We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlooking Hotel in Lantau Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #379 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Zamboanga, Zamboanga, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overlooking Hotel in Lantau Island”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Get here to avoid busy sorroundings from the city. A quite place in front of the sea. Nice food and when you buy drinks from the restaurant you may get a free enternet, and thanks to the Fil staff. But not very good in service- after check-in in the frontdesk they just give the key with a little instruct and you may go to your room. Mostly tourist have suit cases and our room is in the next floor but no elavator, need to carry all bags with our self thru stairs.

Room Tip: Room in front of the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vangie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    159
    117
    55
    35
See reviews for
99
147
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room is very smelly that I really cannot accept, the wall got some holes with insects come out that's threatening. I picked the beach view room, but all trees covered the beach so I can hardly see the beach from the gaps of the trees

Terrible services, especially the reception Ms. Lam, I cannot believe a hotel standard in such poor service level. Even typhoon no. 8 hoisted without any concern or facilitation to the customer. She's extremely impolite and not helpful that make me will not come again.

One only good thing is the hotel restaurant, the food is nice and in very low prices.

I really like the beach but I will pick other hotels nearby in next visit.

Room Tip: The room gets strong bad smell, if you really sensitive to smell, not suggest you to come this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selinalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Perth, WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Pleasant hotel in good location on Lantau Island, on the beach. Only stayed overnight enroute but clean, relatively quiet considering the large number of families and school groups. Very nice breakfast. Would be good for a longer stay. Great location for families going to Hong Kong Disney.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rally42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights . Location is great! Mui Wo is a pleasant and quiet village with plenty of restaurants to choose from. Nice beach as well although we didn't use it. The hotel could do with a serious make-over though. Everything looks a bit old and tired and the rooms are definitely not clean.Stains on carpets etc. Breakfast was not the best either but it's included which is a bonus in Hong Kong. No free wifi. Staff was friendly enough and spoke good English. Don't expect a resort but go and enjoy the good location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zokifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel and arrived at Hong Kong airport (on Lantau island) at 7am. Because of a typhoon warning there were no (blue) taxis to this hotel and no public transport, even though there were plenty of (red) taxis to Hong Kong and Kowloon. After waiting until 11, with no blue taxis or public transport available, and after speaking to the hotel who also weren't able to help us, we cancelled our booking and booked a hotel in Kowloon.
The Silvermine beach resort refused to refund us our money (or part of it) because at 3pm (15:00) there was no more typhoon warning and apparently there were then ta\xis available.

I cant comment about the hotel itself as we never got there, all I can say is be careful booking it when there is a a chance of typhoon in Hong Kong/ Lantau, however I would expect them to show some consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duvbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Flew into Hong Kong on our way to mainland China, and didn't want a hotel in the city. We were planning on 5 days at the end of our vacation for that. The hotel is only a 40 minute drive from the airport, so quite handy. The only problem is the taxi. For Lantau island only the blue taxis can be used (read for urban and green for the New Territories). This meant we had to queue in the sweltering heat for at least 20 minutes. The next day for the ride back to the airport we ordered a taxi, so that was much better. Although our stay was short, it was very nice indeed. The room was comfortable and very cool, and the people at reception helpful. Don't know what the breakfast buffet was like, as we left at 6 am. As for the location, it is perfect - on a lovely white sandy beach, only a 5-minute walk from a 'cooked food market' - just a string of little restaurants, which is right next to the water. Good, cheap food! There's a pool at the hotel, but we didn't use it because of our early departure and fairly late arrival. Would stay here again if I were flying out for a connection the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed 4 consecutive nights in Mui Wo. Great loction on the beach, friendly staff (Thai, Philippino, Hongkong). Rooms need a little of touch up. Starcase, lobby etc just new painted. Breakfast offers a good choice. Stayed at Mainbuilding, Large and clean swimmingpool. Due to arising thunderstorms sometimes closed for a short period. Walking distance to Mui Wo ferry (to Central) approx 10 min. Many resto und western bars around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#88 of 718 in Hong Kong
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#359 of 718 in Hong Kong
96 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 718 in Hong Kong
4,010 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#111 of 718 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Property: Silvermine Beach Resort
Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing