We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Ranked #70 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kennesaw, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for the money!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Because of my bad knee, climbing the steep hill to get to the entrance of the hotel was a chore. This eliminates it from future stays for me (if I ever go back to HK). Hotel is very conveniently located near everything and because of its good location, it commands a certain premium in room rates, despite its dated construction, hard beds (a little uncomfortable). All hotels in this area near Nathan Road would be expensive. I wrongly assumed water bottles were complimentary, but at check-out, receptionist charged me HK$80 for 2 bottles. Staff is friendly, particularly the concierge young guy who carried my suitcase all the way to my room, but was nowhere to be seen at check-out. Airport Shuttle bus is very convenient, but a bit pricey (HK$130 each way), and the hotel also offers free shuttle service during the day to other locations in HK, which is very useful. Overall, a positive experience, nothing really bad to complain about.

Room Tip: Specify at check-in whether you want 2 beds or one Queen. I was asked, and got 2 single beds, when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhaggag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
It was indeed our pleasure to have you stayed with us and thank you for your comments delivered. With regard to your remarks given on the charged bottled water during your stay, we would like to say that we do provide complimentary water bottles on the glass shelf in room, perhaps you might not aware of them.

With our repeated thanks for having your patronage. We do appreciate your kind understanding in this respect. And we look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    397
    114
    16
    9
See reviews for
107
265
78
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albany
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a reasonably priced, well appointed hotel within easy walking distance of the MRT and Nathan Rd. The rooms have everything that you would need and the bed was very comfortable. Staff at checking in and out were friendly and efficient. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy here. This is an excellent hotel for your visit to Kowloon and with an Octopus card an ideal base to explore Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albanytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here.

We are looking forward to welcoming and servicing you. Hope we can make your visit comfortable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

When looking for a reasonably priced hotel in TST, I came across the Stanford Hillview. It was well reviewed here, so I thought I'd try it. The hotel is modern and clean, and the location is right at Knutsford Terrace restaurants and bars! It's not far to the MRT, and a little over five minute walk to Nathan Road. Just far enough away to avoid the tailor touts and watch guys. Easy walk to the Temple Street night market. The price is very attractive, and the rooms, while not large, are very nice. The only criticism is the breakfast buffet, when I went they were out of several items and slow to replenish. The airport shuttle they have makes getting there easy. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponseHillview, General Manager at Stanford Hillview Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
It was indeed our pleasure to have you stayed with us and thank you for your comments delivered. Your remark given on the shortcomings in the breakfast buffet which you experienced has been directed to our prompt attention and follow up for improvement in this area.

With our repeated thanks for having your patronage and apologized for the inconvenience which may cause you. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as my husband had stayed here the previous year when attending the Hong Kong Electronics show, as we did on this stay. It is a reasonably priced hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast buffet more than adequate. It is in a convenient place and we had no problems in getting about from here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luna1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located near TST station. The hotel is on a hill which you may find a struggle if you have a heavy luggage. However, you can take a short cut at Knutford Terrace which has a row of restaurant. Once you are at the hotel location, there is an entrance for taxi which is part of the hotel. Use the entrance and go to the lift to the reception.

Rooms are fairly standard, TV, kettle, complementary water bottle, and some fruits. Free wifi service which is quite fast.. Room is nice and tidy.. Bathroom is basic but is good enough..

There is a complementary shuttle service (K4) in Kimberly room which takes you to Kwoloon station to catch the Airport Express.

Walk to Kwoloon Park which is a stone throw away and it's a good way to be away from the busy life of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank generationspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This place is not very flash but has all the amenities you need, has helpful staff, is very well-situated, and is very good value. I'd rather spend the $100 difference per night in price compared with the Nikko on Hong Kong's great food and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Location was good (tst). Walking distance to Avenue of Stars (only a MTR station away-east tst), temple street market (1 station away-jordan), ladies market & not to be missed sports goods (2 stations away-yau ma tei). Kowloon Park is just infront. Up the hill behind Mirama Tower. Hill is steep. Take a short cut by Knutsford. Shopping all around the streets area. There's a shop selling affordable tops compared to the high end shopping centre. 7-11 stores all over the place. Room pretty small but clean. Daily housekeeping. Change towels & stock up toiletries daily but not bedsheet. Paid wifi is for 24hrs use, ask frontdesk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiKratos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#95 of 718 in Hong Kong
631 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#132 of 718 in Hong Kong
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,856 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#36 of 718 in Hong Kong
262 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Hillview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hillview Hotel

Property: Stanford Hillview Hotel
Address: 13-17 Observatory Road on Knutsford Terrace, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hillview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Hillview Hotel is located on Knutsford Terrace in a quiet corner of Kowloon's busting Tsimshatsui; Hong Kong's premier shopping and entertainment area, well-known for its late night chats and cheers, and great dining experience. The Hotel features 178 elegantly furnished rooms and suites. Wi-Fi High Speed Internet accesses are available within Hotel premises. Stanford Hillview Hotel offers complimentary scheduled shuttle bus service to Hung Hom MTR Station, Airport Express Kowloon Station, China Hong Kong City Ferry Terminal and Stanford Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Hillview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hillview Hong Kong
Hotel Stanford Hillview
Stanford Hillview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing