We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location ,location..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Ranked #45 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location ,location..”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, after finishing a cruise (it was walking distance from the cruise terminal).
, we arrived early at 10am and the receptionist checked us in straight away instead of making us wait
until 2 pm.
There was a basket of fruit in the room, and the room was a good size.
The location is absolutly fantastic being so close to nathan road and the star ferry.
Only downside was there wasn't a changing room for us as we had a late flight but the shuttle bus they
Use was a good price and luxurious.
Also no free wi-fi (shame).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    1,141
    175
    24
    20
See reviews for
720
889
292
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balikpapan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

the Salisbury hotel located in excellent location, just a few minute to mtr TST and star ferry pier. As a first timer the location is very helpful to explore Hong Kong. We got a harbour view room, the room was standards but the view was so great. We can saw symphony of lights for three night without being crowded in the avenue of stars. One more thing, the hotel provided us a complementary fruits. If we come back to Hong Kong The Salisbury Hotel will be our first choice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgusW734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked a package deal and stayed at this hotel during Christmas 2012. We stayed in a partial harbor room double and our view was amazing--lovely views of the harbor during the day and the night. The front desk customer service was excellent and spoke very good English. The room was clean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. No loud noises coming from the hallway or other rooms. Housekeeping service was excellent. The breakfast buffet food and service was very good. For the value, you definitely cannot beat the location. It is right next door to the Peninsula Hotel and across the street from the Intercontinental. It is steps away from 2 major shopping malls. The subway entrance is right across the street and it is a 5-minute walk from the Star Ferry. We are hoping to return to Hong Kong and if we do, the Salisbury YMCA is the place we will be staying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

One of the best locations in Hong kong. We booked one night in a standard room, when we arrived they upgraded us to a suite as they had no standard rooms left. It was a massive room with windows that took in the whole harbour view, a very comfy bed and good bathroom. The breakfast buffet was also excellant. The only down side is you have to pay for wifi, HK$40 for 4 hours.

When we go back we will be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
993 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

As many reviewers have stated, the location is excellent. I am not sure it could be better. You are right next door to The Pennisula which might be the best hotel in HK. The shuttle from the airport express drops you within 50 meters of the door. You are a five minute walk from Star Ferry and the Harbour Walkway. Turn inland and all of Kowloon is there within minutes. The hotel itself is very nice although showing it's age a little. It was very clean and the service was outstanding. We asked countless questions of the concierge and he always had a printout to give us with directions or a map. Obviously they have the same questions all the time, but they are very prepared and helpful. The hotel restaurant has a good breakfast buffet and the hotel will give you coupons for about 25 % off for every day you are there. We had harbour view rooms and the entire view of Hong Kong harbour was before us. There are cheaper rooms if you can do without the view and you'll still have the location. If you have $700 per night then I would stay at the Pennisula, otherwise this is the best choice in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at the Salisbury for the first time and it was an unforgettable experienced. The staffs are Accommodating and Always Serves us with a smile :)... Super Clean and Comfy... Thank You Salisbury for the wonderful experience in Hk... Till Next time.. Highly Recommended!!! 1 more thing Thank You for the Complimentary Fruits...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhad_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the Salisbury twice - on the way and back from Europe. Great location, we walked everywhere we needed to go. Had 2 suites - one for the kids and one for us - and both were very quiet despite the traffic and busyness outside. Families should look nowhere else as the suites were generous in size and clean. Pretty good value as well as other comparable suites were significantly more in cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoadults_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#32 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong

Property: The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Salisbury Road, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salisbury has just completed a major room renovation. All 372 rooms and suites have been newly renovated featuring a modern and functional design. Complimentary free broadband WIFI access is available in all rooms. The hotel is a smoke free property and all rooms are non-smoking. Facilities include the Salisbury Dining Room, Mall Cafe, Banquet Rooms, Podium Garden, Fitness Centre with well-equipped Gymnasium, Indoor Swimming Pools, Jacuzzi, Y Shop, Hair Salon, Climbing Walls, Squash Courts and Basket Ball Court. "A Symphony of Lights" was awarded the world's "Largest Permanent Light and Sound Show" by Guinness World Records. This nightly spectacle combines interactive lights of more than 47 buildings on both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon with musical effects to showcase the vibrancy and glamorous night vista of Victoria Harbour. Our hotel guests could enjoy the spectacular show from our Harbour View Rooms and Harbour View Suites nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salisbury-Ymca Of Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ymca
Ymca Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Ymca Hotel
Ymca Hong Kong
Salisbury Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing