We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I go to Hong Kong, I stay at the Charterhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #184 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Shanghai, China
1 review
“When I go to Hong Kong, I stay at the Charterhouse”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Got stuck in Hong Kong for the holidays while waiting for my new Chinese visa. This is not my first time in Hong Kong and was surprised by all the negative comments of this venue.

If I recall few years ago the internet was way overpriced so I was glad to discover that now they have a good free wifi access and unlike some other hotels, you can connect all your devices (smartphone, tablet and computer) at the same time with the same login.

The staff there is very nice, including the maids. Rooms are clean. This is not a fancy hotel, it's a budget hotel and I think that in term of facility and services, it has to be regarded as such, so I'm happy to stay here and I will come again and recommend it to my friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Book in advance on their websites so you have the quotation before getting there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmsh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and services had met your expectation with our newly enhancement of Wifi system that could also accommodate more than 5 devices per user per room. Our ultimate objective is to provide great values for all our guests on our products and services and creating a different experience of stay.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you and your friends again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    309
    193
    71
    42
See reviews for
90
120
111
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YORK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My office made a last minute booking for me for 3 rooms without fully checking the price. When I checked in and was told the rate was more than GBP £250 per room per night then I really felt these people had taken advantage. We arrived late & tired and it was obvious that we really did not want to start looking elsewhere so late in the evening. However from the 'tired' state of the lobby I decided that we would find somewhere elsewhere to stay as it was obvious that we were not going to get value for money. Then the insolent chap on the desk pointed out our colleague had given them his credit card details and we would be charged for the rooms in full anyway, whether we stayed or not. I was told I was given a room upgrade but upgrade from what I do not know. On entering the room the smell was disgusting - damp and like a sewer. The room had obviously been refurbished in recent times but overall to a poor standard. The size of the room was what I would have expected had I paid half the price.
Sleep was near impossible as there was a huge background humming noise which after investigation was coming from an electrical cupboard in the room and not possible to turn off.
This is a budget hotel so if you pay budget prices then you would probably tolerate it's short comings as a result of it's convenient location.However it is not a 5 star in any respect and should not be allowed to charge 5 star prices. Will never stay there again and give now label this hotel as providing the poorest value for money of any hotel I have ever stayed in - anywhere.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingfisher888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and pricing.

It was very unfortunate to learn of your disappointment over the pricing despite with the complimentary upgrade to business floor for the rate accorded. Apparently the room pricing fluctuating daily and we anticipated it was probably the high seasons for your preference dates and this could have affected you to pay more for your accommodation.

Nevertheless, please accept our sincere apology for the disappointment including the noise interruption and rest assured your comment are taken seriously for review and hope you woud allow us another opportunity to serve you better.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.


Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights to get a travel visa for China and do some shopping. Great location for all of these things. The China Resources Building on Harbour Road is a five minute walk; shopping at SOGO and Times Square and the Causeway tube station is also an easy five minute walk.

The hotel itself is pleasant enough, its definitely reasonably priced compared to others in Hong Kong and has a decent sports bar in the basement. The single room was very small and I had a single bed which did my back no favors. There was a desk to work from, air conditioning and free internet and some international TV channels. Water pressure and temperature for the shower was good and they provide shower gel and shampoo dispensers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and service had met your expectation and making your stay more memorable.

We are ideally located near the shopping malls that provide easy access to lots of attractions and also within walking distance to MTR stations.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went to HK for an exhibition. The hotel was the cheapest we could find and within walking distance to the convention centre.

Positive points =

- Location was perfect for us. Easy to get a taxi too and when we left we took their shuttle bus to the airport. Very convenient.
- Breakfast was ok too

Negative points =

- No hot water in the evenings. I had to wait 10 mins before I had any hot water. Hot water was better in the evening though.
- Wifi connection wasn't very good in my room. Not convenient for work!

All in all I would go there again as it was convenient for work and within walking distance to the exhibition. In any case, we got what we paid for!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AmykWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and service had met your expectation except for the hot water and Wifi issues.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused and rest assured your related comment will be addressed with our key personnel for improvement especially on the Wifi access.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

She everytime helps us in any situation and especially in looking for shopping malls and enjoyment, business enquiries.

She is a pleasant lady and helpful and attentive to our enquiries with patience even though our English is not fluent. Her devoted service and positive working attitude is an asset to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay and I have no doubt to recommend my friends and business to stay at this hotel to experience her warm and welcome excellent service.

Hotel is in good location. Room is neat and tidy.
Breakfast at the restaurant Gazebo is good.
Good quality bed for sleeping.
Front Office staff also good.

Regards,
Bake & Gosha

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bake70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and service had met your expectation in particular our staff Ms Gorretti Ma from Business Centre had went beyond in her service to make your stay more memorable.

We are strategically located near the shopping malls that provide easy access to many places of interest and shopping.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Oh well. I didn't have much expectations when traveling to Hong-Kong as I know that the HK hotel rooms are small but what I found here was horrible.
Restaurant and stuff was good but room was something I'm unaccustomed in hotels with that price.
The walls had stains. The ceiling near door had some sort of leak from AC (I hope!). Furniture was very old and with scratches all around. Fridge smelled bad with stains inside. And there was ash from cigarettes in bathroom.
So what to say? It's really not worth for that very high price. And the 5* hotel in Ningbo where I was just before HK was much cheaper with completely different feelings as you can see in my previous review.

Room Tip: Choose different hotel, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pribina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused you were put through on your recent experienced with us in particular the room cleanliness and maintenance issues. In fact we are currently on a rejuvenation program to improve the overall of guestrooms on furnishing, carpet, amenities and etc to enhance guest experiences, your related comments made to us will be taken seriously for improvements including the cleanliness.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to the opportunity to serve you better and I will be glad to be at your service.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is ideal for business travel, close to Airport station, Fair, shopping mall - Times Square or Sogo, breakfast ok - fair coffee, staff ok, price is far too high. Close is a very good Thai restaurant and a Turkish one.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NViorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and service had met your expectation and ultimately referring to the extensive transportation system and nearby shopping which will bring you great values.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#186 of 718 in Hong Kong
577 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#213 of 718 in Hong Kong
204 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#159 of 718 in Hong Kong
481 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#514 of 718 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#453 of 718 in Hong Kong
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Property: The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing