We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for work - u get what u pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #188 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went to HK for an exhibition. The hotel was the cheapest we could find and within walking distance to the convention centre.

Positive points =

- Location was perfect for us. Easy to get a taxi too and when we left we took their shuttle bus to the airport. Very convenient.
- Breakfast was ok too

Negative points =

- No hot water in the evenings. I had to wait 10 mins before I had any hot water. Hot water was better in the evening though.
- Wifi connection wasn't very good in my room. Not convenient for work!

All in all I would go there again as it was convenient for work and within walking distance to the exhibition. In any case, we got what we paid for!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank AmykWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and service had met your expectation except for the hot water and Wifi issues.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused and rest assured your related comment will be addressed with our key personnel for improvement especially on the Wifi access.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 776 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

She everytime helps us in any situation and especially in looking for shopping malls and enjoyment, business enquiries.

She is a pleasant lady and helpful and attentive to our enquiries with patience even though our English is not fluent. Her devoted service and positive working attitude is an asset to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay and I have no doubt to recommend my friends and business to stay at this hotel to experience her warm and welcome excellent service.

Hotel is in good location. Room is neat and tidy.
Breakfast at the restaurant Gazebo is good.
Good quality bed for sleeping.
Front Office staff also good.

Regards,
Bake & Gosha

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bake70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and service had met your expectation in particular our staff Ms Gorretti Ma from Business Centre had went beyond in her service to make your stay more memorable.

We are strategically located near the shopping malls that provide easy access to many places of interest and shopping.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Oh well. I didn't have much expectations when traveling to Hong-Kong as I know that the HK hotel rooms are small but what I found here was horrible.
Restaurant and stuff was good but room was something I'm unaccustomed in hotels with that price.
The walls had stains. The ceiling near door had some sort of leak from AC (I hope!). Furniture was very old and with scratches all around. Fridge smelled bad with stains inside. And there was ash from cigarettes in bathroom.
So what to say? It's really not worth for that very high price. And the 5* hotel in Ningbo where I was just before HK was much cheaper with completely different feelings as you can see in my previous review.

Room Tip: Choose different hotel, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pribina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused you were put through on your recent experienced with us in particular the room cleanliness and maintenance issues. In fact we are currently on a rejuvenation program to improve the overall of guestrooms on furnishing, carpet, amenities and etc to enhance guest experiences, your related comments made to us will be taken seriously for improvements including the cleanliness.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to the opportunity to serve you better and I will be glad to be at your service.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is ideal for business travel, close to Airport station, Fair, shopping mall - Times Square or Sogo, breakfast ok - fair coffee, staff ok, price is far too high. Close is a very good Thai restaurant and a Turkish one.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NViorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and service had met your expectation and ultimately referring to the extensive transportation system and nearby shopping which will bring you great values.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ten minute stroll from Times Square (a shopping mall) we enjoyed our stay here. Okay the rooms were on the small size, but after reading some reviews here, we were expecting even smaller. The decor was acceptable, and the room clean & bug free. My only niggle would be the bathroom grouting could do with a service & a poor amount of tv channels.
The staff were very pleasant and cheerful and understood English.
There's a hotel bar (expensive) plus their Champs bar which is open to the general public. The buffet restaurant does a good breakfast for 77HKD (99 at weekends) which will fill you up for most of the day.
Our window view was the same as our NY hotel stay last year... Buildings. A minor minus in a good stay. We would definitely consider staying again.
We got a discount for booking online (which I discovered after sending them a general email)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are glad to learn that the overall product and service had met your expectation, apparently we offer different travelers’ needs with different room types that have various sizes and perhaps you may let our reservation colleague knows of your preference to your next trip.

It was to our surprise to learn of your feedback on bathroom grouting since the regular routine maintenance was carried out daily, rest assured we will definitely look into this issue with the preventive measures.

We regret that we are unable to provide you with more selection of TV channels, however your feedback will be re-assess for improvement soon.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to serve you better on your return stay.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a bad hotel experience. A friend has told me the property was fine and I went along with it. Having seen the very special "S" and "Signature" type rooms on their separate website, I though that perhaps and older hotel had refurbished 1 floor and that it would be the exception in an older property.

The SIGNATURE rooms have NO WINDOWS. You read that correctly; their HIGH LEVEL SUPER UPGRADE BUSINESS FRIENDLY rooms HAVE NO WINDOWS. It is located on the 2ND FLOOR.

What do you get in a SIGNATURE room on the 2nd floor ????

1. Upgraded Hallway trying to seem cool and modern - however echoes all interactions between your neighbor and his negotiations with his nightly guests from Wanchai.
2. Room smelled heavily of Mildew.
3. Room was dark and depressing. No natural light. Limited artificial light. Cold.
4. Dirty countertop that needs to be washed.
5. Average bed. Average small sitting area.
6. Tiny tiny tiny 1 seat "business center" with NO PRINTER. Printing requires you to take the ancient lifts to the basement next to the executive offices.

In summary, you get NOTHING SPECIAL. It is a lesser quality room in my opinion than most of their REGULAR ROOMS. The Signature marketing is effectively photographic lies. After 2 nights in this dreadful Signature room FEELING LIKE A COMPLETE FOOL for having paid this price for what I had; I decided to pack up and demand alternatives.

HOTEL PROVIDED ALTERNATIVES

After complaining and arguing back and forth since I had made the mistake of booking 10 nights at this property. The hotel provided some alternatives.

I had a look at their typical and generally cheap "S" Non-Signature room on higher floor ("S" and "Signature" are mutually exclusive descriptors). Nothing special and worn, but at least there was light.

I was also shown one of the Suite rooms. Now, the reader may presume the suite to be an upgrade but the original hotel offer price on the Suite was the same as the "SIGNATURE" price. The Suite was well aged and wreaked of years of smoking in the room. Feeling like I had little choice left, I had the staff remove the screws on the window to force some fresh air in and stay in the room.

The Suites have a small sitting area and desk. It was a nice room and had some light. Nonetheless, after several days in the winter with the windows open for any non-smoke air; I ultimately checked out with the room and all my belongings wreaking of smoke still.

I would also note that the bed was SUFFICIENTLY OLD and WARPED that I removed the bed sheets and slept on the floor in the room each night. Of my 30+ visits to HK, this was the absolute and unconditionally WORST property that I have stayed at.

I highly recommend avoiding this property. Most of the properties that I have concerns with, I would still consider returning to if need be. Between all parties our group billed close to 20,000 HKD on that trip -- management offered no form of refund or discount for the issues. NOT 1$. They act as though they are concerned, but not enough to warrant even a 1% discount or even a complimentary breakfast for the issues. They know what their property is.

Room Tip: Inspect room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and services.

We are sorry for all the inconvenience caused you had experienced on your recent stay in our signature rooms which was definitely uncompromising although with our aimed is to provide great experience and values for all our guests.

Apparently we learn from occasional incident that our front line staff could have oversight to mention to you our signature floor is located on lower level and explaining the windows mechanism should you need to access the window opening.

Nevertheless please accept our sincere apology and be rest assured that your others related comments especially on the cleanliness will be reinforce in our staff trainings to ensure they are competence in providing values to all our guests in any circumstances.

We shall look into these areas deeply for improvement and once again we regret
to learn of your unpleasant experience and we hope you would allow us another opportunity to serve you better.

Thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to your return stay.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This review was long due. I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Hong Kong. I booked it after seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor. Hotel rooms are cramped, some of the staff at front desk are rude and the breakfast buffet menu gets on your nerves in a few days. Housekeeping staff is efficient and so is the concierge. But I was taken a back by the receptionists rudeness. I reached the hotel at around 11.30 PM, I payed and put my luggage with the concierge thinking that I'll be back around 2 PM which is the official check-in time. But due to lack of sleep I wasn't feeling well so I walked in at 1.45 PM and asked the receptionist if I could get the room. Very rudely she replied that room will not be given before 2 PM and when I went again at 2.10 PM to ask for the room keys she said the room is not ready wait till 3.30 PM. I explained to her that this is unacceptable and I am not feeling well. And so miraculously a room appeared and she gave me the keys. After seeing this behavior, I decided to find myself another hotel. Which I did and am happy with my decision. HK has lot of good hotels so think before you book this one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geet_Kamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywongHongKong, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our staff service.

We deeply sorry for the behavior you had experienced upon your arrival which is uncompromising, rest assured your comment had been taken seriously with our team at the reception for improvement.

Nevertheless, we wish you would allow us another opportunity to serve you better and kindly make me your direct contact if you decide to stay with us again on your next stay.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.


Yours sincerely,

On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#180 of 726 in Hong Kong
588 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,521 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#216 of 726 in Hong Kong
208 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#468 of 726 in Hong Kong
428 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $85 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing