We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from city, nice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #374 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The view is good.
The Service so so.
I lived in the old wing, really a bit old especially the toilet.
But still very fine as outside is the beach.
Food in rest not bad, still worth to try.

That time I went with kids, so I found the room is a bit small.
But still happy to travel to waterfall or other places are not difficult.
I will visit with my kids again this Oct I planned :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolcarcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Silvermine Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 420 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here while in transit for a night in Hong Kong on an international trip. it is 30 mins from the airport. Taxis cannot come to the lobby because the hotel is on the pier. We had luggage and had to haul it in the rain from the road. There are no elevators and our room was on the 2nd floor. They have no one to help with luggage. They charge for everything, to help you bring bags down, adapters. There was no hot water kettle in the room and there was no soap in the very unclean bath room. The beds are hard like wood. The manager on duty had a staff of one old lady and they don't help you if you need a taxi or anything else so if you have any issues here, you have to figure it out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aka s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The room was very expensive with respect to value. $190 US, their most expensive room Their was no elevator, many rollaway beds and a few cleaning carts in the halls and in the room, stained carpeting, rusty sink drain, chock full of furniture so that it was difficult to see the view because a table and chairs and large armoire were lined up along the windows, VERY hard, uncomfortable bed, cheap linens.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room if you want a comfortable bed and modern decor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mfhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Quite far from HK city, In Dayu island. But very nice view, mountain, sea.
Room was good, simple, clean;
Location is near by sea, 10 meters;
It is good for family, big place, not too many people around;
only thing is insect (mosquito) anywhere, please protect well;

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This Hotel was built back in the late 50's early 60's. The location is spectacular and the beach as good as Stanley or clear water bay. However the area is not as developed so I did not see a lot of places to eat etc. Great location though. There are no lifts in the hotel so do not carry a lot of luggage. Or sort your luggage so you can store what you do not need in the storage room. The rooms are comfortable and clean. A good buffet breakfast. You also have to carry your luggage about 150 metres from the drop off point to the reception so again to much luggage is an issue. I enjoy my one day there and will go back to explore more. Good value compared to other hotels on the island.

Room Tip: try to get a beach front room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I live just 5 minutes from Silvermine Resort and been going there for lunch/coffee/dinner for 4 years. I would say that they have improved their service and food quality for over a year now. When I first went there in 2009, it was like a ghost town, No one goes there. Always vacant chairs and tables. I think the most important changes there are the new owner and the staff. They are really trying to make the place to have a resort feeling. Now lunch time is busy, weekend is always full by the coffee shop/al fresco dining. They even have a spa now. Although I haven't tried it yet cause they just opened and Im too busy.

I go for lunch there at least once a week to meet with my friends and mummy friends or just to have a coffee break. They have a special of $49 dollars with soup and drinks. This is daily from Mon-Fri except Public Holiday. Its mainly Chinese selection.

Weekends- usually they have outdoor buffet or BBQ buffet. Its pricey for locals but if you are on holiday I think its worth it.

Selection of Local and International; Beer

View- relaxing view of the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ryubaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night to catch an early flight out of Hong Kong. The location of the hotel is perfect: right on a beautiful bay, and only 30 minutes nice cab ride to the airport. The only problem that I see with the hotel is that the place is just run down (it needs a lot of "Tender Loving Care" as the decor hasn't been changed since 1970's....). The bathroom is not upto date on it's cleanliness. Maybe I just had a bad luck and got an unlucky room...The Silvermine village, however, is a place where one can really enjoy the nature and discover excellent sea food restaurants!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabeL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#95 of 721 in Hong Kong
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#369 of 721 in Hong Kong
97 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#105 of 721 in Hong Kong
932 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $79 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing