We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel @ Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #183 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Room is clean and spacious. The staff were very accommodating and makes you feel at home. The Dinner buffet was also great with a wide variety.

The location is also very convenient and accessible, wether you want to take the Tram, Bus, MTR or the Ferry all with in walking distance!

The rates are also a big YES, for Hong Kong standards they are very quite reasonable

Room Tip: If you want a Modern Look you should definitely take the Signature Rooms,
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GecPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are pleased to know of your positive feedback on our service and product and your memorable experience will be shared to our staff accordingly.

All this while we are very passionate in providing contemporary in-room experience to our guests especially to create a WOW factor experience and driving consistency on our services

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 757 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel at least 5 times. I do not believe in rating a hotel or restaurant after just one stay or visit. Even at the risk of this well-run hotel being chock full all the time, so that there is "no room at the inn" for me, I must still highly recommend that you stay in this hotel on your next visit to Hong Kong.

The hotel is efficient all the time. Every employee is extremely guest-conscious. It is obvious that they are led by a general manager with unwaverable solid industry service standards. The hotel is clean........everywhere. I know, because I look out for such details. It does not pretend what it is not, but delivers everything it says it will. Thus, it is good market value.

It's location vicinity has an "old" Hong Kong feel. A wet market down the road is a must visit. Times Square and other Hong Kong Island sites are within walking distance. A good foot massage can be had across the street, which will not rip you off. For expats working in China or Macau, the Prize market two doors down is full of Kirkland household supplies. How they got the American COSTCO brand into their store confounds me to this day. Everything in the store is a "good buy." I load up, then walk back to the hotel, unload, and return to buy more.

Finally, it is a hotel that continually improves. With everyone of my five visits I see delightful improvements. Be sure to have a drink in the cozy bar on the mezzanine level. Also, room 202 and there are other similar rooms with WOW experience showers. The Australian rain showers are seldom found even in Hong Kong's much more expensive bathrooms.

Sigh! If you take my suggestion and book there, the hotel may not have space for me the next time I visit Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms and suites.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

Indeed we are blessed to have you be our guest repeatedly and notices the changes that took the place on the overall improvement relating to the software and hardware, your compliments will be shared to all of our staff for their dedicated contribution.

Also our basement outlet, Champs Bar was advocated by British on Tripadvisor as the recommended sport bar in Hong Kong that offers Live Broadcast on English League and serving various food and drink selection to our guests.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Charterhouse for 4 nights and found the room and bathroom to be modern, clean and well equipped. The room was spacious enough for the two of us plus our 4 large and 2 small suitcases, and the bathroom was spacious by HK standards. The staff were extremely nice, professional and helpful, and provided us with a city map as well as great advice on public transport and nearby areas. We landed at 7am and when we got to the hotel, the staff were very accommodating and arranged for the first available suitable room for us to check in before noon, For check out, because we had a late evening flight, they automatically offered us the option to check out late at 2pm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney-sider_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are pleased to learn of your positive comments relating to our staff attentiveness and helpfulness which will be shared to our associate members.

All in all, our objective are to introduce a contemporary in-house experience to our guests thru our room rejuvenation project and maintaining the classic equipped fixtures and etc.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights en route to Oz from the UK having never been to HK before. They upgraded our room as it was our 40th wedding anniversary. The staff are lovely - friendly and helpful. The hotel facilities are great. Used Harry's Bar in the basement for a snack meal and drinks one evening when we'd left it a bit late and we weren't disappointed. Ideally located only 10 minutes walk to Wan Chai MTR station and 15 minutes to the Star Ferry for Kowloon. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bythesandandthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

‘Congratulations’ on your 40th wedding anniversary and thank you for letting us be part of your special day. We are glad to learn of your cozy experience on our product and staff service, our associate members are honored to providing proactive and attentive service to you. Your compliment will be sharing to them for driving going beyond our service expectation.

Indeed, our convenient location provides easy access to the bustling area of Causeway Bay and Wan Chai and nearby public transportation for exploring through Hong Kong.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The best aspect of this hotel is it's location - near Times Square and within walking distance to the Star Ferry to Kowloon. Otherwise it is a typical Chinese hotel (with the exception that there is wi fi in the rooms). The food and the cleanliness are just OK but I will say that the staff went out of their way to make a restaurant reservation for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are delighted to learn of your memorable experience and your feedback will always be shared to our associate members. Your other related feedback had taken up by our Executive Housekeeper and Food & Beverage Manager for further improvement on the product qualities and we shall incorporate into our staff training program for continual improvements.

All in all, our convenient location will provide easy access to many points of interest and a series of transportation to visit Hong Kong including a line bus to Stanley Market.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at this nice hotel for a 5 day trip to HK. I must say it has a very reasonable price for it's great location, very near the subway and close to Times Square. I had to pay in advance, but I prefer it that way and the deposit was not high at all. Breakfast was good, loved the orange juice! My room was a bit small but it was a cheap individual one, so it was fine for me. I had a minibar (although I think drinks were expensive, but you can buy them in a shop a keep them cold there), air conditioning, and a comfortable soft bed. Housekeeping were very kind and Concierge helped me a lot with all kinds of issues, for instance where to get a boat to Macau, how to get to the nearest beach, how to use my new adaptor provided by the hotel...

I liked the decoration as well, it looks very British and chic, maybe that's the reason for their name, Charterhouse is one of the best schools in England. The lobby has a pleasant smell, and overall, I am going to rate this place as excellent for its value. Therefore, I recommend this place for travellers who come to HK no matter if it's a business, leisure or visa renewal trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are pleased to know of your positive feedback on our service and product and your compliment will be shared to our staff to drive consistency of service and product excellence.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed there 1 year ago, in Signature floor which looks to belong to another hotel, because extremely nice rooms, new bathrooms, lots of space, ipod decks...
Now stayed 3 nights at their so called business rooms, OMG, 2 double beds (190x90) which the size of a children bed, a very tired carpet, furniture is falling down, bathroom was probably nice 20 years ago (everything in less than 20 sqm). The hotel himself looks tired, 3 super slow elevators, bkfst always same limited choice, the only good positive goes for the staff at the lobby from bell boys, reception and concierge, all of them very helpful and nice.
If location is what you need try the VELA which 50 meters distance.

Room Tip: Signature roons, but only existing in king size beds - no double beds.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences caused on your recent stay and this was definitely uncompromising. Your related comments will be dealt seriously by our management team, currently we have also embarked onto our room rejuvenation program in improving the design of guestroom which include fixtures, finishing and etc that will create a different experience for our guests.

Indeed, we are delighted to learn of your positive feedback on our staff service attitude in attending to your requests and be rest assured that we upkeep this consistency in our service promise and strive for sustainable improvement.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#178 of 721 in Hong Kong
585 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#210 of 721 in Hong Kong
208 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#455 of 721 in Hong Kong
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#158 of 721 in Hong Kong
493 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,179 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $70 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing