We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfortable, and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #183 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The Charterhouse Causeway Bay is very conveniently located less than ten minutes walk from Times Square. The room was very comfortable - not huge, but hardly surprising, in Hongkong even the luxury apartments are compact. The staff were helpful. I loved staying here- my first time in Hongkong and everything about it was great. So many great places to eat, and close by.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our products and service.

We are glad that our products and services had met your expectation and your kind words about your overall experience will be shared to all our staff.

All in all, our location will provide easy access to many places of interest such as Times Square and Hysan Place where combination of shopping and dining outlets.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 762 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last month as part of a group tour. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the breakfast in the restaurant had plenty of Western options. The hotel was conveniently located within an easy walk of the Times Square Mall. The staff was friendly and courteous, and the concierge desk was very helpful in helping to locate a vegetarian restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpr244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation and your positive comments made will be shared to all our staff.

Indeed our location will provide easy access to many places of interest especially shopping within walking distance to Times Square, Hysan Place, Sogo and etc.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Location of the hotel was excellent, with a short 8-10 min walk to two MTR stations, and several bus and tram stops that are just a few steps away. As a solo female traveller, I especially appreciated that I could travel safely and conveniently to and from the hotel. Location is also excellent for Muslims, with the Islamic Centre canteen located just behind the hotel, a kebab restaurant just across the street, and a kebab&pizza store at the corner for a quick snack.

Staff was generally polite and competent, with one particular concierge who gave excellent service. He sent me to my room upon arrival, explained about the key-card, and when he saw me leaving the hotel for the first time a few minutes later, called out to me to pass a map and the hotel card. Another time, when he saw me returning in the early evening, he made it a point to ask if I had had dinner and thoughtfully mentioned the halal restaurant located behind our hotel. Certainly the best hotel concierge I've ever met,

Room Tip: Make it a point to ask about a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation, also with our location that will provides easy accessibility to the Islamic Mosque Centre located next our property.

In overall our location will provide easy access to many places of interest including shopping and food outlets that serve different cuisine.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Right on the Wanchai Road this is a reasonable hotel in a convenient location. Its a 15 to 20min slow walk (its too hot to rush) to the huge conference centre on the bay. The standard rooms can be small but adequate for a business trip. I wouldn't want to spend a holiday in one. Things were clean although the maid neglected to top the coffee and tea up but this was a minor thing. Breakfast was worth the price with a good range of hot and cold. It didn't open until 7am though which was a pain if you have an early meeting or conference.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veggie2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation and rest assured we shall review your related comment made on the operation hours for our Gazebo Café to facilitate early breakfast for meeting or conference delegates.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I visited HK for business trip and stayed at Signature Room for 2 nights. Signature Room was recently renovated, and was very new, modern, and clean! I said "WOW!" when I entered the room. It was so spacious, clean, stylish, modern, and very comfortable.
What I liked the most was the desk and shower room. It was very helpful to have a big desk in a room, so I could do my work really good. The shower room has a shower called "rain shower" which pours from the top of the head, and I REALLY loved that:D
Although this hotel is not so big hotel, I liked their service with warm hospitality. For breakfast, I really enjoyed making fresh juice with juice maker which can make fresh juice with fresh fruits. Also there was a cook for making omelet so I could have fresh warm dishes.
Every staff was very nice. When I check in, as a staff recognized I'm Japanese, he took over a Japanese women to welcome me in Japanese. Also since it was rainning and was in a busy hour to catch the taxi, one of the bell boy tried very hard to catch the taxi for me in the rain. That was warmest service I ever had.
Next time I come to HK, I'm sure I want to stay Charter House again!

Room Tip: Signature Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaoru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation and your kind words made on our overall services will be shared to our employees especially to the concierge staff which had went beyond in their service.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you are looking for a spacious hotel room, this isn't the place to be. The Charterhouse is located conveniently in Hong Kong, is very clean and decorated nicely. It offers a great restaurant with a huge variety on the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It also offers a good variety of food in the bar area. But the bedrooms are quite small! Like VERY small. Two beds in a room are actually two single beds with walking space only in the room. We asked for an upgraded room but was told they had one bed and that wasn't suitable to us. Also, if you are from another country be sure you take a variety of plugs for the electrical outlets. Mine didn't fit, so no curling iron for several days. But I learned I could live with out some of the extras we Americans enjoy. But needless to say, Hong Kong is fantastic and offers many, many hotel accommodations... just be sure you check it out before booking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosella Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation, ideally we offer different travelers’ needs with various room types and sizes that may meet your selection, perhaps for your future reservation you may consider to let our reservation colleague knows of your preferences.

Indeed our location will provide easy access to many places of interest especially shopping with both Causeway Bay and Wanchai MTR stations nearby.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We picked this hotel since it is within walking distance from the convention center. Rooms are small, there are hardly any amenities available. Check in went quick and smoothly, the concierge was helpful throughout our entire stay. The first night, as we were going to bed, a big cockroach crawled out from under the bedcover - quite a shock! It fled under the bed and trying to find it we lifted up the bed to a horrible mess, obviously no one had made an effort to clean under the beds in months! The next morning we found several more cockroaches of varying sizes around the room. When we approached the front desk and calmly told them about the cockroach infestation we got blank looks and a promise that the room would be "cleaned". Even the assistant manager did not have the curtesy to apologize and we had to ask specifically for a change of rooms which finally was agreed to with much hesitance. Overall extremely poor management of the situation, I feel sorry for the next person who has to stay in one of see dirty rooms! Never staying again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XiawaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are sorry to learn of your adverse feedback on the cleanliness which was very uncompromising. We had taken up this issue immediately with our outsource Pest Control company and seriously reviewing the effectiveness and frequency treatment monthly to prevent from recurrence.

In addition, our Executive Housekeeper will reinforce the cleaning process consistently with our room attendant to ensure rooms are thoroughly clean at all times.

It was indeed an isolated case and we hope this incident will not marred your overall impressions on our hotel and please make me your direct contact for your return trip and I will certainly take the extra steps to make this a memorable stay for you and family.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#178 of 723 in Hong Kong
587 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#213 of 723 in Hong Kong
208 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#459 of 723 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#77 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,461 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#159 of 723 in Hong Kong
500 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $72 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing