We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good match for my needs on this trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Ranked #65 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a perfect balance for a budget-conscious (but not cash-strapped) traveler who a hotel right in Hong Kong (Kowloon really) and wants no compromises in a room that you'd find in a good European hotel but who is willing to walk a little to the nearest MTR station. And that's what I got in the Stanford Hillview Hotel. Good, safe, clean hotel up to European standards. Room was small, but I've stayed in smaller. It was something like a Hotel Mercur property.

If you are a tall Causasian male, expect to be offered a custom-made suit on every walking trip to or from the MTR during regular business hours. It's not a big deal, but don't let it surprise you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utahania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 801 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is situated in Tshim sha tsui so in the center of kowloon. I'ts directly on the knutsford street where they are many different restaurants(but they are more expensive)
The room were always very good. I stayed there 3 times and one time i get an upgrade to a superior room for 2 weeks...
The staffwas very friendly and helpful
The location is great. In 3 mins you get to the Tst metro station.
Overall a great hotel for a town visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razzor9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night passing through Hong Kong. The hotel is about half an hour from the airport and at the top of a steep hill. The Location is great as there is a street full of restaurants and bars just around the corner.

The check in was fast and efficient. The room was quite big and was fine for one night stay, just a little dated in terms of the decor. The bathrooms could do with updating and look worn and tired but the biggest let down was that the bed was so hard. It put us off booking this hotel again for our later return night in Hong Kong, However in hindsight we should have booked this hotel again, we chose another hotel as a review on trip advisor had said they had comfy beds but they were just the same so we ended up taking a taxi back to Knutsford Terrace again for dinner.

The hotel has free wifi and the breakfast selection was very good

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent a couple of nights in Hong Kong on our way to NZ, Stanford Hillview Hotel provided comfort, good service, great food and location. Although the bathroom was very small the bedroom was a decent size especially with there being three of us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place is a wonderful choice for everyone who wants to enjoy authentic Hong Kong nightlife and experience infinite shopping occasions. Just around the corner lays Knutsford terrace with a vats choice of excellent restaurants and some of the best clubs in Hong Kong. Even though its central location, Stanford hillview offers a great getaway of the busy Hong Kong streets and 24/7 society. the rooms have wonderful interior and offer a very pleasant, comfortable atmosphere. The beds are very comfortable as well and offer enough room even for tall people. Staff speaks excellent English and is happy to help out in any matter. If someone doesn't feel like taking the short way uphill to get to the entrance, one can simply use the elevator in the garage located at the end of Knutsford terrace. Overall a wonderful stay in this hotel and the best of it's kind I have experienced in Hong Kong so far. Definetely worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

above the average of Hong Kong hospitality standard,
meet a very friendly room-cleaner lady,
enjoy the bed, the blanket & the pillow so much... made me sleeping for almost 8 hours!
like the small, compact, clean and efficient bathroom

highly appreciate the free wi-fi, fruit and the chocolate-nut cake

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kusumarupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I have been travel annually to Asia for about the last 10 years. When travelling to South East Asia or Southern China we do so through Hong Kong.
Whenever we are in Hong Kong we stay at the Stanford Hillview Hotel. Each stay over the last 10 years has been as pleasant as the first.
Over the years the hotel has continually upgraded both the rooms and the lobby areas.
The rooms are always clean, staff professional and helpful in providing directions to local tourist venues.
Standard and superior rooms are basic, a little on the small size by western standards (normal for Hong Kong) but well laid out with mini bar, and safe. The executive floor is fancier with more modern furnishings
There are non-smoking floors (majority of the hotel) and I understand there is a fitness centre (although we have never found the time to use it or view it)
Luggage storage is available at a very reasonable rate.
Because the hotel is located up a small hill away from a main road it is quieter than hotels overlooking a main street. It is a bit of a walk up the hill during the hot season, so be aware of this if you have any health limitations.
The location is ideal, close to an endless number of restaurants both on Knutsford Terrace, and every other street in the neighbourhood (noodle shops to very high end) as well as the MTR, Star Ferry docks and Kowloon ferry docks (all within 10- 15 walking distance). Harbour City shopping is a about a 15 minute walk from the hotel and the night markets are only 1 to 2 subway stops away.
All in all a very good hotel for travellers looking for a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary_TO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#90 of 725 in Hong Kong
674 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#40 of 725 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#145 of 725 in Hong Kong
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Hillview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Hillview Hotel

Address: 13-17 Observatory Road on Knutsford Terrace, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $86 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanford Hillview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush trees and Hong Kong’s best shopping and entertainment hotspots, Stanford Hillview Hotel - located in Tsim Sha Tsui’s famed Knutsford Terrace - offers you an unparalleled experience of leisure and lively activity in the heart of the city while staying at ease inside the tranquility of the modern comfort of our hotel. Our rooms Our 178 nature-themed guestrooms, with a stunning view either of the Hong Kong Observatory or the bustling Tsim Sha Tsui area, are a great getaway with a convenient location. Our NEARBY ATTRACTIONS Whether you are looking for convenience to meeting venues or places for sightseeing and entertainments, here at Stanford Hillview Hotel will ease all your needs: just steps away from Knutsford Terrace, “Korean Town”, Granville Road, Kowloon Park and more, where you can find all the best food and shopping in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stanford Hillview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hillview Hong Kong
Hotel Stanford Hillview
Stanford Hillview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing