We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Ranked #181 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Charterhouse Hotel whilst staying for 4 nights in Hong Kong on vacation. As it was our first stay in Hong Kong we were not sure what to expect but the accommodation was excellent for our vacation. The rooms are not large but definitely adequate. The location was perfect for us and very affordable. Only minutes by taxi from the train station, easy to catch transport. Staff very helpful and both my wife and I walked around the area late at night without a worry. Breakfast is the only meal we had at the hotel, which was a banquet. Western and Eastern tastes were catered for and not expensive. We travelled daily and location was perfect for us, as is quiet area but only minutes walk to the hustle and bustle of the city.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and the views over the city were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikecudgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you for your compliment shared on Tripadvisor.



It is great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in Hong Kong at the hotel and appreciate the friendly service, location convenience and value for money accommodation service.



I am sure you have explored the hustle and bustle around the Wanchai and Causeway Bay area. There are many retail shops and restaurants around the hotel which many of our guests call it a shopping and dining paradise.



We will share your good experience with our fellow colleagues and encourage them to go beyond their borders and perform better.



We look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future.



Yours sincerely,



The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    304
    191
    69
    41
See reviews for
88
118
110
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed at the charter house for 4 nights, we didnt find the staff very friendly, or warm, the foyer smelt so strong of pot pourri it was quite irritating, however the worst part was that when we asked them if they could store our luggage after check out, so we could walk around for a few more hours before out flight( which was at midnight), we were horrified to find they had left ALL OUR LUGGAGE IN THEIR DRIVEWAY, including my handbag with my passport in it. I was so shocked, it was a few meters easily in view of the main street Wan Chai Rd ..
NEVER staying here again.. be careful.

Room Tip: if u do wish to stay here- pick the signature rooms, they are probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pie871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.



We are sorry that you are not happy with pot pourri scent that we have been trying to create in the lobby.



The hotel drive way is part of the hotel property under the guardianship of our security officers. Besides, those stored luggage are covered by baggage net. We always urge our guests to have their valuable items including passport and travel document taken with them all the time.



Security is one key element in our guest service and we make no compromise on this.



Thank you again for your comments.



Yours sincerely,



The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Charterhouse for 3 nights in January. Overall we found the hotel very impressive and a good 3 star base to explore Hong Kong. The location was very good in between Wan Chai and Causeway Bay MTR stations. We found it easy to get to by train from the airport. There was an excellent street market nearby with local produce and lots of fresh seafood.

The room and bed was comfortable and clean and we had a lovely view of the mountains. We did not have an issue with noise, there was little to no street noise in the room we stayed in on the 15th floor. We didn't find the room to be too small, we had 4 suitcases and managed to have enough room to be comfortable. The only negative would be the smell in the lobby and the room - it smelt a bit musty and covered with air freshener. But we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to the mid-range traveller.

Room Tip: Higher floor for less street noise and a room facing the mountains at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you for your comment shared on the Tripadvisor.



It is great to learn that you appreciate the service, location, transportation access and the room comfort. Happy that you passed by the local market and found it interesting. A lot of our guests buy fresh fruits and are amazed by the bargain and offer of choices there.



There is a week's time in mid January when humidity level in Hong Kong is extremely high that might cause the odor. That explains why our housekeeper had used air freshener to keep the air smelling pleasant during that period of time.



We thank for your appreciation on the value-for-money accommodation experience and look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future.



Yours sincerely



The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Rooms are unbelievably small. We were travelling with 6 suitcases and when they arrived in the room we could not get out of bed as they filled the only floor space available.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to signature but we were told that although there are more luxuries the floor spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.



With six pieces of suitcases, I could image there are limited space to maneuver in the room. You are very right. We would always recommend our guests to book a suite or studio instead, that gives more space. Our suite and studio is 40 to 50% bigger than our normal guest rooms.



Alternatively, the hotel can keep some of the suitcases in storage room. Our bell captain is always happy to assist if our guests need to re-organize their belongings in their bags.



We are happy to book you a suite or studio room for your next visit in Hong Kong.



Yours sincerely



The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagoshima, Japan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

The hotel is conviniently located between Wanchai and Causeway Bay. I stayed for 3 or 4 nights. The place is clean and comfortable, good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.



It is great to learn that you enjoyed the location convenience and accommodation service of the hotel. It has been our objective to deliver value for money services to our guests.



Look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future, and delivering you value for money accommodation service.



Yours sincerely



The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for our wedding in Hong Kong for 3 nights and were recommended to stay in the Charterhouse. Good service, great location in Wanchai and a great breakfast buffet. Our VIP room was clean and well maintained. The cleaning service was prompt and very effiecient. The only downside in my view is the tv programme selection they offer. Very poor indeed. No propper news channel (BBC or CNN). All in all it was a very good stay and yes would probably stay in the Charterhouse again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you very much for your comment shared on Tripadvisor.



We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and appreciate the location convenience, friendly service, room maintenance and the buffet breakfast.



We treasure your comment about selection of TV channels. The hotel has continuously made improvement on this area. For your information, with effect from 22 January, there will be an addition of four sports channels showing Rugby, Cricket, NBA and other sports.



We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.



Yours sincerely,



The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

My family stayed at Charterhouse for 5 days and I would like to compliment the training department for training the hotel staff to show outstanding hospitality to all guests. Provis who mans the concierge is ever friendly and showed total dedication providing answers to all our queries. Rooms are very clean and have a strong hot water flow for showers.
Charterhouse location is excellent, a mere 5 min walk from Times Square. To get there, I cut through the market and even got some sweet fruits!
Charterhouse is a place I would definitely stay again!:)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vikki l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymondsiu, Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you for your comment shared on Tripadvisor. It is great to learn about your compliments to our training department. The hotel has been putting a lot of resources to ensure our staff are trained to have the right skills and right attitude to serve our guests.



Provis, our Chief Concierge, has been recently awarded Staff of The Year. It is the management’s recognition for the effort and heart that he puts on his job and serves our guests. We will pass on your compliment to Provis.



Thank you for your appreciation on the convenient hotel location, service standard and hotel room accommodation.



We look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future.



Yours sincerely



The Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#187 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#207 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#446 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#157 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
#457 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel

Property: The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Address: No.209-219 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong is an elegant hotel, conveniently located at the edge of Causeway Bay in Hong Kong Island. The Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Causeway Bay MTR subway stations are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The majority of tourist attractions and business areas are easily accessible within 10 minutes drive. Considering the needs of our business visitors, our hotel shuttle will take you to Hong Kong Convention and exhibition Centre during trade fair and event periods in just a few minutes. For our visitors exploring different beauties of Hong Kong, splendid shopping malls like Times Square, Hysan Place and easy transportation system like Causeway Bay subway station are a few steps from our hotel which will never disappoint you. The Gazebo Restaurant, Champs Bar, Harry's Bar and Lounge and Fitness Room 23 hours a day provides you the relaxing places to enjoy your life and escape from the hustle and speed of the city of the day. Free Wifi is available at all guestrooms and public areas are even make your stay more pleasurable. In order to provide a healthy and smoke-free environment for global travelers, The Charterhouse Causeway Bay has been completely a smoke-free hotel to ensure our guests a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charterhouse Hotel Hong Kong
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing