We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Ranked #65 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed there for a night on 27th June. As other travellers have mentioned, the property is on steep hill. if you are taking shuttle service from Kowloon that drops you on main road and you have some luggage, be prepared for a steep climb. I booked a room with King size bed. They did not have the room and offered a twin bedded room. After insisting on having a single bed, they upgraded me to a suite. This was a nice courtesy. The front staff was helpful and they infact helped me take luggage to room. I did not have their breakfast. Overall nice hotel to be in HongKong

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorairaj_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

It’s good to learn that you had a good time with us during your stay. Our staff are always available to ensure the best service for our guests.

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in HK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 806 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had a really good hotel experience here. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and big enough for a single occupancy (i was travelling with a couple so i get my own room! HA!)
just...great.
free wifi, smoking room, A/C worked great, bathroom was lovely, breakfast buffet everyday, all to myself.
felt secure, comfortable, well looked-after. great hotel. good staff. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMaria16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel and glad to hear that your visit with us was comfortable. We are wholeheartedly committed to offer an excellent service to make our guests truly enjoyable. Our friendly staff is pleased to be of your service and we trust you’ll have a memorable experience.

We look forward to serving you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A very well maintained hotel on the hills of Hong Kong . A bit of a limb up the hill to get to the hotel which is strenuous when pulling your luggage up. Rooms are excellent and clean . Comfortable bed. A welcome fruit platter on arrival and a thnk you chocolate plate on departure. Will go back to stay at this hotel if ever I visit Hong Kong again.

Room Tip: Try and book a room on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flausa234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stayed with us and we are gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay here.

We are looking forward to welcoming and servicing you. Hope we can make your visit comfortable and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hillview for a 2 night stopover in Hong Kong. We were surprised to receive a room upgrade to the top floor 13th floor which was quite luxurious. Fantastic bed and biggest pillow we have ever seen. Room very clean, facilities including bathroom great. Staff were helpful, breakfast plentiful. Only complaint - we had to pay $3 AUD / hour for Internet even in the foyer! Crazy and very non-competitive in such a big market.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank JR_1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel. It was great to know that the accommodation and service were to your liking, except your remarks given on the chargeable wifi during your stay had been acknowledged, we do apologize to say that free wifi access was not included in your booking.

With our repeated thanks for having your patronage. We are looking forward to your next visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I just spent one night in this hotel. This hotel is my first time stayed in. The beds were little bit hard but clean. I love the room had welcome fruit and small chocolate when i came in. The best thing that i want to appreciate the staff at the reception called Ariel. She is very friendly and helpful. It was raining in the evening and i needed to find a good place to have dinner. i went to reception and asked the girl at the reception desk to recommend a good restaurant to have dinner. She gave a list of places in the city and also added that there was a good restaurant just near the hotel. It was easier to walk and she even told me the room got umbrella inside. i would rate this as excellent service, over and above her normal duties.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ju611970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for having you with us and your flattering remarks conveyed to inspire us to upkeep our service standards.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The place was excellent and really comfortable. But when we arrived, no one carried ourbags to the room. I was just thinking it was because of the time since we arrived 2 in the morning. The room is small but I am satisfied with the cleanlines. I love the bathtub even though it is not thatbig. Staffs were friendly. Will stay again if I get a chance.

2  Thank Straissan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip and your valuable comments delivered to inspire us to upkeep our service standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming and servicing you. Hope we can make your visit comfortable and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service and facilities befit its 4 stars designation. The rooms are larger than the all similarly priced hotels in TST, Kowloon. The service is excellent - I stayed there for almost 3 weeks with a break in between. There were welcome gift of fresh fruits and occasional treats of Belgian chocolate, plus 2 bottles of mineral water every day. The main buffet style (international cuisine) restaurant on the main floor was of excellent quality - I noticed that it was very popular with the locals. Early booking would be necessary especially during the weekends. I had used it twice to entertain.
When I arrived at Stanford Hillview Hotel the first time, I had used the free shuttle bus from the Airport Express Kowloon Station. The bus dropped me off at the foot of Observatory Road. It was quite a struggle for a 65 years old man to pull my 3 week supple up the hill! The second time, a week later, of course I took a cab to the front door!

Room Tip: Floors above the 10 floors have the best views. For day to day travel, I discovered that I could us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

It was great to hear your encouraging comments which inspired us to better serve our guests.

Thank you for having you with us and we look forward to be of your service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#96 of 726 in Hong Kong
680 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#41 of 726 in Hong Kong
311 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Hillview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hillview Hotel

Address: 13-17 Observatory Road on Knutsford Terrace, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $89 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Hillview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush trees and Hong Kong’s best shopping and entertainment hotspots, Stanford Hillview Hotel - located in Tsim Sha Tsui’s famed Knutsford Terrace - offers you an unparalleled experience of leisure and lively activity in the heart of the city while staying at ease inside the tranquility of the modern comfort of our hotel. Our rooms Our 178 nature-themed guestrooms, with a stunning view either of the Hong Kong Observatory or the bustling Tsim Sha Tsui area, are a great getaway with a convenient location. Our NEARBY ATTRACTIONS Whether you are looking for convenience to meeting venues or places for sightseeing and entertainments, here at Stanford Hillview Hotel will ease all your needs: just steps away from Knutsford Terrace, “Korean Town”, Granville Road, Kowloon Park and more, where you can find all the best food and shopping in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Stanford Hillview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hillview Hong Kong
Hotel Stanford Hillview
Stanford Hillview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing