We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if you get a discounted room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silvermine Beach Resort
Ranked #377 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value if you get a discounted room”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have often thought about staying at Silvermine Beach Hotel when visiting Lantau and finally got round to having a mini-break (from HK island, all of 20 mins away by ferry) this week. Reviews suggested this was a faded 3* and over-priced. However, with minimal searching online we managed to get a room for HK$750 (GBP 60), with breakfast included and with no additional charges for children (2.5 and 11 months) who shared a very large bed with us.

Our room was clean and tidy, if basic. Two negatives - no soap in the bathroom dispensers and, inexplicably, despite having a half sea view the windows were sealed shut. Hong Kongers have an irrational fear of the cold, but considering it was 22C even in December some fresh air from the sea would have been nice.

Breakfast was fine - nothing special, but perfectly decent (western options are basic English breakfast and choices of cereals). The restaurant looks to have been recently renovated but again, utterly bizarrely considering it overlooks the sea, seemed to have windows that had no means of opening.

Paying any more than HK$1,000 for the room we had would have lead to an average score, but at HK$750, with no hidden charges (other than 10% tax), nice service and breakfast included, is a great deal in Hong Kong. Highly recommended for anyone looking to see a completely different side of HK from Central/Wan Chai/Causeway Bay/TST.

Gym advertised on website was 'closed for fixing'.

Mui Wo offers a fantastic alternative way of life in Hong Kong. The paths behind the town, passing a 400 year old temple, Silvermine Cave and Silvermine Waterfall make for a great family exploration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    158
    116
    55
    35
See reviews for
99
145
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Having stayed here before the new owners took over we were looking forward to returning.
How dissappointed we were.
The first room we were offered had mould in the bathroom, the double bed ( in fact 2 singles pushed together) did not align with the headboard so I would have to climb over my partner to get into and out of bed.
The next couple of rooms we were shown were of the same quality.
On asking to speak to the manager, we were offered a better room.
The hot food at the breakfast was tepid and I observed staff on more than one occasion using their fingers to remove food from the hot food containers for their own comsumption.
The pool was 'under repair' and likewise the tennis courts ( this should be on the web page as it give's people false impressions of what is on offer. And as for the landscaped gardens ( overgrown more likely).
Quote from their own webpage "We do our best to provide a wonderful and memorable experience to our customers." Yes this is correct for all the wrong reasons

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

There are good reasons to visit Mui Wo on Lantau Island. The airport is not one of them, that is more easily reached from Hongkong Island or maybe even from most other places in Hongkong.
Lantau has some good hikes, and if you want to stay over night for that, fine.
Don't expect much though. For a 3 star hotel, it is a bit seedy. The room that they gave us stank of cigarettes. Opening windows to let the bay breeze in: no can do. Too cool outside to run the airconditioning for smell suppression..
The restaurant is minimal, the breakfast buffet tiny. If you are lucky, you are served by Philippinos. They speak English. The local staff doesn't even speak 'Chinese', just Cantonese.
Taxis let you out quite a bit away from the place. You also need to walk a bit to get a taxi out. Carry your luggage, if you want to take it with you.

Room Tip: If you can, take the last ferry out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lantau Island is a very welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong and Silvermine Beach is one of the nicest on the island. The hotel is reached by a short, level, 10min walk along a footpath to the right as you leave the ferry. Check-in was a pleasant enough experience but I found the younger staff on reception much more welcoming. The staff offered me a 'free' upgrade to the North wing but when I pointed out I had already selected and paid extra for the North wing, there was no reply. Obviously the thing to do is book the cheapest option and hopefully be upgraded. The hotel, a three storey, two block building has a 70's look about it and seems to have seen better days but in general is clean and tidy.
The pool was closed but that is to be expected for the time of year.
The carpet on the main hallway is stained as it was in my bedroom. The wallpaper is peeling of near the floor in places. The walls are pretty thin and noise travels from the adjacent rooms. The water also makes a lot of noise. The large double bed was very comfortable and my room had a view of the beach.
Breakfast was buffet style offering both European and Oriental choices with a good range of cereals.
I would recommend this hotel but don't go expecting 4 star

Room Tip: It appears that the North wing is the newer section and therefore a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having booked and pre paid for a basic room and read the mixed reviews prior to our visit we weren't expecting much. As advised by another reviewer, I asked for a refurbished room and we were given, without supplement, a third floor, just done refurbished room in the new block with full sea view. Very nice. A very busy programme of refubishment was happening whilst we were there, so the future looks promising.
The breakfast - the only meal we ate in the hotel, was very good, and the hotel location couldn't be better for a restful transit stay. We'd stayed in centralHong Kong central for 3 nights en route out to Australia, and wanted a restful one night break in the journey back. We arrived at the hotel before 9am and were given our room straight away. We paid HK $500 (£40)for a 7pm late check out the next day to fit in with our midnight flight. The taxi fare from the airport was less than HK $150 (£12) for an interesting 35 minute ride across Lantau.
We used the local Mui Wo bus to visit the big Buddha and the traditional fishing village nearby, walked and explored locally, and still had a very relaxing two days. Had we wanted to go to Hong Kong Central again, it was a 35 minute ferry ride away. To the reviewer who suggested this location, thanks.

Room Tip: Cant remember the number but ask for second floor full sea view in the new block. NB No lift and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytravellerHillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is calm and quite. Specially, for the family with their children is better to book. The hotel has pool, where you can stay whole day. The hotel is located at the beach, which is very close to any transportation.

Room Tip: North wing and South wing are both nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinetsetseg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

When I stay in Hong Kong, I always stay here. This hotel doesn't have the largest rooms, best facilities, greatest cooking. It is a little shabby in places, but I have to say, the staff are friendly and always keen to help. It is a stone's throw from the beach. After a long flight I can jump in a taxi and be over the mountains and checking in after just a 30 minute drive.
However the clincher for me is that the hotel is nicely positioned away from the hustle of Hong Kong. That won't appeal to everyone, but I think it has the best of both worlds. It is a 4 or 5 minute walk to the ferry terminal with regular ferries running all day straight into the heart of Hong Kong island. But after a hectic day in the city, jump on the ferry for a short ride back to this quiet spot.

Also note that you can eat with the locals in one of the many little seafood restaurants by the ferry terminal. There are also some excellent walks to be done up into the surrounding hills. Watch out for King Cobra.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steerpikeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Gold Coast Hotel
#98 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warwick Hotel Cheung Chau
#303 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,870 reviews
Lantau Island
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Tai O Heritage Hotel
#162 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermine Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermine Beach Resort

Property: Silvermine Beach Resort
Address: D.D.2 Lot 648,Silvermine Bay, Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silvermine Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an escape from the hectic city life or for replenishing yourself with a relaxing vacation, the Silvermine Beach Resort in Mui Wo on the eastern coast of Lantau Island is just the place for you. Silvermine Beach Resort is a distinctive beachfront property that boasts 128 guest rooms, beautifully landscaped gardens, outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room, as well as meeting and event facilities. The Hotel is just ten-minute walking distance from Mui Wo ferry pier, only 30-minute ferry from Central, with public bus routes to Tung Chung and Hong Kong International Airport, is excellent to travelers for both sightseeing and vacation on Lantau island with Ngong Ping, Big Buddha, Tai O and Disneyland etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silvermine Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermine Beach Hong Kong
Hotel Silvermine Beach
Silvermine Beach Hotel Hong Kong
Silvermine Hotel
Silvermine Beach Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing