bring with you the hotel's calling card and they will know exactly where to drop you ( you can get this upon arrival in the airport at the hotel assistance desk). near to mini bus stop #30C which will only take you to about 5-10 minutes to causebay station/times square. 3. Room and CR was clean and average in size.
4. They have a FREE shuttle bus service. however, it is with schedule so we chose to ride the mini bus for the experience and also convenience of our own time.

CONS. 1. We arrived about 3am on our 3rd night because we went to Macau, and the front desk was being rude when we ask him about our bill and all that. (maybe because we woke him up at 3am! but it is his job.) He was the only rude and male staff in the front desk.. That was the only con thing I have to say. But it was a seriously bad experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cha_pong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    102
    43
    9
    6
See reviews for
37
32
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

A great hotel away from the busy crowds of Causeway Bay & Wan Chai, yet conveniently located within walking distance to both locations. This is an older style hotel which represents great value for money, is close to tram stop, buses, shops and restaurants in Happy Valley. Rooms are small yet comfortable and for a fee wifi is available. If I am looking for peace & quiet, I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Non smokers ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atina2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I was stay in this Hotel during my exhibition trip in Hongkong. The Hotel was Nice, the room is small as other Hongkong Hotel but Nice specially the Bathroom superb. The room and bathroom was clean.
I have really enjoy the breakfast. Normally when we stay in 3 or 4 star hotel in Hongkong mostly they provide Asian dishes but this hotel provide european breakfast most. Kind of bread like croissant, muffins, you may also make your own wafel fresh. Egg corner where you can choice. Even the restaurant is small and crowded when the breakfast time. Location was my reason to stay. Only 5 minute walk to can find a tram that will bring you direct to causeway bay. A centre where many shops, restaurant you can found. Its only 10 minutes by tram.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masrura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong & Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We live in HK and have loved the restaurant Golden Valley for years. We stayed here when we were moving. Incredible price and great value. The rooms are small but big enough for 4 nights. Good bathroom, bed, clean.

We LOVE Godlen Valley. Lunchtime dim sum is really good and dinnertime Sichuan is the best Sichuan in HK. And we've tried lots. Only the food in Sichuan is better. (Pls see my review of the restaurants.)

Nearby good restaurants are Mekong Riverside (Vietnamese), Jaspas, Brown. Zoe's has great French pastries to takeaway. Fun Feet foot reflexology is great (plus get manicure and Shanghai pedicure). Sam's Salon is great for hair, see Sam or Max (Max is brillinat at blow dry, too) or Helen for manicure. Dymock's bookstore is nearby and tons of ATMs/banks.

Tram is a 2-min walk, easy trip to C'way Bay and Wanchai. Mini-bus 30 goes to C'way Bay (fast and frequent). Plus lots of big buses.
Cons:
The buffet breakfast is not so good. For HK$80 (which you have to buy on arrival, untested) it wasn't so good. Next time we'll go to dai pai dong or Starbucks/Pacific Coffee in Happy Valley for better (and less expensive) food. Or to Habitu in Causeway Bay (great hot western breakfasts).

The winter we stayed it was exceptionally cold (below 10 degree Centrigrade/45 degrees Farenheit). There was no heat (most homes and offices in HK are not heated because we don't usually need it). No heaters in the hotel. So we went to Fortress (in Times Square in Causeway Bay, nearby) and bought a space heater. No problem but be forewarned.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staveley
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have stayed at this small, friendly hotel four or five times per year for nearly ten years. Happy Valley is a quiet district away from the city buzz with several local restaurauts, bars and shops. The rooms are small but are big enough for four night stays, have good beds, showers and are always clean. The coffee shop serves excellent breakfast. The front desk and coffee shop staff are always friendly and helpful. The only downside is the wait for taxis in the morning rush hour if you forget to pre-book.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
320 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Old world charm, classical ambiance, traditional service from the heart! This hotel offers all these ... and more. My adult daughter & I (a retiree) absolutely relished the cozy, sizeable room and the understated but truly fantastic service.

Our travel adaptor could not fit. We needed to charge our cellphone batteries. On the way to reception, I bumped into a staff in the lift. He asked if he could help. When told he immediately fished out an adaptor from his pocket and handed it to me I asked if I should return it to reception at the end of my stay. I asked if he needed my room number. He flashed a huge smile and told me (in Cantonese) to just leave it in the room. How tremendously seamless and hassle-free. Wow!

I asked for directions for the different destinations. The reception staff took pains to show me the way with map and all. I asked how to get to a particular Michelin star restaurant. Unfazed, they photocopied a map which was shown on a newpaper write-up on the outlet. This is all the more amazing as they have their own Michelin star restaurant (Golden Valley - must try the titilating experience) on the 2nd floor of the hotel! Yahoo!

Their shuttle-bus service is a God-send.The complimentary service runs in the morning and evening. It is off-service in the afternoon which is wise as traffic can be a chokefull. It covers Central, Wanchai, Causeway Bay, IFC, HK Convention & Exhibition Centre, Times Square, Lee Gardens. We planned our outing making us of this service. Yipee!

They gave us a Walkabout Map upon check-in. The streets around the hotel and somewhat tired and humble looking. But there are supermarkets, 24-hr stores, post office, Starbucks, McDonald's, Tram Terminus & the Happy Valley Race Course within walking distance.

Overall.... unbelievably Happy Value!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhanjiang, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The room and beds are small, but elegant. The bathroom is relatively spacial in HK.

The location is quite convenient, which is located on the hill near Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital. It is a quiet and peaceful area. If you carry your luggage by yourself, it is hard to walk because of the slopes. The final tram stop "Happy Valley" is near the hotel. No.30 mini bus is going bypass the door. There are Parkn Shop, Marketplace and Watson's near there. A lot of famous and delicious restaurants are for you to choose as well.

The service is good. The hotel offers free shuttle bus between different main shopping malls from Central, Wan Chai to Causeway Bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#275 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#455 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Kwun Tong
Newton Place
Newton Place
#406 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L'hotel Island South
#127 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel

Property: The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel
Address: No.1 Wang Tak Street, Happy Valley, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor Happy Valley Hotel
The Emperor Happy Valley Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing