We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Hongkong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Pacific Hotel
Ranked #184 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Rumst
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value in Hongkong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Localized on the east part of the city and at some distance from the ferry station, looking quiet old on the outside. But stylish and very neat inside, beautiful friendly staff, good functional services, very efficient hotel desk, friendly cleaning staff. The room shows some age but is neat and functional. The double room is not spacious but enough for travellers. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floor gives better sight of the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budhy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    323
    148
    28
    6
See reviews for
47
94
69
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is basically a business hotel that dabbles in tourist travel. So, the rooms are a bit small but the bathroom had an amazing toilet with lots of buttons. Staff is fully capable of helping you with any tour or advice you might require. On site food is fine. Location will allow you to walk to most anything you would want to visit, or walk to a subway or ferry station and get to any place in town. We chose to take the airport train to the station closest to the hotel and take a taxi from there. That worked out very well for us. Is it plush, no; is it what you need? Probably.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chawinflut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked this from the airport, and arrived late in the evening. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Night shift had more limited English than days, but we managed. The rooms were Large, with one wall of glass. The beds were comfortable, linens fine, bathroom a little small, but nothing like what we would see in days to come. Highly recommend, would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The building is round, I believe all rooms have large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent two short stays at that hotel for a business trip last month. The hotel was booked for me by my colleagues in our HK office and it was a very good and practical choice, very close (5 min walk) to the office where I had to go in Time Square (also where the Causeway metro station is).
I had the first part of my stay with one night, then travelled in another Asian country and returned to this hotel 2 nights later, for another short stay of 2 nights. Both stays were very nice. The room I had for my first one-night stay was a very large room, suite-type (I guess I was lucky!) on 23rd floor, second part of my trip, I was in a more normal room, smaller but very clean and nice.
Only minor point: the breakfast is not really that great. I did not choose the Asian specialties, but for the European - continental part of the buffet, the choice was more limited and the quality of fruit juices, cereals, etc wasn't exceptional.

Room Tip: If you're non-smoker, ask for a room on a non-smoking floor (to make sure you have no smoking sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

First a little bit about the travelling:
As many others I used the airport of Shenzhen for my visit to Hong Kong. On my way to Hong Kong I used the bus-service, but on the way back I used the relatively new subway-line.
Advise: Take the bus! It's faster and much more comfortable.

Then about the hotel: What a pleasant surprise!
I booked the hotel through Ctrip and selected for the combination of price & location, without too much expectation for quality.
But at my arrival the door was opened for me by very friendly staff, check in was taken care of in less then 5 minutes (all experienced China/Hong Kong travellers know this is extremely fast) and the room was very clean and spacious.
Location: 5 minutes walk from Time-Square/Sub-way (Causeway bay), many Asian restaurants around the corner (no worries, also McDonalds, KFC and Starbucks are within 5 min walk) and near Happy Valley Race Track (for those who -like me- never visited a horse race before: Go there, you will not regret!)
So....Conclusion can only be: Go!

Oh, one point I cannot judge...I had a room without breakfast (I am not sure what is standard) and did not join any breakfast at the hotel (too much nice Asian food in the area :-D)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Da_BenDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Great sized rooms and staff were lovely!!! When we got there they showed us where to go for sight seeing and how to get there. The beds were comfy and great shower! We are planning on staying here again In a few weeks on our way out of Asia.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1983Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
BEST WESTERN Hotel Causeway Bay
BEST WESTERN Hotel Causeway Bay
#458 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#448 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
#449 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pacific Hotel

Property: South Pacific Hotel
Address: No.23 Morrison Hill Rd, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a cylindrical architectural style mounted in glass curtain-wall, the Hotel has 299 rooms & suites well appointed with a panoramic city view on 28 floors. Located in Wanchai, the Hotel is adjacent to Causeway Bay premier entertainment area, Happy Valley Racecourse & few minutes drive to Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pacific Hong Kong
Hotel South Pacific
South Pacific Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing