We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my home fir the past 10 days!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #189 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“my home fir the past 10 days!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Working here on business, I have always stayed Central or Causeway Bay. This hotel is used extensively by my ground agent, and I can see why. Its in between Causeway Bay and Wanchai.the area is manic, but the trams run just a block away and its a 15 min walk to Wanchai MTR. The hotel is probably a high 3, low 4 star. Rooms as usual are small with functional furniture. Air conditioning works v well. My only gripe re the rooms is a poor reception on the TV and limited channels. No CNN, BBC, BLOOMBERG. Decoration wise its a bit tired. Corridors are fine but wallpaper is lifting in corners and there is mould on silicon around bath and basin. Not a major issue, but needs attention. Breakfast is good value. The Champs sports bar downstairs is good and popular. Overall the hotel needs a little TLC but its run very well with obviously an attentive management team. Would I return? Yes oddly enough. But I hope by then that they have spent a bit of time on issyes.

Room Tip: 2nd floor are all new Signature style. Trendy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation except for the TV channels and options which we are currently embarked onto this project to increase our system capacity to upgrade the picture qualities and reviewing the options to increase the news channel by the end of this month.

Rest assured that we are constantly looking into continual improvements to provide our ultimate commitment in providing great values for all our guests on our products and services.

Once again thank you for providing us these valuable feedbacks and glad to learn of your return visit and certainly looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    302
    189
    69
    41
See reviews for
87
118
109
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here for three weeks in January on business. This is the second time I have stayed here and it's always a pleasure. We went just before chinease new year which was even more amazing! Especially the display in the reception. The buffet breakfast was excellent as always - plenty of options and this time omelettes could be made to ordered which was excellent! The rooms are clean, beds are comfy and the rooms very spacious. The only problem I had this time was that the fridge don't keep things very cold. They were not room temperature but not far off - the fridge also had a strange smell (perfumey) which tainted the bottle etc i had in there. This was reported to room service and I was told it was working normally. Other than that an excellent stay. I recommend the basement restaurant for food - or opposite the hotel there is an excellent Turkish Kebab shop who do lovely pizza!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation and your related comment made on the mini fridge will be reinforced with our staff in Engineering and Housekeeping for improvement in both maintenance and cleanliness.

At all times we wish to ensure our ultimate commitment is carry out in providing great values for all our guests on our products and services.

Once again thank you for providing us these valuable feedbacks and we hope this incident will not marred your overall impressions on our hotel and certainly looking forward to your return visit soon.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Charterhouse is not a big hotel, but staff are great. Knowledgeable and helpful. Room was great and high even up to see just a bit of the New Years fire works in the Harbour. Breakfast was a little rushed sometimes, is the only real complaint. m̀hgòi !

Room Tip: High up and face the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation and be rest assured that we will strive in continuing to improve our guest experiences.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xXx
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here several times for business.
Decent hotel in good location.
Walking distance to MTR, trams, bus etc and v close to Causeway Bay.
Rooms are clean -maybe need a little touch up for the decor (little bit dated) but good condition!
Breakfast is good and staff are friendly and kind.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0X0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation and your kind words made on our services will be shared to our employees.

Indeed our locality will provide easy access to many places of interest and shopping with both Causeway Bay and Wanchai MTR stations nearby.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was great staying at Charterhouse and the pre booking arrangements through one of their managers named Bena Yip offerred an excellent service. In addition the location was ideal to reach times square and many other shopping areas. It was a good stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaTreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation and your kind compliments to our staff Ms Bena Yip who had went beyond in service to make your stay more memorable.

We are ideally located near the shopping malls with easy access to many other attractions.
Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 11th Feb only two nights, on a very late arrival were treated well at reception and complementry room upgrade... wish we didn't have it as it was a signature room, or senses, anyway the room was a good size, shower amazing , sink in bedroom area not good, but the worst thing was the louvered shutters at the window that did not open and behind them the windows were blacked out, so in the morning you did not know if it was night or day , sunny or raining ...it was awful we just did not enjoy the thought of going back to the room but as we only were there for the two nights it was not worth asking to be moved, we definately would if it ws a longer stay.It was a shame as the hotel was very nice, the staff especially Stanley and Mabel and Keung, wifi, food in the buffet, amenities and location,all good, it was that room!! we had no view to see Hong Kong, or even what was happening outside, they say a designer had specially designed them as five senses!!!, well he must have lost all his senses to think that any one would enjoy being denighed daylight....it spoilt the stop over journey on our way home at the end of our holiday.

Room Tip: go and see a senses room first if they offer it or you book it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation, however your concern on the windows had been our challenge too, unfortunately the signature floor was built and located at the lower floor which have limited access of sunlight.

Nevertheless please accept our apology if this has affected your stay, glad that our staff have went beyond in their service to make your stay memorable and your kind words will be shared to them respectively.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located between Wan Chai & Causeway Bay, about 8 min walk west of Wan Chai MTA subway stop. Hotel features several restaurants and a bar. Breakfast is available with a 10% discount from front desk. But there are plenty of eateries nearby. A wonderful bakery is across the street where u can get traditional HK baking goods & milktea if u are in a hurry. Rooms are average HK hotel size and with very good housekeeping. WC pressure is somewhat lacking, but not unusual for HK. Rooms are tastefully furnished. There is free wifi and a gym open from 0600-2200.

Greatest strength of hotel is location. It is 5 min walk to Time Square and Sogo shopping area. hint: if u like fishball soup noodle魚蛋粆, the famous 潮興noodle shop is one block down turning left on Hennessey Road

Overall the experience was wonderful. Improvement can be making the gym 24/7 if it is not staffed at the desk anyway. TV English news should include BBC, CNN. All they have is American Fox News which is just all about the US

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation and your kind words made on our services will be shared our employees.

Indeed our greatest asset is our location which will provide easy access to many places of interest and shopping with both Causeway Bay and Wanchai MTR stations nearby.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#183 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#209 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#456 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#149 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong
#144 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Property: The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing