We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor quality, overpriced food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silvermine Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #359 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Poor quality, overpriced food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My daughter, granddaughter and I went here for lunch today and will not go back. We waited at least half an hour for them to take our order, and to make that happen my daughter and I both at different times tried to flag down a server. Finally I went and stood next to one at another table until she paid some attention to us. To be fair, a number of tables filled up around the same time, which was about 12:30, but shouldn't a beachside terrace cafe expect this at lunchtime? For the longest time there seemed to be only one server tending the entire long row of tables, about a dozen, many filled with large groups.

Initially we planned to go for the afternoon tea set ($138 for two) but that didn't start until 2, and we were already hungry. But we discovered the same tea set on the dessert menu (go figure) for $168, so ordered that. It was 1 1/4 hours from the time we sat down until the food arrived, and I can assure you it wasn't worth waiting for.

The first sign of food delivery was ONE cup of lukewarm, weak coffee and we had to point out on the menu where it says "afternoon tea for two with tea or coffee" which leads one to believe that two beverages come with "tea for two". A seriously barely drinkable "beverage" that, by itself, costs $35 ($5US)! After another long wait a second cup of coffee arrived, and about 15 minutes later the food items, and no coffee refills were offered, so lousy coffee was finished long before.

There was one club sandwich cut into four pieces (luncheon meat, omelette, tomato, cheap sweet mayo on toasted white bread - a very typical Hong Kong sandwich) plus half a dozen or so small, mediocre sweet items such as a piece of dry bread/cake with candied peel in it, a very small raisin scone (stale), two tiny fruit/custard tarts, two cupcakes, an apple tart, and I guess that's it. Any cream was artificial, everything was dry, and nothing tasted like much of everything. And this was $168HKD plus 10% SERVICE CHARGE for the worst service imaginable! And, to add insult to injury, when the bill arrived it showed $35 for an extra coffee. We had to argue with them that "tea set for two" includes two beverages. This seemed to be news to both the server and the guy who was consulted on the matter. We finally got that straightened out and paid $185 ($24US) for this disaster.

The best thing about this place is that it's right across the street from the beach where my granddaughter and I were able to go for a walk while my daughter sat at the table dying of hunger.

Please learn from our mistake and don't waste your time and money like we did!

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateinVancover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    158
    115
    54
    35
See reviews for
98
144
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Silvermine Beach Resort offers a tranquil escape after a hectic day in Hong Kong. It's a short 5 minute walk from the Mui Wo ferry terminal on Lantau Island: the fast ferry to HK city is 30 min and the slow ferry is 45 min. Fare is cheap and you can use your Octopus pass. The big Buddha is on Lantau Island, as is the Tai O fishing village. You can easily spend a relaxing day poking around the island and the bus service is good. Beach in front of the resort is clean.

The hotel is a 2* and that is apparent in the reception area, hallways and restaurant. Breakfast is included but don't bother with it, it's sub standard. Grab coffee and a muffin at Starbucks in Pier 7 when you get to HK city and you'll be much happier. Ask for a room that has been redone. The rooms are basic, no frills, but clean although the cleaning service is sporadic.

The Turkish restaurant in the village of Mui Wo has great food at a reasonable price. The owner is a gem. Try it and enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed on Lantau island to be close to family; although when we tried to check in they couldn't find our booking this was soon remedied. We had 2 excellent rooms overlooking beach on first floor; beds were huge and comfy with the bathroom nice & modern. Breakfast downstairs in dining room was good with plenty of choice. Mui Wo is so convenient for fast ferry into HK. So all in all a good choice. Staff were friendly & helpful. Only downside no lift to 1st floor

Room Tip: first floor overlooking beach a "must"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john g j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel staff don't seem to understand the concept of service. The receptionist pretty much demanded that I pay once I checked in. Thought maybe it was the language barrier so I brushed it off. But service lapses just kept happening.

Called asking if they have a laundry bag we could use and they quite curtly said no. I then asked if they had the next day laundry service as stipulated on the hotel menu and they said no again.

Their kitchen technically closes at 11pm but they had no more ingredients to make a club sandwich and many other dishes at 10.30pm. Ordered a lasagna instead. The manager comes out 5min later with a frozen piece of lasagna and says it will take too long to defrost and that the kitchen staff need to go home. Tells us to order something else, as if it's our fault for being hungry so late.

Hotel staff only seem to tidy the rooms at around 3pm, and they don't bother asking if you even want the room cleaned.

The hotel has a so-called sports bar on the ground level that closes at 11pm. Walked towards the al fresco beer counter at 9.50pm and the waiteress turned the television away, saying I can buy a beer but I cannot watch football. I know I was the only customer but it's pretty ridiculous that I have to go back to my room to watch the match that was on when that same television at the bar had the football channel.

The rooms are pretty decent and the location is great. But for the kind of price and atrocious service, I'd rather stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alywin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Location: Perfect if you want to get away from the chaotic city. The hotel has a fantastic beach view (and i'm not much of a beach person) and it's barely a stroll away from Mui Wo jetty.

The room: I had the 'mountain view' room since i won't be in the room much. It had two separate beds and a folded bed cramped into a small space. I could barely move in there. The bed lamps were not working (i didn't mind the dimness). No mini bar. Two sachets of tea. Barely anything in the bathroom. Sufficient pillows and blankets.

*While walking along the corridor, i managed to peek into a "sea view" facing room during housekeeping. They were much bigger and have newer amenities. Really depends i guess*

Cleanliness: Decent.

Misc: What?! No wifi?! HKD100 per night for wifi? At this modern age, we shouldn't be paying for wifi... Swimming pool was closed because it's winter/spring/cold. Breakfast was provided in my package. But i would highly recommend to skip the breakfast and explore Mui Wo for local options. It's the same stuff EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. The only saving grace was you get to sit outside al fresco style and enjoy the view. Other than that, i wouldn't pay for the breakfast.

Would i go back there again?: Yes. Just because i love Mui Wo and Lamma island so much.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay for the "sea view" rooms, get those. If you are going to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshanyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great place but run so badly that they are short staffed in reception, housekeeping and restaurant.
For the buffet included they was only 3 staff working.
They could not do it all.
They even have to wash up cups and glasses at the bar area. Maybe over 100 guests.
My family and friends were 10 of us. No milk, no bread, no cups, no glasses, no replenishment of food even juices were empty.
No one to clear dirties from our table, I had to do it.
Even our table of 10 was set for only 6.
Once again great location, good staff, but short staff resulted in very bad service. Once again not the staff s fault but the management for cutting staff.
Absolutely ridiculous and we are not the only ones.
My dad needed a wheel chair and the receptionist wAs all alone to do anything, he tried but again no one to help us.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayg34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Only 30 min trip and you find yourself in a nice hotel on the beach. Cozy rooms, attentive staff and evening buffet will make your stay relaxing. You can enjoy staying on the beach or go hiking.
The hotel also has a garden and a swimming pool. Book in advance; it's usually full.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NDYRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Gold Coast Hotel
#102 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lantau Island
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Tai O Heritage Hotel
#162 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#53 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,758 reviews
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#420 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Property: Silvermine Beach Resort
Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing