We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #41 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

stayed in their one bedroom suite last january. our room was upgraded to the harbour view room w/o extra charge. i love waking up every morning to the commanding view of the harbour! this hotel is cheaper than the ones along nathan road. walking distance to the avenue of stars, canton road, star ferry, harbour city, hk museum, the clock tower. when in HK, i suggest you stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: book the harbour view room!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,811)
There are newer reviews for The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 2,811 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is right next to The Penn, for a fraction of the price. Clean, comfortable, very basic room, a bit small, but hey, who's complaining when I have a partial view of the harbor? Beautiful lobby. Good meeting place. Convenient to everything. A three-minute walk to the Star Ferry. Free paper every morning. It was a little disconcerting to see some of the reception desk people wearing face masks. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book ahead. No last-minute rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenorelook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed 2 years ago at the Salisbury YMCA...don't be put off by the name ( YMCA )..this is a quality hotel that has been renovated since our last stay here ..we stayed 1 night only as I had a business meeting enroute Paris- HK - NZ. We were incredibly fortunate to be up graded to a magnificent room / Suite overlooking the ferry terminal and across the Harbour. Staf at check in very helpful. make use of the 25mtr pool at the hotel...perfect for doing swim laps unlike most hotel pools where you can only cool off in. HOT TIP!....you can use the pool AFTER you check out...so we used it at 5pm before getting on the plane at 9pm that night. This really is EXCELLENT value accommodation in HK. Great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiLint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I doubt very much if you could beat this for value in the prime location in Hong Kong. Overlooks the harbour. This is a hotel quality, albeit with no bar (understandable). Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathrynBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at the Salisbury YMCA for 2 nights. I was surprised on arrival to see that the "YMCA" was a high class Hotel. I had a suite on the 16th Floor which compared favourably to any 4 or 5 Star Hotel. The position was fantastic being no more than a 2-3 minute walk to the Star Ferry as well as Ocean Harbour Shopping Complex. The Hotel is next to the famous Penninsula Hotel. Breakfast was included and was great. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Most Hotel rooms in Hong Kong are small but not at this Hotel.
The Salisbury YMCA is great value and is in a marvellous position

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent location. Right by the MTR station and opposite avenue of the stars/promenade. The standard room was bugger than I expected and stocked with free fruit and tea/coffee. Comfy bed with excellent black out curtains. Friendly and helpful staff and a free shuttle bus to Kowloon station with an airport express ticket right by the hotel.
Free use of the swimming pool-great.
Fantastic time in Hong Kong-would definitely stay here again when we return and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdyc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've stayed at The Salisbury while in Hong Kong on business due to its convenient location and reasonable price. Getting to the hotel is extremely easy from the hotel and much less expensive than airport hotel prices. A morning walk along the harbor is just a couple of blocks from the hotel. Location is the greatest asset as the rooms are dated and it costs $40 HKD to use 4 hours of in room wifi. I will continue to use the "Y" thanks to location, price and service.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms provide excellent views of Hong Kong.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,579 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,743 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#96 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,678 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $134 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing